We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange experience - good hotel though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Ranked #79 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in a few hotels recently in Sydney, the first hotel being the Sebel Surry Hills. After flying across the world, I was looking forward to a quiet night with my partner in, what I initially thought, was a nice quiet hotel. After about 30 minutes of checking in, a full scale row/riot/fight broke out on our corridor between some indian guys/ladies/families. It was extremely shocking to listen to and the police were called to settle the dispute between these 'guests'. Not a great experience on my first night in Sydney after flying for 30 hours. The next day I went down to complain and the duty manager apologied and awarded us witha nice bottle of pinot noir which was nice.

I must say - this was the only problem I had with this place. Its actually one of the better hotels in Sydney, looking back. The rooms are clean, it has a good gym, its fairly centrally located and it has parking (at a premium price). The hotel is also close to the station which is handy if you want to travel to the outskirts of Sydney.

All in all I would stay here again.

Just make sure you have a better disaster plan in place if another riot takes place on one of your levels. Im sure that was a one off but it was quite disturbing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

I decided to try a different hotel whn the Best Western Hotel Steelar was booked out. Sebel Suury Hills ticks a number of boxes - stone's throw to the best cafes and restaurants in this city, close to Central Station, a little away from the city without being too far away. The room was comfortable enough and had everything ou expected or a hotel in this price range. Check in and check out was efficient, and staff seem friendly enough. I did however leave my electric toothbrush behind after check out, and when I came back th next day, they could not find it. It was the most disappointing thing bout the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Recently attended a conference at Sebel Surry Hills. Food was outstanding - sushi, berries, quiches, salads, healthy and interesting options. Great Gluten Free food as well. The service from hotel conference staff was not great. They didn't finish clearing the rooms between sessions - left some rubbish lying about. When I told a manager on duty he was less than interested. Also the key person with questions about timing of meals when these had been signed off in the conference. I have since spoken to them about using their facilitites and they were most attentive to my feedback and to my request, and negotiable on possible deals. I will certainly use them in future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I once knew, way back in the good ol' days a Sebel hotel worth commending.
Gone are those days. The Sebel I once knew is now full to overflowing with families who all booked "the cheap seat tickets" The breakfast buffet is a sight to behold and then avoid everyday thereafter. The restaurant staff are not too bright, friendly nor helpful. Our room was weirdly large, somewhat renovated but with a shockingly uncomfortable bed. Two singles pushed together with a very thin bed mattress topper. The location is good, a little noisy on the weekends. The best part of our stay was the very friendly and extremely helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hobie1canobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

my mother inlaw recently turned 80 and we arranged a surprise treat starting at the sebel in Sydney. Old friends came from all over and stayed at the hotel which I would rate at 10 star. The rooms were great atmosphere excellent and the staff went out of thier way to make it a weekend to remember.Cant thank you enough.

Room Tip: wlaking distance to paddys market and central station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel S, Front Office Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one
Regards
Lauren Job
Rooms Division Manager
The Sebel Surry Hills Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The most comfy bed I've slept in. Was disturbed in the night by the brightest clock radio beaming throughout the room. My room was at the front so bit of traffic noise but not disturbed by it. Very good breakfast and cheaper if you prepay when checking in. Eating in restaurant was too expensive for quality of meal and service of waiter who forgot our drinks until he delivered our meals.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purple31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Sebel ticked the boxes for our weekend stay: great location, clean and spacious room and a pretty generous breakfast. It's not flashy or indulgent, but it's everything we needed and the staff were quiet, but helpful. We walked across the road to Central Station several times in our stay because it's quite a walk to the shopping hub (several blocks north) and The Rocks (several more blocks North). The room was quite large (we had a king bed) and the bathroom seemed recently renovated. Nice, simple modern decor. Breakfast was unpretentious, but had more than we could eat and some nice options if we had wanted to be more greedy. Overall, a good value choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TillyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,511 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
5,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#48 of 181 in Sydney
1,925 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 181 in Sydney
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $136 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing