We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hostel in Sydney!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elephant Backpacker
Ranked #85 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Favourite Hostel in Sydney!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Two friends and I came and stayed at Elephant, the staff were friendly, the rooms were nice and big and contained lockers to lock away valuables. It was cheap and easy to find, they provided a shuttle to and from the airport which made it easy when trying to get back and forth. Really good location. They also had organized nights out which made it a really easy to meet new people and see the night life Sydney had to offer. We stayed at a number of hostels throughout our travels in australia but this was by far the best one we stayed at, I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: 8 bed dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    121
    58
    32
    134
See reviews for
4
78
137
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I checked into elephant intending to stay a few days and ended up staying for months. I met loads of great friends here. It was cheap and cheerful but exactly what I needed on my budget. It is relatively clean an the staff were always happy to help me with if something was wrong. I will definitely go back here for a few days before I leave Australia!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Only booked for 1 night cause it was the cheapest in Sydney and was flying
out next day. Reviews make you think its going to be a dump but the
hostel was a surprise. Staff tried to be friendly, shower was clean and room was big with clean
linen. I didn’t bother trying to cook and used the cafe instead. Not
many communal spaces but what was there was ok and full of guests. Easy
to meet people.

Room Tip: Cheapest price is on there own website
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at Elephant Backpackers with a group of friends for just over a week and I had a really good time. The location was great, that was a selling point for us, and the price was really good for that area. It was relatively clean with cleaners on throughout the day and the staff were very helpful. 24 Hour reception which was good as we arived very late after a delayed flight.

Room Tip: I stayed in both 8 bed and 6 beb dorms, all with secure lockers and plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in a private room and thought it was a nice hostel. It was very basic but clean and exactly what you pay for. The café attached had great food with different deals throughout the week. Staff were nice and helped you were they could. I would recommend you to stay here if on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cclark89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hostel for approx 6 weeks and had a great time. It's the cheapest in the area with a great location. The staff are helpful and on the desk 24 hours a day. It's clean and basic and exactly what you get for what you pay. Would recommend to those on a backpackers budget!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iainr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

we stayed in a 4 bed dorm for 2 nights.
its a disgusting place, dirty, creepy-crawlies in the kitchen, bed bugs.
badly maintained, cleaning done lousily.
staff not helpful. no refund given, if you want to leave early because of bed bugs.

would not recommend to go at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sim0ne_sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 139 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jackaroo Hostel
#26 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#19 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Property: Elephant Backpacker
Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located close to city centre in gentrified suburb of Woolloomooloo. Set over 4 levels, the top 3 floors accommodate a variety of dormitories and private rooms with each level having communal ladies and men’s shower blocks and separate toilets. All accommodation rooms are provided with bed linen, lockers and reading lights. The ground floor houses a communal kitchen and dining area, tv room, our reception and licensed café & bar. The building offers secure card access. Woolloomooloo, the gentrified city fringe suburb of the hostel is just 5 minutes’ walk from Hyde Park and 10 minutes from shopping at Pitt Street Mall. It is 10 minutes’ bus ride from Sydney Opera House or 15 minutes’ bus ride from Bondi Beach. Enjoy taking the underground travelator across from our hostel to Hyde Park! Our hostel does not permit alcohol to be consumed in the rooms or common areas. Alcohol is available for purchase in our licensed café & bar. We are not a party hostel but suitable for travelers, families and groups. We also welcome disable guests and have a large lift that can accommodate wheel chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing