We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Sydney Central
Nearby Hotels
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
$191
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$105
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$138
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
$204
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$202
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$125
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,818)
Filter reviews
1,818 results
Traveler rating
462
784
376
129
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
784
376
129
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurry hillscentral stationalbion streetbuffet breakfastcrown stdeluxe roomroom servicebooked this hotelhandy locationreception stafflate checkdarling harbourlight railan easy walkpublic transporttownhousechinatown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,170 - 1,175 of 1,818 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Sebel and found it to be a nice hotel in a central location. It's only a short walk to Paddys Market and Darling Harbour. There are many nice small restaurants nearby. We did have a meal in the hotels Resturant as they had a deal running. The meal was ok, not great but it was convenient.
There is a car park under the hotel, (a little pricey but ok for Sydney I guess) which was very convenient.
The room was nice. Quiet with good blinds, block out and translucent. Good bathroom and the beds were good. Our room was near an elevator by the pool so was very close for getting to and from the car.
The staff were all professional and pleasant to deal with.

Room Tip: If you have a car, a room near the lifts would be convenient as the lifts come up from the car park.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

When my partner and I stayed at The Sebel Surry Hills in July 2013 we were greeted with very professional and fast service at check-in/check-out. The bed was very comfortable, nice view and spacious room (we were in a standard room).

One complaint I could make is that when we went to use the pool/sauna it had obviously just had a chlorine dump and they did not sign post this anywhere - our eyes and skin were burning as soon as we walked in and this lasted for about an hour...

The only recommendation I could make to them is that is has potential to be very luxurious, the furniture & decor needs to be modernised and the fish tank (which is amazing, needs to be re-vamped).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jixen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A classy hotel with staff that go the extra mile within a 5 minute walk from Central Station and all that the CBD has to offer in Sydney. Restaurant offer a great special in the evening and the breakfast menu is extensive. Staff are very professional, understated, but yet very attentive.
They provided us a room by 11am in the morning after a longhaul flight, was much appreciated.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night do not choose an outside view, very noisy streets with noise coming through to room easily
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my Partner stay at this hotel on a regular basis when travelling to sydney, Great Location for everything short walk to Central Train station. With our last visit in April 2013 there was a Easter Package special including everything room,breakfast,parking,tickets etc. We were charged extra for parking when we told them it was part of the package the girl was very rude untill I showed her the booking and what it included, put in a formal complaint about this to the hotel never heard back. Breakfast staff were exceptionally good and very polite. I will always come back to this hotel as it has so many pro's then con's but I think reception staff needed more knowledge and training.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. And thank you for your repeat business, we always enjoy welcoming guests back to the hotel.

I would like to thank you for your kind words but also I would like to apologise for the way you were treated by the staff on reception. This is not acceptable as we take pride in our customer service where rudeness not tolerated at all.

Please accept my apology and I hope we will see you back in the hotel soon for a much better experience.

Regards,

Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews