We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a return Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #75 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Worth a return Visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The location is great, close to the city and some good coffee shops and restaurants close by. The Hotel has friendly staff, good value and well worth a return visit. ...................................

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    707
    355
    116
    62
See reviews for
243
526
148
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel to be close to the theatre. Good location but nothing else good about this hotel. We were travelling with friends and were assured we would be together but were 4 floors apart. After much whispering behind the counter they moved us to the same floor. We dined in their restaurant but food was well below expected for the price. There was no cocktail list so we had to walk through the main smoking area and into the bar to see the cocktail list on a blackboard. Our package included breakfast but they had no record of it when we arrived the next morning. They let us through and said they would check with reception. We then had a staff member chase us through the restaurant yelling at us that our breakfast wasn't included. Very embarrassing! We then cleared it up with reception but were offered no apologies at all. The bathroom cleanliness was also well below an acceptable standard. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awesome24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to have read that you had such a bad experience during your stay at the hotel. Please be rest assured, this is not a common practice in standards and your feedback will be used to improve the parts that were an issue during your stay.

It is unaceptable to make our guests feel uneasy and I would like to sincerely apologise for your unpleasant experience.

I hope that if you choose to return to the hotel in the future, we can make it a much more memorable experience.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A change to flight arrangements meant we had a single night stay at the Sebel before moving on to other Sydney accommodation. Due to a promotion we were offered an upgraded room at a special rate and thought that we were in for something special. What we found was a quite ordinary hotel room which was showing signs of wear and tear, certainly nothing special and not quite measuring up to its 4.5 star rating.

The room was quite small, and the door and wall had dents or possibly holes which appeared to have been rather messily patched. The bathroom was functional although by no means anything out of the ordinary.

A discounted buffet breakfast rate is offered at check-in which we took advantage of and found it to be reasonable in terms of both quality and range.

Would we stay again? Probably not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanell59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the hotel.

It was disappointing to read that you had a bad experience during your stay with us. Please be rest assured, this is not common practice for our hotel standards.

Once again, I thank you for your feedback as it will help us improve in the appropriate areas that need it.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Mercure Sydney
#61 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,010 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Property: Rydges Sydney Central
Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing