We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & even better service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments
Ranked #105 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location & even better service”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We loved our stay at the Waldorf apartments. The rooms were very clean and the rooftop entertainment area was very nice, as was the pool.
The service we received from the lovely blonde lady at reception was outstanding. We would gladly return to the Waldorf apartments. Such a great location.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douka002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    138
    43
    16
    13
See reviews for
88
119
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Quite good accommodation option in a Sydney,near the railway station of Sydney and Uts,we had a one bedroom hotel apartment on the 3rd floor of the complex.very good value with free breakfast and car parking.modern we'll presented apartment hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Man0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The location is reasonably handy, being a 5-10 minute walk from Central station. We didn't try the breakfast or pool area so can't comment on those. The balcony area is quite pleasant on the Chippen Street side, sheltered by trees. We stayed over the NYE period and we knew we were paying well above the norm given the time of year - $400+ per night and begrudgingly accepted this as there were not many options left. Had the room been clean and modern, that would have been okay. However the room smelt of cooking oil, the floors were dirty, the air conditioner in the living area was broken and the kitchen, bathroom and TV unit were very tired - unfortunately we missed the reception opening hours to report these and could only mention them when we checked out. Given the poor standard of the room the price charged is unreasonably at any time of year - it relies on ignorance of customers to pay the price that we did - we certainly couldn't recommend staying here unfortunately. That is unless you get a booking for under $150. I feel duped and to be honest would have preferred to stay in a tent rather than reward opportunistic price gouging such as we experienced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Winston_BrisVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Due to being in Sydney for New Years eve, accommodation options were quite limited! Decided to stay here as it was cheaper then everywhere else.
Bit of a odd area, couldn't quite work it out but just on the outskirts of the city and I guess everything was closed for the holiday period?

Easy 5 Minute walk to central station to get you to anywhere you need to go. Redfern station is even closer so we got off there when possible but not on as many lines.

Walked slowly into central Sydney on new years to avoid the transport chaos and this took about 30 minutes. There is a big Woolworth's just around the corner which was handy.

Room was clean and basic but everything we needed, fully equipped kitchen. One of us slept on a fold out couch in the lounge/kitchen, but had to walk through the bedroom to get to the bathroom.

Hard to judge value for money as Sydney Accommodation a rip off over New Years eve, but next time when prices are normal would try stay more central.

Staff very helpful on check in!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mykeynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf on New Years Eve 2013, the only place we could get a single nights accommodation for a reasonable price.
A one bedroom apartment sleeping 4, we where on a sofa bed our friends on the main bed.
The apartments are a small walk from Central station and Redfern Station.
We were greeted by the friendly front of desk staff and quickly checked in .
the apartment was very modern , well equipped, clean and ample room for a one night stay for four people. If staying any longer I would suggest just two people per apartment.
the location is fantastic for the price, an easy walk to Broadway and the new development of Central park, where there is a Woolies supermarket so you can buy your supplies , local pubs a quirky little cafes .
If staying in Sydney again I think I would choose the Waldorf .

Room Tip: we were in 220 , its away from Cleavland street so less traffic noise no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jujuspillane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in an apartment for two nights. The hotel was only a short walk from Central station. Check-in was quick and easy, and the staff were quite helpful and friendly. The apartment showed some small signs of age, but overall was in good condition. The kitchen was fully equipped including a dishwasher, microwave and full-sized fridge. There was also a full-size washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. The rooms were all a good size with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. I sometimes have difficulty finding enough power points in hotel rooms (for the laptops / phones etc) but that wasn't a problem here.
Beds and bedding were good - my son had to sleep on a sofa bed which he assures me was comfortable, as was the bed in the main bedroom. There was no problem with noise from the street, even though we were on the first floor facing onto Chippen Street.
Parking - we didn't take our car, but the car park appeared to be easy enough to access, and was clearly secure.
As far as food goes - there were a number of small cafes quite close, but they were closed due to the timing - between Christmas and New Year. However, there were at least four convenience stores within a couple of minutes walk and of course all of Sydney City within easy reach! There are also a number of home delivery services.
Overall - I found this room to be great value for money given the closeness to the city, and particularly given the time of year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Sydney's prices are going way too high, and this time of the year is even worse.
This is harder when you are looking for accommodation for 2 children also.
The sofa bed was decidedly uncomfortable, so dont be too fussy. The price was right.
However, we found this modest hotel within a short walk of Central Station.
The free 555 bus that goes around Sydney leaves from the Lee street interchange which is only a 10 minute walk.Great for kids too if you want to show them around town.
It's not easy to find and the address is a tad ambiguous, so you will need a good map if you are coming by train. Make sure you come out of the Station on the Lee street exit, otherwise its a long walk around.
If you are driving,there is parking there, and its an add-on.
The rooms are adequate and tidy and clean for a dated facility.
The new carpet all through helps to spruce it up. The service was excellent and eager to please and the breakfast had moderate selection and enough to get the day going.
Make sure you buy an internet deal including breakfast as this hotel is listed on a number of sites and the special deals abound and vary greatly. Take a copy of your booking and check with reception on arrival that you are getting exactly what you bought.
We must mention the rooftop garden : great place to take the kids for a meal, and a splash in the pool if the weather is OK. There is a nice little bakery/cafe round the corner, but you will need to walk a way to find a supermarket and fast food.

Room Tip: Book on the internet first, then ring the hotel to get the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisHamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Waldorf Sydney Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#47 of 179 in Sydney
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#107 of 179 in Sydney
137 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#46 of 179 in Sydney
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments
Address: 47 Chippen St, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia (Formerly Waldorf South Sydney Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and spacious serviced apartments is suitable for both daily and extended stay accommodation. Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments provide comfortable accommodation for business travel, holiday rental, corporate travellers or extended stay residential accommodation. Visitors to Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments have easy access to restaurants, Sydney sport facilities,coffee shops and entertainment facilities within 10 minutes walking distance. We are within 2 kms from Sydney's Central Business District and within walking distance from the University of Technology (UTS) and Sydney University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing