We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Another Cruise”

Captain Cook Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.40*
and up
Sydney Harbour Dinner Cruise
More Info
$68.56*
and up
Sydney Harbour Sunset Dinner Cruise
More Info
$65.48*
and up
Sydney Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Harbor Cruise and Hop-On Hop-Off City Bus Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Cook Cruises Sydney Harbour has been operating for 42 years offering sightseeing, dining and overnight cruises. Showcasing the best views of Sydney Harbour is Captain Cook's specialty while offering a range of cruise options to suit any itinerary. Choose from the iconic Coffee Cruise with live commentary, a Seafood Buffet Lunch, Top Deck Lunch, Starlight Dinner, Captain's Club Dinner or Gold Dinner cruises. Captain Cook also offer the Harbour Highlights cruise and the 24 hour Hop On Hop Off Explorer cruise allowing you to experience more of Sydney Harbour. Special Events are always a specialty with front row seats for New Years Eve on Sydney Harbour assured when you cruise with Captain Cook Cruises.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A mode of transportation around the harbour and the tourist spot circulating the harbour. A good breeze though and if you go under the Harbour Bridge, there is good view as well.

1  Thank LizzLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,412 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We pre booked and paid for a morning tea cruise but had to line up anyway to swap online confirmation print out for tickets. The boat was on time, staff were friendly. Commentary was informative. Morning tea was generous!! A great trip which we thoroughly enjoyed!

Thank cynthia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I opted to do the sunset dinner cruise aboard the Sydney 2000, which is a 1.5 hour tour served with a full dinner/drinks. Booking this tour was very easy over the internet, and our tickets were ready for us at the wharf upon arrival. The boat arrived on time and was boarded very quickly. The staff were extremely well organized and we were seated within 3 minutes of actually boarding the ship. We opted to pay a bit extra for the window seat, which was definitely worth it, as the seats in the middle don't really allow for great views. The boat itself is very nice - 2 decks of seating inside (we sat on the top), and 3 decks of outside viewing. The tables are a bit close together but that's expected as this is a popular cruise and they are trying to fit as many people as possible in. The boat left promptly at the scheduled departure time and we were on our way. Prior to the appetizer, we were served champagne and bread was brought to the table. The servers were very polite with quick service. With this cruise, you are served an appetizer, a main dish (choice out of 3), and dessert (choice out of 2). In addition, champagne, red, or white wine is served with the meal, and coffee or tea is served with dessert. The food was quite good overall. The cruise itself was very pretty and the boat doesn't go too fast so you are able to fully take in all the sites. Sunset is the perfect time to go as you can still see everything in the harbor, but you also get beautiful views of the sky. There is a photographer that comes around to take your photo while passing the Opera House, which is kind of cheesy, but we ended up purchasing this picture as a little reminder of the evening because we had a great time. The boat docked back at the wharf on time so we were able to go enjoy the rest of evening. Overall, a good experience and would recommend this for people wishing to see the harbor and enjoy a nice meal at the same time.

Thank ShaylaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were given a High Tea at Sea cruise voucher as an engagement gift. We were looking forward to sitting back and enjoying an afternoon on Sydney's gorgeous harbour but unfortunately it wasn't to be.

~ The Service ~
We arrived in good time to pick up our tickets and were simply given vague instructions where to wait. After about half an hour of standing in a queue, people started asking one another which cruise they were waiting for; it seems there were 3 separate cruises with a lot of confused people waiting to board and very little instructions. A large boat arrives and everyone surges forward to finally have a voice come over the PA system advising it was time for the Whatever It Was Cruise (i.e. not ours). Another queue and another boat only to find out it was for the other cruise we weren’t on. Seriously a couple of signs or customer service people directing people wouldn't have been a bad idea. We’re from Sydney so this was simply meant to be a joyride but it was a little embarrassing considering the international visitors who probably were visiting for the first time.

Finally our boat arrived (later than the scheduled boarding time) and again no customer service personnel giving any directions or help. They took so long to get everyone on the boat that another boat was coming in to dock and so they started hurrying everyone on but due to no directions or sense of organisation we were all standing on 3 flights of stairs when the boat started moving to get out of the way… Eventually we get to the top and finally get assigned a table and more encouragingly a glass of champagne. So finally we’re all up and seated and then we wait… and wait… and wait. The glass of champagne was well gone and I was about ready to chew my leg off at this point (having not had lunch) when finally a waitress comes over and in a loud voice asks if I’m ok? Not quite the usual way I get asked for my order when going out to eat... We asked for another glass of champagne and before I could even say thank you I was promptly told that was $10 per glass which was expected to be paid immediately if I was to actually expect for it to come out. She then took everyone’s tea orders which took forever. They should have asked us when we were all waiting on the stairs!!

~ The Food ~
About another 30 minutes later our food arrived. Thankfully after such a long wait although it wasn't fantastic it was enjoyable although we noticed that our table of 2 got the exact same amount of food as the table for 1 and a table of 4… A good 10-15 minutes later the tea slooooowly started coming out.

~ The Cruise ~
The boat left Circular Quay and turned right heading towards Watsons Bay. Shortly after Rose Bay we crossed the harbour towards Taronga Zoo and then headed back towards the Bridge. The cruise around the harbour was nice enough – it was a nice day and Sydney Harbour is gorgeous which is why it was even more bizarre that we then turned into Darling Harbour and docked there for at least 20 minutes after which we headed back to Circular Quay!!

~ Top Tip ~
If you're a tourist coming to Sydney for the first time I wouldn't choose this tour. Rather do a highlights tour as there's at least some commentary telling you about the harbour. Alternatively catch one of the old Sydney ferries full of character to Manly which will be a historic experience at least.

These cruises get run twice a week so you’d have to think this wasn’t their first time running it, so the fact that the service was so bad and the level of disorganisation was so high, means complete disinterest in customer service which is very disappointing. Some training in customer service from ticket sales to onboard staff is in order.

Whilst it wasn’t a completely terrible way to spend an afternoon we were very glad we hadn’t paid for it ourselves and felt very sorry for the paying and international guests.

15  Thank chucklingstarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

$60 for breakfast - really? Okay, I understand we are getting a cruise as well, but after short lap of the harbour and a mediocre (luke warm) breakfast...one could only feel like they'd been taken for a ride...pardon the pun!
Apart from the cost, I would like to give feedback on the cruise itself. We had been hoping for a nice relaxing Sunday morning breakfast, maybe accompanied with gentle music as we sailed around the harbour...unfortunately this was not the case, and as much as I hate to be negative, the cruise director, as welcoming and pleasant as he was, ruined the whole experience by drowning us all with useless facts about the harbour. Even at half the volume (yes this was electronically enhanced!) this would have still been unbearable - and apparently this was his short version. We tried to escape near the end, but unfortunately the audio was being transmitted throughout every cabin!
Overall, breakfast poor - maybe go a la carte when you dont have many customers, and please please please, turn the music up and the commentary down...came away with quite a headache.

Thank Stephen_Booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Director of Sales at Captain Cook Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Stephen_Booth,

Thank you for your feedback relating to our breakfast cruise.

We were disappointed that the cruise did not meet your expectations. Being relatively priced at $59 pp, we believe this does represent good value. Our cruise directors are chosen for their professional approach and we again are sorry that they did meet your expectations, as they do provide facts and figures for all our tourists that we have on board.

We do pride ourselves on providing hot food and we will ensure that our guidelines are adhered too.

Once gain thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Richard Doyle
Head of Sales and Marketing
Captain Cook Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Cook Cruises also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Captain Cook Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing