We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sydney stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #71 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    699
    351
    115
    62
See reviews for
239
522
145
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 for three nights to have a little get away just the two of us. We had a good rate based off the Sunrise (tv show) special that was advertised about a month before we booked in.
The room was comfortable with all the conveniences you would need generally. Breakfast was good and lots of variety at the buffet including yummy croissants, juices, pancakes and hot mushrooms to go with the eggs. Don't bother choosing the type of coffee you want on the coffee machine. Cuppacino, latte, machiatto all gave us a black espresso but there was a lot of milk nearby so you still get a morning cuppa. On the last day it did behave and we scored a latte and a cuppacino before it went back to espresso only mode (win).
Location is the key to this hotel. Its close enough to walk to the CBD, Central Station, Darling Harbour and China Town. The pool is nice, reception staff pleasant and parking was easy for us. There is also a phone charging station in the foyer if you need a facebook fix while your partner books in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

For a hotel that is 4.5 stars it was reasonably disapointing and what I would expect from something with a lower rating.

The single beds are definitely smaller than a normal king single, unless we have different ideas on what size a king single should be and I found myself almost falling out tossing and turning trying to sleep through the television volume of someone else's tv and the noise on the street below. I could also hear the doors and beeping locks of those coming and going from their rooms which reminded me of nights staying in the YHA.

We had tried to call the concierge when we first arrived as the room had been configured with a king bed but the phone was never answered.

The only really positive moment was the next day when we checked out and our parking ticket was extended to finish at 3pm instead of 12, something we greatly appreciated as we were heading in to Circular Quey and not sure when we would be back. Thank you for that!

Overall though I probably won't return to this hotel again, and won't be suggesting it to my friends or colleagues.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Sebel hotel is conveniently located for a access to Surry Hills, Central Station and Haymarket. The hotel usually has a mixed clientele of business travellers and holiday makers.

I would recommend due to the location, size of the rooms and access to transport.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors to avoid noise from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutz4Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Filthy.
1. Blood on "fresh" sheets
2. Stool all around rim of toilet bowl.
Management claimed the blood was rust until he saw the pictures we took and said "ok that's clearly blood"...and claimed we were lying about the stool! Defensive and reactionary. Unhelpful. Complete waste of money. 4.5 stars - no way!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Life_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Room is simple n clean, not a fancy one.
Staffs are friendly but not too helpful. I asked them how to take public transportation to the city, they just told me to take a taxi, but then on the last day of my stay, I found that it's only 5 mins walk to train station and that can take me to most of the places in the city. Upon arrival, I asked for free wifi, the staff gave me a 30mins daily pass. Then on the next day, I asked for free wifi pass again, another staff told me since I'm an accor member, I can have free wifi in room for the whole stay.
If you are a foodie, u can find many great restaurants around. I tried the Gelato Messina, Chur Burger and Reuben's. Even the little restaurant next door serving fresh fruit juice are very good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,917 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Property: Rydges Sydney Central
Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing