We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naaaasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elephant Backpacker
Ranked #91 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Naaaasty”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place is disgusting. Beyond poor customer service, denied from our room and our cheaper rate that we previously worked out with the manager. Meant to be there three days only stayed one. Very dark, door didn't have a lock, centipedes on beds, human feces in baths- this all happened in less than a day. Never. Again.

Room Tip: Don't consider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieRobb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    121
    60
    33
    139
See reviews for
4
80
140
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

we stayed in a bunker room with shared toilet, there was a small TV in the room but we were only coming back for sleeping so it was not much of a use anyway. toilet was cleaned every day and hot water was sufficient. bunker bed was very old and made a lot of squeaky noise. It was relatively quiet because we were on 3rd floor (there is a lift in the building). 10-15mins walk to the city which we were happy enough with, and kitchen was tidy because each person had to borrow the utensils and plates from the reception by leaving their room key there and get it back on return of the items, it helped each person to clean after them. it was cold and they provided almost unlimited blankets on request. over all, it was average experience. there are a lot of other hostel/ backpackers near city with reasonable price and at least closer to the city.

Room Tip: away from the reception and kitchen area, go up higher to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beanz_0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goreme, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked Sept 1st, 2013 for a stay from Dec 31st until Jan 2nd.
A private room with shared bathroom for AUD 150 per night. A lot..yes.

Since we realized Sydney accomodations were getting scarce, we called to confirm our booking.
The woman who picked up first pretended the phone line was not working, then said 'I am not eligable to answer your question.'

Pure scam. Stay away from this hostel

Room Tip: Don't even bother. Find another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramon250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Even if it's a cheap place in Sydney, do NOT choose this hostel. It's maybe better to put 5$ more and go somewhere else !

So we arrived at the hostel at 1.30pm for the check-in (normal time 1pm) but we had to wait 3.30 pm to have our room because they were doing their cashier and didn't even say hello... Then when they gave us our keys, we discovered that we weren't in the same dorm despite the fact that we did one reservation for 2. The 2 people behind us had the same exact problem. When we asked how could we know, the guy just told us that we should mail them before booking to know if the space available is in the same room !

One of the room had the door broke so NO SECURITY and the second room, I found plenty of Bed Buggs during the night ! The whole hostel is just disgusting and the staff is really not friendly ! You can find one bathroom with a bath/tub but it's very dirty (I should have taken pictures)...

We didn't sleep because we had to get out my luggages of the room for the bed buggs. From 3am to 7am we waited in the lobby downstairs checking all my luggages to get off the bed buggs. And in the morning at 7am when I asked to be reimbursed they told me that it was normal to find bed buggs in hostels ! I've done plenty of hostels and it's the first time that I see bed buggs. When we argued with them during 20min we were shown as the bad guys and they didn't understand why we were angry !! At the end we just got reimburse for one room as the 2 of us didn't sleep !!

Worst experience ever in a hostel...

Room Tip: So after we booked a twin room at the Maze Hostel and you can see the difference !!! We check-in 3 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathilde l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After reading the reviews of this hostel I had a pretty good idea of what to expect. To enjoy your stay at Elephant requires a pretty specific mindset; you have to go in with the intention of partying hard and not doing much else.

Elephant Backpackers is a pretty dingy place. I didn't have much problem with the cleanliness of the place myself, but the state of repair is terrible. Almost none of the dormitories lock, so the idea of leaving your stuff there is a little worrying, though thankfully I was not robbed during my stay. They can also be pretty noisy due to the comings and goings of party-goers and loud music being played in the kitchen throughout much of the day.

The place is sociable, and most nights there is an organised night out to one of Sydney's nightclubs, although there is also a culture of heavy drinking and also some drug use among a selection of the guests and residents, so the pace of the partying might be hard to keep up with. I spent so many days of my stay nursing a hangover that I didn't actually see a lot of the places in Sydney that I had planned to. Yes, that was my fault, but moderation might have been a bit easier if I'd stayed somewhere else.

Summarised, Elephant Backpackers might be okay for you if all you want is a bed to sleep in while you sample the Sydney nightlife, but if you're also wanting to explore the city during the day time then I'm sure there are some less rowdy but still fun (and more secure) hostels to stay in for similar prices around the King's Cross area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBChikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Meant to stay four nights stayed one and got the hell out of there, horrible dingy backpackers, with useless staff, horrible, unfriendly roommates, and just disgusting all over- glad to be away- no exaggeration.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBelowZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the location is good, not too far from town. That's where the positives end.

This is a run down place that I feel is being left to run into the ground serving people who want to stay long term, but don't care about the environment they are in.

As we walked in we noticed the smell, stained carpets and paint peeling off doors. The lift had discarded crisp packets and cans and the kitchen was a haven for food waste and cockroaches. We didn't cook we ate out.

The bathrooms were ok, but toilets were disgusting. No soap provided in toilets - sure way to ensure hostel is filled with germs. Light bulbs weren't replaced and the water was turned off at 9.30pm to allow some work on the water system.The roof top was closed all day and evening.

The room lockers were fine, but the room had long stay tenants who seemed to eat food and throw wrappers etc behind the bed. No cleaning seemed to have taken place for weeks.

We stayed one night and were meant to stay another few nights on our return to Sydney, but there is no way we would go back!

Pay a bit extra and stay somewhere cleaner!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#28 of 142 in Sydney
690 reviews
The Village Surry Hills
#87 of 142 in Sydney
139 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 142 in Sydney
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jackaroo Hostel
#26 of 142 in Sydney
286 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 142 in Sydney
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Property: Elephant Backpacker
Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located close to city centre in gentrified suburb of Woolloomooloo. Set over 4 levels, the top 3 floors accommodate a variety of dormitories and private rooms with each level having communal ladies and men’s shower blocks and separate toilets. All accommodation rooms are provided with bed linen, lockers and reading lights. The ground floor houses a communal kitchen and dining area, tv room, our reception and licensed café & bar. The building offers secure card access. Woolloomooloo, the gentrified city fringe suburb of the hostel is just 5 minutes’ walk from Hyde Park and 10 minutes from shopping at Pitt Street Mall. It is 10 minutes’ bus ride from Sydney Opera House or 15 minutes’ bus ride from Bondi Beach. Enjoy taking the underground travelator across from our hostel to Hyde Park! Our hostel does not permit alcohol to be consumed in the rooms or common areas. Alcohol is available for purchase in our licensed café & bar. We are not a party hostel but suitable for travelers, families and groups. We also welcome disable guests and have a large lift that can accommodate wheel chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing