We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #78 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a Saturday night as we were seeing a show at The Entertainment Quarter at Moore Park. Checking-in was quite painful, mainly because the staff were all so surly - there wasn't a smile from any of them!!
The room was quite nice though - comfy King bed, big shower and relatively clean.
They have their own carpark which is handy, and it is in a good location for pubs, restaurants & cafes in the Surry Hills area (ie: Crown St).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissKris1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed one night while we saw a play in the city. It is very conveniently located near cenral railway. The room was very quiet, clean and comfortable. We had twin beds and used the sofa bed for a third person. The sofa didn't look so comfortable but the woman who used it said it was fine. The breakfast had a good range of food but took a little time to be topped up. The only strange thing was an extra security deposit added onto the quoted price when we checked in. I thought this was unusual - we were 3 female middle aged teachers and the likelihood of us trashing the room was nil - and I made this comment at the time. Other than that we were really happy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have been Accor members for many years and on arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe suite. After nearly 2 hours it was obvious that our aircon wasn't working so a call to reception and visit from the technician resulted in a further upgrade to a lovely large suite with separate living and bedroom areas. Overall our stay was very pleasant and we appreciated being in a quieter part of the CBD at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pechfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A large hotel just a stones throw from Central Station. Very large room - could easily have accommodated another double bed. Only downside was no bath. Also only a small window with no view - but did not spend the weekend in my room so that is only a minor point and probably only relates to rooms at the back of the hotel. Bathroom was large enough as it had a huge walk in shower. All staff that I encountered were exceptionally friendly and helped out at every request. Restaurant was exceptional and I would eat there again no problem - the bar eatery was also of the same quality. My daughter loved the pool and had I been better prepared I would have used the sauna and gym area - will next time.

Room Tip: Request one at the front of the hotel if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Angela_v_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in January.

I was very pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Make sure you pack your gear next time and take advantage of the extra facilities on offer at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
4,991 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,456 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 181 in Sydney
1,368 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#47 of 181 in Sydney
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $116 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing