We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #65 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights last week. We got a 3 nights for the price of two deal so I was not expecting the best room however we were pleasantly surprised. We had a nice room with comfy beds not the biggest but city hotel space is at a premium. We could even see Sydney Harbour Bridge between the buildings.

The only criticism I would make is about the bathroom door. The bathroom was beautiful all marble and almost circular but due to the lack of space the door was two very small doors which opened outwards into the bedroom. In fact when we went in we thought from the outside it was a cupboard! The only problem was that if you opened only one even the thinnest person couldn't have squeezed through so you had to open both and when you closed them one squeaked and the other one with the handle clunked into place. Not a problem during day but if you needed the bathroom in the night you tended to wake up the other person. You could also hear noise from the bathroom next door - sounded like someone was playing football with the metal waste bin.

As two women travelling alone we found the hotel was in a good location within walking distance of all the attractions and felt quite safe walking back at night.

I think free wifi should be provided in this day and age as the hotel costs were astronomical. We just went out and found cafe's with free wifi instead.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and I would stay again on our next visit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulouWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

While it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the Sofitel My Beds; a feature of all Sofitel hotels and found the location of the hotel beneficial and safe for your stay, it is disappointing to read that you found the entrance into the bathroom unsuitable.

I will certainly provide your comments to our engineering team to ensure they check the doors of the bathroom when inspecting the rooms.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write; I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,589)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,580 - 3,586 of 5,590 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

A well located CDB hotel, the Sofitel Wentworth was the venue this year for a franchisees' conference. We were a relatively small group (21 franchises, represented by about 40 people), but the conference ran over two days and included a afternoon "trade show" of suppliers. Accordingly, we required three separate rooms, set up and operating so we could move from one room to the next as the conference progressed.

The result, a conference which went smoothly from start to finish with all the hard work taken out of it by the expert Sofitel events team.

Rooms were very comfortable and well appointed, the beds extremely so! It's not the flashest place in Sydney by a long way, but it is well priced and good value for a business group. And the location is excellent for all the shopping, eating and cruising you might want to do.

The restaurant was good, but breakfast is quite expensive. If you're staying a few days or more, join the Sofitel Club and you'll well and truly get your breakfast money back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_of_Winthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us.

It is always wonderful to read such positive feedback; especially regarding our Conference and Catering teams, and the Club Sofitel Lounge. I will be sure to pass your comments to each of the teams as I know your positive feedback will continue to motivate our ambassadors.

Thank you again for taking the time to write; we look forward to welcoming you and hopefully your conference back next time.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianboru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Got a great deal through Wotif for a Sydney weekend with friends. This hotel had, without a doubt, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, however.... I'm sure we had a herd of elephants in the room above us, who obviously never slept, for the 2 nights all we could hear was the thumping noise of them moving around, probably wouldn't stay there again because of this. But if that type of thing doesn't bother you then absolutely stay here, the location is brilliant. Another however...after having just spent 3 weeks in Europe and having free wifi just about everywhere, having to pay for it at the Sofitel is pretty lame - get with the times Sofitel!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cohunagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments about your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

It is wonderful to read of your appreciation of the Sofitel My Beds; however please may I apologise for the noise that you heard and the internet not suitable for your needs.

I do hope one day we will be able to welcome back.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great lounge, Great Staff, nice business type hotel (if you stay in club room with lounge and internet included, otherwise welcome to the 90's...) with average rooms but great location. Very convenient to get around and catch taxis. Gym is outsourced on GF and only open a couple of hours on weekends as CBD is dead then

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkgnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

It is wonderful to read your comments about enjoying the Club Sofitel lounge area and services that were provided.

I am glad that the hotel's location was suitable and hope that we will be able to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueskyf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Good location. Clean rooms. Friendly service.

That about sums it up. We stayed in one of the unrenovated older rooms on a wotif deal and were very happy.

The bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and prompt and the location is just a short stroll to the quay or the mall.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth and I thank you for taking the time to write.

Our guests’ satisfaction is of great importance to us at the Hotel and it is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our offering to enhance our guests’ overall experience.

I am delighted that you were pleased with the Hotel’s location and staff.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,418 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $164 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing