We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sokyo

Sokyo
Ranked #30 of 5,401 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sokyo. Where the buzz of Tokyo meets a Sydney beat. Allow yourself to be lost in the world of Chef Chase Kojima and his impeccable union of traditional craftsmanship with an innovative take on contemporary flavour. Now open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner, and lunch Thursday through Saturday.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We told our waitress to pick the dishes for us and we got some absolute cracker dishes! Beautiful fresh food and it was great fun watching the chefs do their magic! Was lovely to have a chat to them as well. Thanks for a great experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    101
    37
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Exceeds Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have taken many friends and family to this restaurant and EVERYONE loves it! From the amazing and fresh fish to the well cooked meat and moorish desserts, you can never go wrong. Some of my must haves whenever i visit are; Spicy Tuna on Crispy Rice, Mixed Leaf Salad, Kingfish Sashimi, Wagyu Beef, Lamb Skewers, Seared Salmon, Green Tea & Strawberry Milkshake Crepes, Peanut Butter Chocolate Fondant, Jam Doughnuts and a delicious wine. The flavours that Chef Chase Kujima uses in his dishes keeps everyone coming back for more. I just can't get enough. The menu can be slightly confusing but the staff are able to explain how it works. Please treat yourself to a very special night and always leave room for dessert!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raquel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great service meets delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a fantastic night! I can't give Sokyo anything but rave reviews on everything from service to food and atmosphere. My friend and I came here on a Wednesday night for dinner and after being seated and introduced to our host Greta we were taken into the very funky dining room. Our waiter Felipe was fantastic and gave us so many great recommendations of what to order- those are often the best meals when you leave it all up to a very intune waiter-and wow did he deliver! Highlights were tuna nigiri on crispy rice and cod miso, but really everything was sensational. A highlight came at the end with a tasting plate of desserts with the most amazing sesame plate called goma st- possibly the best thing I've ever eaten. Thank you so much to Greta, felipe and Gill whose personal approach to service in combination with the delicious food made for such a special night! I hope to return many times over!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ltemby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went for some drink and snacks at Sokyo's Bar.
It was absolutely AMAZING!
HIghly recommended eitherfor a birthday
function or just few drinks after work!
My friends and I had the finest cocktails ever
and bar staff were ever present and friendly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarceloReis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good modern Japanese restaurant. Great desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Came here last month after a food-lover friend recommended to try several times.

Upon entering, i was confused by the music and the decor inside, it looked more like a bar to me. Once we were taken to our table in the main dining area, then I saw the open kitchen which looked abit more Japanese then the rest of the room.

The menu is good with lots of variety on sushi/sashimi. We had the sashimi platter which was very classic but fresh and well selected, but other sashimi on the menu comes with its own sauce which my friend said is quite creative.

The miso cod was also a highly-recommended course but it was abit too sweet, the pork belly skewer was nice but nothing too amazing.

The best part was their desserts. If you can definitely try a few of them, very very nicely executed!

And yes the price is on the high side, but desserts are well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank niki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokyo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing