We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to opera house” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Cook Cruises

Captain Cook Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.56*
and up
Sydney Harbour Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Cook Cruises Sydney Harbour has been operating for 42 years offering sightseeing, dining and overnight cruises. Showcasing the best views of Sydney Harbour is Captain Cook's specialty while offering a range of cruise options to suit any itinerary. Choose from the iconic Coffee Cruise with live commentary, a Seafood Buffet Lunch, Top Deck Lunch, Starlight Dinner, Captain's Club Dinner or Gold Dinner cruises. Captain Cook also offer the Harbour Highlights cruise and the 24 hour Hop On Hop Off Explorer cruise allowing you to experience more of Sydney Harbour. Special Events are always a specialty with front row seats for New Years Eve on Sydney Harbour assured when you cruise with Captain Cook Cruises.
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best way to opera house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The cruise was great, best way by far to see the Opera House. They really hyped up Watsons bay, which is a great location for walks and fish and chips, however it didn't live up to the hype.

We purchased the combo ticket for the cruise, bus and manly trip. On collecting the tickets, which are cheaper as a combo we were told they were valid for 28 days. We managed to do the cruise and bus in 24 hours. When we went back the next day to use the Manly ticket we couldn't and at that point the 28 days thing was forgotten about and we were out of luck as the ticket had to be used in 24 hours.

So think twice as it's probably more cost affective to get separate tickets unless you're really going to rush through every thing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaquesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear jaquesfamily,

Thank you for your recent review on the Hop On Hop Off cruise around Sydney Harbour. We were disappointed that you felt that Watsons Bay was not up to you expectations and that there was a communication breakdown relating to the validity of the tickets. The tickets are cheaper when bought together rather than individually and the joint tickets are valid for 48 hours – Hop on Hop off and Manly – 24 hours from the time you start and the bus ticket - 24 hours from the time your start. We were delighted to read that you found the cruise great overall.

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.


Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    471
    149
    106
    84
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
748 reviews
433 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“A lovely way to see the harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Captain Cook offers cruises that include the Sydney harbor and a brief stop at Darling Harbor. The Buffet lunch cruise offers lunch and depending on your selection, you are placed on one of three decks.This makes a large ship seem smaller and reduces any crowding. The cruise we took had a deck for asian food, a seafood deck and a barbecue deck. We had the seafood and it offered a variety of shelled seafoods, fish, seafood salads, shrimp etc. There was fresh fruits, pastries and cookies. Tea and coffee were included but wine, beer and soda was available for purchase. Everything was quite good and plentiful. After lunch we went to the top deck for the views and commentary. Cruising was very peaceful, the guide was informative and it made for a very pleasant time. Other cruise options exist for cocktails, breakfasts etc.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear larkenRidgefield_CT,

Thank you for your recent review of your Buffet Lunch on Sydney Harbour. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the views, commentary, selections of food on offer as well as the quality and quantity of the buffet. We do cater for all nationalities and agree that Sydney 2000 does offer a ranges of options for lunch. Thank you also for your recommendation as this is what all our staff and team strive to deliver for all our customers.

Once again thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.


Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I, as part of our five year anniversary celebrations, decided to go on the cocktail cruise offered by Captain Cook Cruises. The ship turned up right on time and after a few minutes the ship departed on it's journey. The cocktail cruise only last 1 and a half hours, but it feels a lot longer. You receive a cocktail after you have boarded and can choose whether to stay downstairs or go up on deck. You also receive a few complimentary nibbles. You can, however, ever pay extra and order addition food and beverages. I recommend going up on deck for the best views and so their is less noise around you. We got some amazing photos of the Harbour Bridge and the Opera house. I would definitely recommend Captain Cook Cruises if you want to get some happy snaps with you and your loved ones.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Grace P,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent Cocktail Cruise on Sydney Harbour with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the smooth boarding, the cocktail and nibbles as well as the views from the top deck. We agree that it is a fantastic place to take photos with your loved ones.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Coffee Cruise was brilliant. Sit on RHS on boat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Did Coffee Cruise this morning. Really enjoyed it. Great way to see Sydney Harbour - it takes 2 hours , we hadn't appreciated the size of the harbour. Lots of great views and opportunities for great photos. Sit on right hand side of the boat for the best photos as the cruise goes round the harbour in anti-clockwise direction. The commentary was very good , we had a really nice lady called Elizabeth who gave a very interesting and varied commentary. Got a mug of tea or coffee and a box with muffin, lamington and couple of biscuits - this was more than adequate for us, we didn't see it as a major part of the experience. Would definitely recomend the Coffee Cruise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Liz2299,

Thank you for your recent review of your Coffee Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the views, photo opportunities, the commentary and commentator onboard as well as the warm beverage and the snack box. That is a great tip about being on the right hand side of the boat. We agree that cruising for the 2 hours provides a great inside to Sydney Harbour.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful ship, but ok crew”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Got on the cocktails cruise on the 8th of February. The ship was beautiful and the boarding and disembarkation process was smooth.
Our only complaint was related to the crew. After we were shown to our table and given the complimentary cocktail and 2 plates of food platter, one staff (Tommy) approached our table and said that one food platter was supposed to be shared between the two of us. So he immediately grabbed our second plate and gave it to the table next to us instead, without asking if we were ok with that. We find this quite rude and inconsiderate to the other table, as we had already touched the food.
The ship photographer also avoided asking if we would like our photo taken, even though we noticed that he asked every other table.
Apart from that, the view from the deck was amazing. We gave the cruise 3 out of 5 stars overall.

Helpful?
Thank hadikaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear hadikaiman,

Thank you for your review on your recent Cocktail Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were delighted to hear that you found the ship beautiful and the boarding process smooth. We apologise about our waiter’s customer service and will follow up with our Hospitality Manager to ensure our new staff are fulfilling their correct customer service procedures. We agree the view from the deck is amazing.

Once again thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated.


Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cook Cruises also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Captain Cook Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing