We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Handy position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Sydney Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #73 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Handy position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The change in management has seen the addition of some nice touches in service from the checkin which is fast and friendly with help being offered the moment you pull up. Beds are firmish but comfy with each person having a choice of pillows. A great spot to stay for footy or cricket at the SCG.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevefromnewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    655
    329
    110
    60
See reviews for
216
486
133
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here through Accor on a stopover through Sydney. We were upgraded to a nicer room straight away which was really nice. The service was great, room comfortable & location perfect. Parking is underneath at $34, get there early for a spot! Easy to use movies as well with no problems. A short stroll through the cool suburb of Surry Hills is a must. We found an awesome Thai restaurant on Crown Street 'Terrace Thai' & definitely recommend gelati mecca 'Messina' on crown street for desert! The cafe Nano Coffee on site was great for a quick breakfast & coffee on the run.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is one of our hotels of choice when staying in Sydney. Great location and clean spacious rooms. Can walk to almost anywhere in the city from here. Train station is also close by if walking isn't a preference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Jambakim

We thank you for sharing your experiences. It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback from a returning guest, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous ones!

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Sebel. Beautiful view from our room, really friendly staff, quick service (when something in our room didn't work it was fixed straight away), a nice pool and sun deck and very convenient location. As my partner had mentioned it was my birthday I was given a very nice surprise by the staff. It was a great place to celebrate my birthday and an all-round great hotel!

Room Tip: I had a room facing Centrepoint which was really amazing! The higher, the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwa4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked our Australian trip quite late for Dec-Jan and thus we didn't have too many options. Ended up using hotwire to get this hotel so we weren't sure what to expect. Hotwire rated it 4 1/2 which is generous. However, to be fair, we did find the location outstanding, very close to Chinatown and the heart of Surry Hills; very well connected (the free bus that takes you to the Quay stops right in front the main road + it's practically across the central station). We didn't have any issues with the maintenance of the room. It was interesting to read about the hotel's glory days and it would be great if they found a way to harness the power of their heritage. For the price that we paid during the height of high season, this hotel was a good bet.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Claudia N

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times. It is a nice clean hotel in a handy spot for walking to Paddy's Market and down to Darling Harbour (& you can tram back to Central & short walk back to hotel). Handy to Central Railway station to get downtown and to outer suburbs.

Our room was a good size, window didn't open which is a shame but beds were comfy. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Good affordable hotel for a quick trip where you have lots planned. Not a great 'holiday spot' though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Like2Travel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanunda, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

central location, rooms tired, split level foyer with lots of stairs bed uncomfortable
The place needs some maintenance
Roof leaking into the lift well space, and outside my room, which is not a good look WITH electrical appliances, very musty smell
Definitely not 4 1/2 stars

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robjon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear robjon64

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that there were elements of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We take all guest feedback very seriously and we are taking the appropriate measures to address these problems to prevent future occurrence.

I hope that you will accept our apology and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#58 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,473 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#66 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Property: Rydges Sydney Central
Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing