We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sublime Sokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sokyo

Sokyo
Ranked #25 of 5,443 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sokyo. Where the buzz of Tokyo meets a Sydney beat. Allow yourself to be lost in the world of Chef Chase Kojima and his impeccable union of traditional craftsmanship with an innovative take on contemporary flavour. Now open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner, and lunch Thursday through Saturday.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sublime Sokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's always a struggle to find a Japanese restaurant in this part of the world that compares to the dining experiences I had while living in Japan for a couple of years. But a night at Sokyo was simply sublime - certainly comparable to the best Tokyo serves up.

Those accustomed to ordering Japanese from set course menus or looking for the Teriyaki Chicken might struggle with the extensive shared plate menu at Sokyo, as upon initial review it can appear somewhat daunting. The wait staff clearly know their stuff - our great waitress quickly guided us on selections and in minutes we had painlessly created the full degustation experience.

From start to finish the food was sensational and arrived at well timed intervals throughout the night - sashimi, scallops, pork belly, miso cod, nigiri sushi, miso, and a chocolate sesame dessert that warranted a second helping. There's also an impressive selection of often hard to find Sake on offer for those that appreciate the stuff.

Food of this quality, all presented like small plates of art doesn't come cheap. Ideally come here on a night when you can forget the bill and just indulge in one of the best dining experiences you can have. Doesn't really matter what you order - it's all amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    105
    38
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
836 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Better elswhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I dont get all the hype this restaurant creates. Service is pedestrian, quite often backpackers as the staff, food is ok, but much better Japanese at either Sushi e or Toko. And very expensive. perhaps i've got it on bad night, several times now? Bar are quite pleasant, but again, expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food amazing service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

An amazing night at Sokyo. Spent 3 hours here gorging myself on some of the most amazing food ever. The Kingfish entrée was a great starter to the meal and the snapper sashimi was to die for. The Brown mushrooms with truffle were like eating a 5 star steak. The service is brilliant and timely. Min (One of the chefs) was extremely friendly and had great customer service by making himself available to customers in the dining room. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hojuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had not planned to go to Sokyo, but just happened to be at the front door after another function fell through, so we had no booking at 7pm on a Friday night. Suprisingly, we were able to grab 2 seats at the bar, which I was initially not keen on, but as it turned out were great seats for the two of us, as you were able to watch the skilled chefs at their trade. The chefs interacted with you and assisted with meal suggestions. The service was very prompt and the staff almost overattentive. The quality of the food was a huge surprise - it was so fresh and somewhat different to other Japanese restaurants that we had been to before. The drink selection was very good and reasonably priced. All in all, it was a superb experience, especially as we were not expecting the quality for a restaurant "attached" to a casino.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoefromTheGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“You have to put Sokyo on your bucket list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is very hard to add to all the wonderful reviews before this one, simply to say, brilliant, best meal we have ever had, wonderful service, reasonable prices for such a superb restrauant. Just two of us, we shared 3 entrees, Kurobuta Black Pork Sashimi was absolutely beautiful, and our 2 mains, Kobe Cuisine Wagyu Tenderloin & DengakuMan are beyond my ability to describe how good they were. For desert we tried Chef's desert sampler, 4 different deserts, just great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsmacpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokyo also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing