We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hostel but dirty place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elephant Backpacker
Ranked #88 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value hostel but dirty place”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed around 3 weeks at this place. Our stay was overall good. This place is really good located : 10min from the CBD, 10min from the Opera and 30min from the Central Train Station. Really good value hostel, we payed 16AUD for a 4-bed dorm, because we booked via their website, I don't understand why it cost 20AUD if you book via their office, so if you need to save money, book via internet. This place is overall dirty. Showers and toilets are dirty and a lot of them are broken. There is roch and bugs everywhere on this place, kitchen, tv room, rooms, EVERYWHERE! Staff and reception are a bit unfriendly... It's depend id there is at the reception of course but overall they're not friendly, even the manager. First night at this place, expect you to spend a cold night, because they have not enough blanket for everyone. It's a young place so if you don't like the party and noisy place, don't come here.

Room Tip: Room are first floor (111-115) are noisy because they're located above the kitchen. Try to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    121
    59
    33
    137
See reviews for
4
79
139
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked this hostel because it was one of the cheapest in Sydney and then I started reading some of the reviews and some of them made me want to cancel my booking. However, by that stage it was too late so I checked in. I really can't understand what all the complaints are about. It is no different than many other hostels I have stayed in throughout Australia. The bathrooms are ok and sometimes they are cleaner than others depending on who has used a toilet before you. But I saw cleaners working in the showers throughout the day and usually any dirt or mess was cleaned by the evening. My bed was comfy and I was given clean linen when I checked in. I tried to cook in the kitchen but it was too busy so I tried the cafe that is connected to the hostel. It is good value and has yummy food. The location of the hostel is ok. It is not in the center of the city but on the fringe and you have to walk through a park to get to the center. The hostel is full of mainly backpackers and as usual they make a lot of noise at night. The friendly reception lady offered to move me but I was leaving so it didn't matter. Given its price and location - worth staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Awful! First night there was vomit in the sink in the men's bathrooms, loud, dirty, and even the buttons in the elevator is trying to run! The toilets are horrible with human leavings up and down the walls, as well as the toilet. Owner was fighting with her boyfriend at 3.30am right outside our room. People are smoking a lot of marihuana outside. Lack of control and responsibility. Horrified. Beds are really uncomfortable, but that is actually a really small problem here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I went to Sydney for 4 days for a concert. We wanted the trip to stay as cheap as possible so we booked to stay at this hostel in a double room with shared bathroom for 3 nights and it was $90. Thats $15 per person per night:) We didn't expect much for that and 'basic' and better than many of the reviews indicate. But the location was excellent, 10 minutes from the city centre. There was very little noise disturbance and the bed was very comfortable. The showers were clean enough. We didn’t try to cook in the hostel kitchen and ate instead in the cafe. The staff were friendly. It was a great base for our 4 day trip. If I returned to Sydney and this was still hundreds of dollars cheaper than other hotels, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

if anybody looking for accommodation don't go to the elephant back packers in Sydney
as the toilets don't flush there no separate toilets for men and women we asked for a disabled room and was excepted to share with two men the men had the bottom bunks and we were to sleep on top bunks we paid for two nights and when we returned on Saturday night our room had been re rented out

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Owner at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest
On every floor we have toilets for men and women and each toilet is a separate toilet cubicle that goes from floor to ceiling and is labelled "men" and "women". We do not have unisex toilets and unisex toilets are not permitted in Sydney! Our toilets flush and are checked daily by our manager.

If you wish to have a disabled room you need to request it in your booking plus tell reception when you check in! We have 24/7 reception and you did not advise you had a problem with your room or "somebody" in your bed.

Perhaps you would be more suited for a hotel - but they are not as cheap as us!

Regards
Elephant Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
1,409 reviews
345 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,235 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Let's be honest about why we checked into this grungy backpacker "palace". We wanted to stay the night in Sydney, mainly to get away from our invalid aunt's whinging about the housework not being done. Our selection criteria was the fact that this was the cheapest of the thirty or forty places we looked at online. It doesn't get much cheaper than $60 per night for a double in Sydney these days, it seems.

What do you get for $60 in Sydney's Inner East? You get a bunk bed in a narrow room in a hostel filled with drunken European backpackers, who seem to only want to mix with other Europeans, which begs the question of why they have traveled all the way to the Southern Hemisphere to do something they could have done in Munich and Copenhagen and Amsterdam. But I digress. The hotel was already been savaged by reviewers and I don't feel tempted to sink the boot in any more. It is very basic but it is certainly cheap, and the building itself is a lovely colonial structure, even if the facilities are very basic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed at whilst travelling.
The building could be incredible if it was looked after / refurbished.
The 'staff' are friendly but haven't got a clue what they're doing!
The rooms, hallways, toilets, showers and kitchen are absolutely filthy!!!
Two toilets and three showers on our floor. In the morning there was no toilet paper whatsoever in any of the toilets. Also there isn't even a bin or sanitary bin in the toilets so the 'ladies' were using the floor as their form of sanitary disposal.
The showers worked fine but the floor was beyond disgusting, more hair on the floor than I have on my head!! Two of the three doors didnt lock, I don't think they had ever been cleaned!
Basically you need to have a wash AFTER you come out of the washrooms.
The hostel is cheap but it isn't even worth the $$ spent. Please please look elsewhere before resorting to this dump.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyduck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#26 of 139 in Sydney
679 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Home Backpackers
Home Backpackers
#40 of 139 in Sydney
228 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 139 in Sydney
277 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 139 in Sydney
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Property: Elephant Backpacker
Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located close to city centre in gentrified suburb of Woolloomooloo. Set over 4 levels, the top 3 floors accommodate a variety of dormitories and private rooms with each level having communal ladies and men’s shower blocks and separate toilets. All accommodation rooms are provided with bed linen, lockers and reading lights. The ground floor houses a communal kitchen and dining area, tv room, our reception and licensed café & bar. The building offers secure card access. Woolloomooloo, the gentrified city fringe suburb of the hostel is just 5 minutes’ walk from Hyde Park and 10 minutes from shopping at Pitt Street Mall. It is 10 minutes’ bus ride from Sydney Opera House or 15 minutes’ bus ride from Bondi Beach. Enjoy taking the underground travelator across from our hostel to Hyde Park! Our hostel does not permit alcohol to be consumed in the rooms or common areas. Alcohol is available for purchase in our licensed café & bar. We are not a party hostel but suitable for travelers, families and groups. We also welcome disable guests and have a large lift that can accommodate wheel chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing