We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graham Staples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #71 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    699
    351
    115
    62
See reviews for
239
522
145
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I booked through Qantas hotels to use some points. I had a minor problem at checkin as even though I had clearly indicated the booking was for 2 adults and 2 children and was bed and breakfast, the hotel tried to say the breakfast was only for the adults. I had to show them the reciept which clearly said 2 adults, 2 children bed and breakfast and then really stand my ground and argue with them to get the kids breakfast included but they did do it in the end. I had booked a balcony room which I didnt get but the family were so over the first fight they didnt want to argue again so I just made sure I wasnt charged any extra for it.
However, after all of that, the room was large and light. there was a king bed and a double sofa and a flat screen TV as well as a desk with mini bar etc. There was plenty of room for out suitcases and we didnt feel crowded in. The bed was very hard and I didnt sleep wel in it at all but my hubby liked it, so thats the probelm with hotel beds I guess! We were on the 5th floor which has an outdoor deck area with chairs and tables which we made good use of. The pool was on the next floor down with internal stairs connecting it to the gym on the next floor down again. The pool, spa and sauna were fine. The gym was pretty good and lovely and cool.
Breakfast was pretty standard hotel buffet fare. the kids loved it. the pancake maker was good and the food was fresh, the staff are a little slow at clearing your empty plates so we ended up with plates piled up on the table which was a bit poor. There were free newspapers and in all it was ok. The coffee was terrilble but then this seems to be a Sydney thing!
The location is good, we walked into the Pitt St mall and down to Paddy's markets and darling harbour. Central station is close and easy to get to places like Bondi junction. Crown st is a few blocks up Albion St from the hotel and has great restaurants.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: if you have kids, the lower rooms on the pool side are good as you can easliy take the stairs to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilysholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel.

I would like to apologise for the problems that you experienced during your stay. Our aim is never to create a bad experience and therefore, we will use this feedback to improve for the future.

Please be rest assured, this is not a common practice of the hotel and we hope, should you choose to return to the hotel in the future, that we can create a much better experience for you and your family.

I hope you can accept my apology and return to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollognong
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beds are hard, 1 type of pillow- I had to use the pillow off the lounge! Pool ok.
Staff don't seem to be happy to be there. Breakfast was ok, again staff weren't cheerful and seemed they didn't want to be there. I wouldn't stay again.
Oh and most importantly ask for a room that doesn't face the road, you can hear everything !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel, we appreciate the time you have taken to inform us of your experience during your stay.

I would like to aplogise for the problems that you had during your stay at the hotel, our aim is to create an enjoyable experience for our guests during their stay and on this occassion, we have unfortunately failed.

Please do not let this affect you staying with us again, we would like to have you back with us in the future so we can give you a much better experience to take away.

Apologies once again, please consider trying our hotel again in the future.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was meet with very professional and friendly staff who ensured that the check on process was very enjoyable. the rooms were excellent and the overall facilities were top notch as well. I will have no hesitation in staying there again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The location is great, close to the city and some good coffee shops and restaurants close by. The Hotel has friendly staff, good value and well worth a return visit. ...................................

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,922 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Property: Rydges Sydney Central
Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing