We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #65 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We found the Sofitel Sydney to be nice, but we would probably try other options next time in Sydney. We stayed in a club suite room. Highlights: bathroom; club lounge, club lounge service (thanks mainly to Pearce; a truly first rate attendee!). Low-lights: what decade did that TV come from?, what century did the carpet get laid?, and sorry but it's just an awful, awful looking building. Let's call it the best prison we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BROOZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Firstly may I thank you for your feedback about the bathroom and the Sofitel Club Lounge, I will be sure to pass your comments to Pearce so he is aware that he is making a positive impact on guests of the Club Lounge.

May I please extend my apologies for not meeting your expecations in regards to the lights and the carpet. I will ensure that your feedback is passed to the Executive Committee of the hotel so they are able to review the options available.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write, we do appreciate your comments and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Simone Osborne
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,589)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,505 - 4,511 of 5,590 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

I booked the hotel at short notice via my A-club membership for a 2 night stay. The hotel is in a very good location, close to martin place train station and very close to the shopping centre.

The one most important thing about this hotel that really impress me, is every staff, from reception, conceige, bar, and restaurant all have a lovely smile and very friendly. It really brightens up my weekend. The food and drinks are reasonable price too, and as an accor advantage plus member, i got 2 free drinks at the bar and the 50% discount eating at the Garden Court restaurant with me friend.

The room is very clean, and the bed is very comfortable.

I left the hotel, a very satisfied customer.

Well Done to Soffitel Sydney

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for our Wedding Anniversary. Was greeted by Benoit, who was quite genuine in asking about our stayed, when i advised him it was our anniversary without a blink we were upgraded and provided with a bottle of champagne and strawberries.

The service was first class the room was nice and clean and would have to say the bed was the most comfortable i have stayed in a hotel and that is all around the world. All the staff were friendly and warm.

Benoit was there to check us out and remembered us and enquired about our stay. That is what service is all about.

Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lloydy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Thank you also for your postitive comments, and for specifically mentioning Benoit. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to him.

It is wonderful to read that Sofitel Sydney Wentworth was able to celebrate your wedding anniversary with you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Simone Osborne
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Clean, comfortable, modern. Bell staff were impressive, they were there helping before you even knew you needed help. The rest of the staff were equally as attentive. Wouldn't hesitate staying there again next time i'm in Sydney

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

I will be sure to pass your feedback to the ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Simone Osborne
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nadi, Fiji
1
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had particular check in requirements which we thought would be difficult for the Hotel but they solved all the problems, checked us in early before 2 pm and we were very happy. Staff seemed to handle any enquiry/ difficulty without referring to management. Cannot praise the service high enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Your positive feedback will serve as great encouragement to all ambassadors as we strive to exceed all of our guests expecations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Simone Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
1
Reviewed November 2, 2011

If you have the chance join the club for your stay - we did and enjoyed it very much and we thought it was great value eg included in the club was afternoon tea and really this equated to high tea and also canapes before dinner and drinks and then we even had breakfast in there on the Sunday morning and this included hot and cold and proper coffee!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments regarding Club Sofitel. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to the ambassadors as I am sure it will be great motivation as we strive to exceed our guests expecations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Simone Osborne
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wagga
1
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Very clean, but surprised at small room for the big price considering parking not included.. Efficient friendly staff. Little extras for our 20th wedding anniversary were a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Thank you for your positive comments and please allow me to apologise that the room was smaller than you expected.

I am glad to see that this did not have a negative impact on your stay and that Sofitel Sydney was able to help you celebrate your 20th Wedding Anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Simone Osborne
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,415 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $164 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing