We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch and cruise”

Captain Cook Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.59*
and up
Sydney Harbour Dinner Cruise
More Info
$68.79*
and up
Sydney Harbour Sunset Dinner Cruise
More Info
$63.94*
and up
Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Cook Cruises Sydney Harbour has been operating for 42 years offering sightseeing, dining and overnight cruises. Showcasing the best views of Sydney Harbour is Captain Cook's specialty while offering a range of cruise options to suit any itinerary. Choose from the iconic Coffee Cruise with live commentary, a Seafood Buffet Lunch, Top Deck Lunch, Starlight Dinner, Captain's Club Dinner or Gold Dinner cruises. Captain Cook also offer the Harbour Highlights cruise and the 24 hour Hop On Hop Off Explorer cruise allowing you to experience more of Sydney Harbour. Special Events are always a specialty with front row seats for New Years Eve on Sydney Harbour assured when you cruise with Captain Cook Cruises.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was such a lovely thing to do. First, get on the cruise at Kings station wharf. You will get on with maybe 10 other people, be seated first and get to eat before 40+ people board at Circular Quay. The lunch was buffet style and I thought it was very good. After lunch we went up top and took in the views. They were incredible and they narrate what you are seeing the entire time. We finished our lunch before most of the people did and went up top and almost had it to ourselves for awhile. I would highly recommend doing a crusie with Captain Cook on the Sydney harbour. It was a highlight of our trip.

Thank shell9163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear shell9163,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of your recent buffet lunch cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. The King Street Wharf departure does provide an alternative option that does suite some people more, and we are happy that the food and the views found great. We are glad you enjoyed the experience and found it a highlight of your vacation.

Cheers

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,708)
There are newer reviews for Captain Cook Cruises
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,328 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were fortunate enough to take this dinner cruise during Vivid Sydney and the whole experience was indescribable. Food was better than expected, though service was a bit slow. Dinner consisted of entrée choices (my wife and I both had the smoked trout with caviar... wonderful), main course (wide variety to choose from, including vegetarian... we had beef tenderloin and lamb shank... both done very well) and dessert. Little disappointed in the instant coffee instead of brewed, considering the cost for the excursion.

Entertainment was a huge surprise, with a very talented piano player accompanied by an equally talented singer. They made for a great combination. We would have stayed in all evening to listen, but the light of Vivid Sydney called us outside. This was a wonderful experience with all the buildings in Sydney Harbour painted in a variety of light shows on all the harbourside buildings.

Book a window seat, they cost slightly more, but are certainly worth it.

Thank Fish4Stripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Fish4Stripers,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of your Vivid Dinner cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We are glad you enjoyed the various dinner options and that it all exceeded your expectations. We now have Vittoria Coffee available on the cruise so next time please ask your waiter so we can give you that desired finish to your meal. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your onboard entertainment so much, and that it even distracted you from your fantastic view. We look forward to having you aboard next time, and are excited that we gave you such a memorable experience.

Once again many thanks.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We did the 3 hour vivid lights cruise last night. It was a great cruise, we paid the extra $50 to have a window seat and the food was served 15 minutes into the cruise. As there is an option to get up and takes your drinks outside after your meal, I would recommend to everyone to keep your $50 in your back pocket. Great views from outside and the upper deck.

2  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear RB,

Thanks so much for your positive review of your Vivid Cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the cruise and found the food and service great. Your comments are appreciated by all our crew and hospitality staff.

The views are spectacular and we recommend the window seat for those whom wish to remain seated and enjoy the view undisturbed. Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated.

Cheers
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If it is your first time or more to Sydney the best way to see it is on a Sydney Harbour Cruise. They depart and return to Circular Quay between the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. The coffee cruise we took was 2 hours and well worth the cost. It included tea, coffee and a food box with muffin, cookies, chocolate bar.

Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Garrat,

Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent coffee cruise with us on Sydney Harbour. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the day and found our coffee and cake box is well worth it too. Thank you for your positive feedback It is appreciated.

Cheers
Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked this expecting a nice relaxing cruise! We were wrong, along with people enjoying a quiet afternoon experience there was a drunk party right in the middle of the ship, they would not sit down, were shouting bar orders across to the bar and generally being loud and rude. Staff did nothing to stop this. As for the high tea it's self I've had better!! The staff weren't even sure what was in the sandwich (1 between 2 people). It actually contained goats cheese which I can not eat, at first the staff said it was feta, before going to check as in her words 'I made that up' also we stopped at a dock for staff to bring aboard dirty bins and set up for the evening service, completely ignoring their current customers!! If you want afternoon tea go somewhere else, if you want a cruise choose a cheaper one!! We also paid extra for a window view, not that we could see out of it, from the bird poop and water stained, then everyone got upgraded so it was a waste of money!! Might as well have a middle seat, eat, then go up deck and look at the views! Save your money and do something better!!

2  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Liz W

We were disappointed that the cruise did not meet your expectations. We have debriefed the Cruise Director who was aware of the group who had stayed on from our lunch cruise and his report was that they were not overly loud at all. Our staff member did make an error with the cheese but immediately went to ask a senior staff to confirm – which she did. The cruise does make a short stop at King Street Wharf to let passengers off and to replenish services for cruises later that day. At times with the boat being out all day the windows might be a unclear depending on the weather. We offer guaranteed window seats as not always are free upgrades available.. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Cheers
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cook Cruises also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Captain Cook Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing