We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ! (Just don't order the romance package)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Shellharbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ! (Just don't order the romance package)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Quick one night stay to be close to Newtown. We found the apartment itself to be quiet, spacious and with modern furnishings. Great comfortable large bed. We booked online early through the Medina website and ordered the more romance package (including a bottle of wine, Lindt chocolates and a late checkout of 12 noon). Upon arrival there were no wine or chocolates, after phoning reception we were told we needed to bring our letter of confirmation to the front desk to get our extras. After doing this my partner returned with a bottle of wine in his hand (no ice bucket) and a packet of Tim Tams (an "upgrade" from the Lindt chocolates). We also had a house maid enter our room at 10.30am the following day telling us we needed to check out. Staff also attempted to charge us for parking which we didn't use. If we hadn't paid extra for the romance package which didn't really exist I would have nothing but praise for the apartment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lainie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle K, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Medina Classic Chippendale. I am disappointed to read that our service was not up to standard. I will share your feedback with relevant departments to ensure there is no confusion for any future stays.

I am sorry to hear you were not aware of our 10am check out time, this is advertised both on our website and the confirmation letter emailed to you. Our reception team are more than happy to accommodate any late check out requests when pre arranged.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Jessica Bergman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    213
    66
    28
    11
See reviews for
152
96
28
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I booked and paid ahead of my stay to get the best price. I requested a quiet upper level studio and that's what I got. Friendly, efficient staff on reception. My studio was spacious and well equipped with good block out curtains and a comfortable bed. This is a good place to stay for business purposes and if you have your own transport, but it is pretty easy to get taxis on nearby Cleveland Street where you also get a good Thai takeaway.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nina99Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle K, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear nina99Sydney

On behalf of the team at the Medina Classic Chippendale we would like to thank you for the positive feedback in relation to your recent stay.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and it is great to read your feedback about the team which I will definitely share with them. The team works hard to make each stay a "Home away from Home" and it is great to see your positive feedback supporting this.

Thank you again for the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Jessica Bergman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Medina’s in my opinion are pretty average and this Medina certainly confirmed this view.

We decided to stay here as accommodation for a 2 bed apartment nearer the city is so expensive. This wasn’t cheap, but good value considering the price of accommodation in Sydney generally.

The apartment itself was average, some signs of wear and tear and the rooms were very small. We had 2 small children and only had room to put up 1 travel cot. The living area was really small too with a tiny table for 4 people, I can’t see 4 people sitting round there eating comfortably. The kitchen was small too with the essential utensils.

We had a pram and had to carry it upstairs to the apartment and the location proved to be problematic with the pram too. The nearest train station is Redfern (an uphill 10 min walk) and there are no lifts or escalators to the platforms. There is 1 escalator to 1 platform which we used but you need to change trains to get to the city. This was a bit of a nuisance as the train journey to the city is normally 5 mins but took way longer with the pram.

There isn’t much in the vicinity, University of Sydney and about 2 decent places to get takeaway. Apparently Coles was about 15 mins walk but we didn’t go.

We did have a big balcony overlooking the pool but wasn’t safe for my 2 year old adventurous son to enjoy! Pool was cold but didn’t want to venture there anyway.

All in all, it’s a very average place to stay but if you are using this as a base to visit the city, then I wouldn’t recommend it for young children. Older kids would be fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle K, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear MrsClaireOKane

Thank you for the time taken to provide us with your feedback in relation to your recent stay.

It was disappointing to hear the shortfalls in relation to the room you stayed in. Rest assured that this will be followed up with the Team. It would be great to have the opportunity to discuss this point further as we are a child friendly hotel and an apartment in the main building could have been allocated which would be accessible via an elevator.

I completely understand your point in regards to Redfern train station however after following up platform 1 does go into the city giving you access to Town Hall or Martin Place (CBD). All other platforms are accessible via an escalator.

We also hand-out a welcome letter upon check-in including several great hot spots for breakfast/lunch/dining and all is within a 5-7 minute walking vicinity. Alternatively reception is 24hrs available to make recommendations.

If possible, it would be great to speak to you in person to discuss your recent experience at the hotel in more detail as I believe that this experience was not at all indicative of the high levels of service we pride ourselves with at the Medina Classic Chippendale.

Warm regards

Kyle Kaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Medina Classic. Location was excellent in close proximity to restaurants and the Redfern Train Station is a short 5 minute walk away. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 1st floor at the rear of the premises. Apartment was well furnished and had everything we needed for our weekend stay. Reception staff extremely courteous. Will definitely stay here again when next in Sydney!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle K, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Mangion

On behalf of the Team at the Medina Classic Chippendale we would like to thank you for the positive feedback in relation to your recent stay.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and it was great to read your feedback about the Team which I will definitely share with them. The Team works hard to make each stay a "Home away from Home" and it is great to see your positive feedback supporting this.

Also it was great to read your feedback about the Apartment and the hotels location and we are glad that this assisted in making your stay comfortable.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly for any specific dates or requests and we would be more than happy to offer you the best available rates for your future stays.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel during your next visit in Sydney.

Warm regards

Kyle Kaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Booked only for one night and have a guess whats happened...again the fire alarm went off, lucky not in the middle of the night this time as with other guests.
The Hotel is in need of some refurbishing, some chipped furniture, it was clean.
Would not give a 4 Star rating, rather a good 3 Star

Room Tip: You have to be prepaired to use a lot of taxis or be good in walking, then its fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KleinerYoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle K, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear KleinerYoyo

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay at the hotel. Your comments are valuable to us.

We would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused by the fire alarm. The safety of our guests and Team is of the utmost importance. On this occasion, prompt action was taken by our Team and I am happy to report that the situation was resolved quickly and without incident.

I’m delighted to hear that cleanliness of the room met your expectations. Please note that the hotel is refurbished on an ongoing basis, I will ensure we address the matter of chipped furniture you have mentioned.

You raise an important point about the hotel’s location. We are very close to Broadway Shopping Centre, Newtown, Surry Hills and Sydney University. Those wanted to explore Sydney’s CBD, can take advantage of nearby public transport links and taxis or indeed spend the day exploring on foot.

I would again like to thank you for your time and feedback. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Medina Classic Chippendale in the near future.

Warm regards

Kyle Kaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We booked a two bedroom apartment to stay one night to see a concert in Newtown. The location isn't great if you want to be close to the city but it had easy accesss tothe redfern train station. I wouldn't stay here if you didn't know your way around Sydney. The rooms were average and the windows didn't have any fly screens on them so you couldn't keep them open. The courtyard was very loud through the walls and the room smelt damp. It had a reasonable size kitchen and tv's in every room but the bathroom was much too small. The people at the front counter were friendly and helpful though and through wotif we got free parking underground and late check out at 12 so if you need somewhere to stay for one night where you just need to sleep and shower, this place isn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mealzybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle K, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Mealzybug

Thank you for your time and feedback. It is great to read your positive comments in regards to our reception team and I will share this with them.

In reference to the location, the Medina Classic Chippendale has easy & quick access to the CBD via bus or train. Other locations as Newtown, Surry Hills and Broadway Shopping center are within walking distance from the hotel. If you have questions on your next visit please do not hesitate to ask the friendly reception team at any time.

With reference to the noise in the courtyard, this is something that the team and I were unaware of. If we receive a noise complaint, this is acted upon immediately to ensure the comfort of all guests.

We always welcome suggestions that could improve our services and facilities and therefore we will take your comments in relation to the fly doors on board as our ongoing promise to improve our product.

Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you back at the Medina Classic Chippendale in the near future.

Warm regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment booked in early February. The apartment was lovely and the staff were initially very helpful. The first night we were woken by the fire alarm at 2am with no instruction from staff, but after seeking advice were told it was a false alarm and then people very loudly used the pool until 5am with no one telling them to leave. During the day we left and upon our return, we noticed a handbag missing. We searched and other valuables were there but the whole handbag was gone. I reported it to reception. They called the next morning to advise that the cleaner did not have it. When we said we would be reporting it to police, I was told they would check again, but again to no avail. Upon checkout we spoke to the manager who seemed very dismissive. Eventually they agreed to make a police report. We were then called to say that not one cleaner as per originally stated but two cleaners had cleaned our apartment and the second cleaner noticed a door open. The treatment by the manager was quite poor and it was an unfortunate way to end the weekend. The goods were never recovered.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mishnin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle K, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Mishnin79

Thank you for your feedback. Safety, security and guest satisfaction are all priorities at Medina Classic Chippendale. As such, I would like to address each of the points you have raised.

I apologies for the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night however the system alerted us to a potential hazard. I take on board your feedback about an announcement.

With reference to guests in the pool, this is something that the team and I were unaware of. If we receive a noise complaint, this is acted upon immediately to ensure the comfort of all guests.

Please be assured that a full internal investigation was conducted regarding your report of missing items. We certainly encourage all guests to report theft to the police and are always willing to cooperate with the police. We are confident that all security measures have been followed and regret that your goods were not found. I apologies that you feel our response was not appropriate.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me personally if there are any further details you would like about each of these points. I hope this information will put your mind at ease and encourage you to confidently book another stay at Medina in the near future.

Warm regards

Kyle Kaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale
Address: 74-80 Ivy St | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia (Formerly Medina Classic Chippendale)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Chippendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Chippendale Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing