We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner cruise great”

Captain Cook Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.48*
and up
Sydney Harbour Hop-on Hop-off Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Cook Cruises Sydney Harbour has been operating for 42 years offering sightseeing, dining and overnight cruises. Showcasing the best views of Sydney Harbour is Captain Cook's specialty while offering a range of cruise options to suit any itinerary. Choose from the iconic Coffee Cruise with live commentary, a Seafood Buffet Lunch, Top Deck Lunch, Starlight Dinner, Captain's Club Dinner or Gold Dinner cruises. Captain Cook also offer the Harbour Highlights cruise and the 24 hour Hop On Hop Off Explorer cruise allowing you to experience more of Sydney Harbour. Special Events are always a specialty with front row seats for New Years Eve on Sydney Harbour assured when you cruise with Captain Cook Cruises.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went on a corporate dinner cruise and found it great, the food was excellent having been worried about catering on board,but was well worth it I would love to go on a normal dinner cruise to experience a more relaxing trip

1  Thank JondebemPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear JondebemPort,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of your recent corporate dinner cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you found the food great and that we successfully exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again soon on another dinner cruise.
Thank you for your positive feedback It is appreciated.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dinner cruise"
in 239 reviews
"top deck"
in 172 reviews
"window seat"
in 112 reviews
"coffee cruise"
in 75 reviews
"long lunch"
in 46 reviews
"seafood buffet"
in 36 reviews
"sydney harbour"
in 286 reviews
"hop on hop"
in 105 reviews
"circular quay"
in 203 reviews
"high tea"
in 43 reviews
"drinks package"
in 29 reviews
"great cruise"
in 22 reviews
"taronga zoo"
in 82 reviews
"whale watching cruise"
in 20 reviews
"opera house"
in 141 reviews
"vivid cruise"
in 18 reviews
"vivid lights"
in 22 reviews
Filter

1,446 - 1,450 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

In a nutshell, this is a relaxed scenice cruise to let you unwind & chill after a strenuous hard day of traveling. The cruise I took was at the end of my Blue Mountains tour & operated from Blue Mountains downriver to either Darling Harbour or Circular Quay. It was courteously booked through Oztrails, whom I toured with at Blue Mountains. You get a nice view of the harbours mentioned above, Sydney Opera House and pass by under the bridge of Sydney Harbour Bridge. If you’re lucky, you get to see the exclusive sight of climbers scaling Sydney Harbour Bridge. The nice speed at which the cruise sails along the meandering river really lets you unwind and chill.

I suggest going up to the 2nd or 3rd floor of the deck when you board the cruise as it will allow you experience the amazing sights & open air as well as have some great phototaking opportunities. It defeats the purpose of a cruise if you were to stay cooped up inside below the deck behind glass windows.

Very good experience.

3  Thank sophianjamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear sophianjamil,

Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the cruise and found it so relaxing. We agree that it is one of the best ways to see the harbour and the main Sydney sights, especially from the open air levels. Thank you for your positive feedback It is appreciated.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food on this cruise was the best we had anywhere in Sydney and really made the night.

The website suggests that this is a incredibly classy event frequented by foreign dignitaries etc but I was pretty much the only person there not wearing jeans, it really isn't essential to dress how they say on the site.

We booked the gold meal which was great as we got to take in views from the deck before we set off. The priority boarding didn't actually happen though, we just had to scramble aboard with everyone else.

The service was really good but the waitress was really weirdly over enthusiastic about everything, it was a bit cringe worthy at times, nobody is that happy to bring you a coke.

Also the band were decent but the guitarist got in such a mess during the solo of Sultans of Swing they just stopped mid song and played something else.

A good event none the less and I would recommend it but manage your expectations accordingly.

1  Thank whittboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear whittboy,

Thank you for your review of your recent dinner cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the food so much and the views. We were disappointed to read that you did not receive your priority boarding, and that you found the positive attitude of the waitress not to your liking as well as the musicians mishap. We have taken the appropriate steps to ensure our staff are aware of of the importance of our Gold Dinner clients.Thank you for your feedback. It is appreciated in order for us to maintain our consistency of service.

Cheers
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I came into this with high expectations for some reason. I thought it'd be a romantic and classy cruise, however it was really not the case. We were way overdressed, my husband wearing dress pants and a dress shirt and I in a nice dress. 90% of the people had on jeans and a sweatshirt. The environment was very casual, no candles, no decor other than the white table cloths and stained chairs.
We were seated right away with a nice table by the window. Service was pretty slow at the beginning, but were offered champagne and wine. When we ordered non-alcoholic drinks they took forever. The service was fine throughout the night though.
The food was pretty good, not a large selection, but enough for different tastes.
The sunset was beautiful that night and we got some amazing pictures. Thankfully they didn't have somebody over the speaker, talking about the sites the entire night. The boat moves very slow, so you won't have to worry about sea sickness or rushing to get a picture.

Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Ashley F,

We were disappointed to read that the cruise did not meet your expectations. The sunset cruise is designed for all our clients and offers a set menu with inclusive drinks and cruises for 1 1/2 hours. Our other products are the Captains Club which departs at 7pm and offers a wider menu with entertainment and a longer cruise or the Gold Dinner. We are also currently refurbishing the whole ship and the first deck has been done with next two to follow in du course. We were glad to read that were seated promptly and well catered for drinks while your food was being prepared and that your service overall was fine. We were glad to read that you found the food good and we agree that the photo opportunities are fantastic.


Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This review is on behalf of my parents , my father booked the cruise on a different date than intended , it was an oversight , we realised on the date that the cruise was booked for 3 days ago ! 5 minutes on the phone and our genuine oversight was accommodated . The cruise itself was well organised and overall they thought it was better than the their previous cruise experience on Thames , seine .

Thank Mustangviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Mustangviper,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of your recent customer service experience with Captain Cook Cruises. Our staff strives to make a great experience for our customers and were happy to read they were able to accommodate your genuine oversight. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your cruise and that it topped your other experiences in the cruising industry. Thank you for your positive feedback It is appreciated.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cook Cruises also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Captain Cook Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing