We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived here for 4 months!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Backpacker

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Elephant Backpacker
Ranked #86 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
2 reviews
“Lived here for 4 months!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lived here for 4 months!
Staff and long termers are legendary people. Close to everything you need, the location couldn't be better. Right between Kings Cross and CBD!
Always got a sweet deal at different bars every night.
Cheapest place in Sydney!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    118
    55
    32
    130
See reviews for
4
77
130
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at this backpackers for just over a week and enjoyed my time here. There are cleaners working throughout the day keeping the toilets and other facilities to an acceptable standard. I even saw the toilets and kitchen being power washed while I stayed there which I was really impressed with. The kitchen does get busy at meal times and can get messy but this is the mess left by other people and it is cleaned thoroughly afterwards. Clean linen is orbited at check in and you can change this fir fresh linen any time throughout your stay.

The hostel has a fun atmosphere and as a lone traveller I felt very welcome by the staff and other guests. There is 24 hour reception therefore you questions can be answered at any time. The hostel is basic but more than great value for what you pay.

Helpful hint, if you can't handle a busy kitchen eat in the cafe attached to the hostel!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stay four night .last week of august .had great time in Sydney.came back to backpacker on our last night to find some one had been in our room and taken camera and I pad .my wife and me had a room for our self's so I think it was an inside job as we maded shaw we lock door in the morning when we left .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenhere966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in this hostel with 3 other friends. We made the booking last minute so couldn't be in the same room but the staff were more than helpful at getting us together when we extended out stay.

The place is cheap and exactly what you are looking for if you are on a budget. It is basic but what you pay you can't expect anything more. The rooms are big and spacious with lockers that are big enough to store your big bags and cleaned daily.

The location is also a great advantage. Only a short walk to the city and kings x!

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay long or short term and that are on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iainr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This backpackers is just okay, it was the cheapest place in Sydney, and it does the job, i was warned about lots of thieves so i was always wary about having my stuff locked up at all times, there was also a few people just sleeping in the hallways.
The rooms were slightly shabby and it was so humid in there, other than that, i enjoyed my few weeks there and had almost every meal down in the cafe, the food was a very cheap and lovely, the all you can eat pizza nights were worth it!! good hostel, just watch out for thieves!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-Josh-Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place was fine for the rate. Bed was comfortable enough. I'm not a big fan of shared bathroom and shower facilities. However, these were clean. The kitchen is a bit small for the number of people in the hostel but all is working, that is a good point.

I think this is the best value for money you can find in the city, in term of hostels. It is a good place for people in their 20s who don't mind sharing.

Room Tip: Their website has the cheapest rates – 4 bed dorm very spacious and less messy than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hostel was nice enough to let us store our bags when we arrived early in the morning but other than that this hostel is nothing to rave about. The kitchen is dirty and half of the stoves elements didn't work, the rooms were spacious enough with each bunk having it's own plug in, the showers weren't the cleanest but did have hot water and probably the most annoying part is the group of smokers that always seem to be loitering around the entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#30 of 136 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#23 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#13 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Property: Elephant Backpacker
Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and HRS so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing