We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Sebel Surry Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #77 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is one of our hotels of choice when staying in Sydney. Great location and clean spacious rooms. Can walk to almost anywhere in the city from here. Train station is also close by if walking isn't a preference.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Jambakim

We thank you for sharing your experiences. It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback from a returning guest, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous ones!

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,693)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Sydney Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Sebel. Beautiful view from our room, really friendly staff, quick service (when something in our room didn't work it was fixed straight away), a nice pool and sun deck and very convenient location. As my partner had mentioned it was my birthday I was given a very nice surprise by the staff. It was a great place to celebrate my birthday and an all-round great hotel!

Room Tip: I had a room facing Centrepoint which was really amazing! The higher, the better view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwa4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked our Australian trip quite late for Dec-Jan and thus we didn't have too many options. Ended up using hotwire to get this hotel so we weren't sure what to expect. Hotwire rated it 4 1/2 which is generous. However, to be fair, we did find the location outstanding, very close to Chinatown and the heart of Surry Hills; very well connected (the free bus that takes you to the Quay stops right in front the main road + it's practically across the central station). We didn't have any issues with the maintenance of the room. It was interesting to read about the hotel's glory days and it would be great if they found a way to harness the power of their heritage. For the price that we paid during the height of high season, this hotel was a good bet.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Claudia N

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times. It is a nice clean hotel in a handy spot for walking to Paddy's Market and down to Darling Harbour (& you can tram back to Central & short walk back to hotel). Handy to Central Railway station to get downtown and to outer suburbs.

Our room was a good size, window didn't open which is a shame but beds were comfy. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Good affordable hotel for a quick trip where you have lots planned. Not a great 'holiday spot' though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Like2Travel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

central location, rooms tired, split level foyer with lots of stairs bed uncomfortable
The place needs some maintenance
Roof leaking into the lift well space, and outside my room, which is not a good look WITH electrical appliances, very musty smell
Definitely not 4 1/2 stars

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robjon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear robjon64

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that there were elements of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We take all guest feedback very seriously and we are taking the appropriate measures to address these problems to prevent future occurrence.

I hope that you will accept our apology and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I flew into Sydney last week, hopped on the train from the airport to Central ($15.90) walked 200 metres and I was at the Sebel Surry Hills! Fantastic location for a quick business trip.
It was only a ten minute walk to the CBD or a quick train ride and the rate charged by the Sebel was half that for more central hotels with same quality.
Room was big, air con was fine, breakfast was VERY GOOD and great value.
Staff are fine. There are stacks of restaurants and coffee shops around there.
I had a late check out, got the train to the airport and flew off. I would certainly stay there again....it is not the Westin or Sheraton on the Park but for the low price and location to Central it worked well for me!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

There was a lot to like about our stay at the Sebel Surry Hills in Sydney.

Traveled as a group of 4 and we were allocated adjoining rooms without us even having to request it. A simple call to reception and someone came and unlocked the door within minutes.

Received a great rate for the stay, that is always good. I would recommend trying to find a deal that includes wireless internet for your stay as that will save you a LOT (if you don't already have access to the internet via other means)

The rooms were clean and comfortable, range of different thickness pillows which is always good. Television had some foxtel channels and all of the free to air digital ones. View from the room was pleasant.

Noticed some differences between the 2 rooms we had. Main one being that one had a 2.5 seater couch in it, whilst the other one did not. It wasn't a deal breaker for us, but always nice to lounge on an easy chair rather than having to sit on the bed all of the time.

Used the pool and sauna - both clean and enjoyable. A call to housekeeping had fresh towels delivered in minutes. The staff at the hotel were very friendly. If they were not busy, they would look up and greet you as you arrived and left the building. Nice touch.

Rather than pay for breakfast, I would recommend the small cafe adjoining the hotel - good coffee and a very good range of yummy food items.

Location of the hotel is excellent. A short walk to Central and just a little further and you are in the heart of the city. We used taxis a few times to get here and there though, the city is big!

Overall highly recommended and for the right price would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for an adjoining room if traveling in a group.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Damobet

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Kind Regards
Paul Donnelly
General Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,736 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 178 in Sydney
4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing