We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinese Garden of Friendship

Chinese Garden of Friendship
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.09*
and up
Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass
Ranked #20 of 469 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A haven of tranquility in Sydney's bustling Chinatown, this fascinating garden with waterfalls, bridges and fish-filled ponds was designed by experts from China and reflects designs dating back to the 5th century.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a tranquil place to visit and the photographic opportunities there are endless. There is a cafe there as well so it is very easy just to sit peacefully and enjoy. Definitely worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,366
    584
    152
    35
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I already got a sense of splendid when I walked from Darling Quarter to the Chinese Garden of Friendship. A portion of the garden is not blocked off by the tall white Chinese walls so you can see what the garden inside looks like.

I and my mom walked to the entrance where we paid our 6 dollar entrance fee each to get in. I had thought that the 6 dollars entry price was fairly expensive for a garden, especially when you are a visitor from Africa, and 6 dollars can get you so much more in Africa. Then again, this is Sydney and it is the 3rd most expensive city in the world.

The garden is 100% well maintained and is everything you would expect of a chinese garden. It was pristine and the garden flowed so well, probably because of feng shui principles incorporated into the garden when it was first designed.

Enter into the garden and instantly you will be guided by the footpaths to various shelters spots, waterfalls and temples. The paths are well designed with rocks, bamboos growing on the sides, and the reasons for the placements of various objects are well explained on boards placed around the garden. Be ware of swooning birds - they have them in the garden according to the signage, although we were never affected by them.

I and my mom took photos everywhere we went. It was just stunning.

Before you know it, our garden walk was over and we had reached the exit.
The garden is fairly small - similar to all the attractions in Sydney - and therefore it might not have given me as much value for money as I had thought (remember, I'm from Africa and I'm more use to money going further). If you are on a tight budget, I would suggest giving this garden a miss - the reason you are in Sydney is to experience Australia and I think your 6 dollars would be better spent on going to a pub, such as the O Bar at Australian Square where you could see the whole of Sydney.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscaping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's worth the price of admission to get in... Especially if you have a nice camera. Even during the winter time, the grounds were very beautiful. The leaves on the trees were in fall colors (yellows and oranges).

I could see that this would be a great place to take wedding/engagement photos.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pika014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Sydney "Must-See"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wonderful Chinese garden and tea-room presented to the City of Sydney by the Chinese community in celebration of our Bi Centential in 1988.

The gardens are a tranquil and colourful retreat displaying all manner of exhibits and facts relating to Chinese spiritual culture and flora. Well designed around water features and falls.

The Tea-House offers light snacks and luncheon overlooking the main lake teaming with carp and bird life.

For Concession Holders, entry plus Jasmin Tea and 4 dumplings each is $8.00 - great deal in a simply lovely environment. For those who are not into Jasmin Tea and dumplings regular tea/coffee with scones are the alternative.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our spur of the moment decision to visit this place was well worth the $6 entry fee. Everywhere you looked there was something magical to discover, from the Koi to the waterfalls to the small paths leading to secret quiet places. There was always a moment to be captured on camera, when we went there was a shop that hired traditional costumes, which added to the experience. A great place to take kids, we would go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathleenGaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Garden of Friendship also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Chinese Garden of Friendship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing