We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and great service”
Review of Sokyo

Sokyo
Ranked #80 of 5,943 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Sokyo. Where the buzz of Tokyo meets a Sydney beat. Allow yourself to be lost in the world of Chef Chase Kojima and his impeccable union of traditional craftsmanship with an innovative take on contemporary flavour. Now open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner, and lunch Thursday through Saturday.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The restaurant provides Japanese nouvelle cuisine. We let the waiter bring in dishes at his discretion for our working dinner. Each item was superb and the deserts were to die for. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rupak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    140
    53
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go to Modern Japanese!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Been to Sokyo countless times, delicious food with modern twist on Japanese classics, cocktails and wine list are incredible. One of my favourite places to eat in Sydney. Bar staff are knowledgable and will be happy to get creative with your drinks if asked and they won't fail to impress!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendiiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very expensive meal coupled with screaming kids”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My expectations were very high however I found this restaurant overpriced. The food is okay, some dishes good but if you want to have a dish from each section of the menu (which is what the waitstaff recommend) then expect to pay a pretty high price. We dined near a table of extremely noisy (screeching) kids and no-one asked them to keep it down which really detracted from the experience for the other people around.
The waiter was friendly but spent a good ten minutes explaining every aspect of the menu. A skill would be to read your customer and if its obvious they already know a little about the food on the menu then don't overdo the explanations.
All in all I would not go back, I'm sure there is better restaurants.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trekker065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Sydney”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Amazing service, food is delicious and atmosphere is briliant. The bar does great cocktails and is a perfect after work drinks spot. It's cool that you can see the head chef in the kitchen. One of the best restaurants in Sydney. Try the miso cod!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ok, but no wow factor ”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Thought I would try out one of premier restaurants at Star City only to be disappointed. The meal was overpriced, the staff were good but had it not been to the proximity of the casino I do not think this restaurant would survive.

Verdict: would not go out of my way for, in fact besides the decor I think the food court would have been just as good

Helpful?
Thank Davidb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokyo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing