We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food and nice rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay here. We had a room on the top floor which was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We requested a twin room, but were given a triple, which may account for the extra space. Yes, we had to walk up several flights of stairs with our bags but this probably did us good. Staff offered to carry our bags for us, but we felt we needed the exercise more than them! We ate in the bar a couple of times and had complimentary breakfast in the brasserie. The bar menu choices were limited, but each meal we had was of a very high standard. Bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and provided quick and pleasant service. The lady in the office went out of her way to assist us with flight check ins and boarding passes, which was very much appreciated. Great location, easy walking distance to attractions and CBD. If you want to stay in the Rocks area, this is the place as it is very reasonably priced and I could not fault the service nor the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorputrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 555 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The Lord Nelson is the best pub in Sydney. Great location at the top of the Rocks. Superb craft beer brewed on the premises, tasty bar food and friendly, efficient and charming staff. It is however, not very Australian. Visitors looking for the authentic Aussie pub experience would be better off elsewhere, to sample the genuine ice cold tasteless beer, chook raffle, bleeping and beeping poker machines, blaring sport on the widescreen telly and six varieties of chicken Parma. By contrast, The Lord Nelson is a Sydney sandstone gem, where the order of the day is great conversation and a fantastic atmosphere. It feels like a pub in Kent, rather than Kent street, indeed it's the epitome of what a pub should be.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank squonkMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Out of respect to my husband, I am only giving this wonderful hotel and pub 4 stars. He chastised me for booking a hotel where he had to lug 50 pound suitcases up 4 flights of stairs - he is not enough of a beer drinker for The Lord's offerings to ameliorate his pain. I am chastened.
That said, the room was smallish but quite comfortable. And quiet. The breakfast was serviceable and served in the bistro restaurant located on the second floor. The highlight of the stay was coming down to the pub itself, it is so very attractive and the beers are excellent.
If you are going on or coming off a 2 week cruise, and have a couple of 50 lb. bags, don't book this hotel. Or have a husband who likes a really, really good weightlifting workout.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a stopover on the way to PNG. The location of the hotel is excellent and within walking distance of the harbour. The staff were very helpful, the room was adequate for what I needed and also included breakfast. I shared a bathroom, the room was small but great for a solo traveller. If you stay at this hotel make sure you do not have to leave too early or you miss breakfast and there is no one available after the bar closes. The bar was fabulous and the fish and chips at the bar some of the best I have ever had. I would recommend this hotel and if ever back in Sydney would definitely come back for the fish and chips!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel, good breakfasts, great room, awesome location. We arrived on Australia day, I was a little concerned about the noise from the bar. Our room was on the top floor and we couldn't hear anything from it, just the street outside. We did try some of the home brew, definitly worth a try. That's all I think I need to say. No elevator in hotel, just in case you have lots of luggage, or aren't too good at climbing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTour2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Unfortunately for us we only got to stay one night at this fabulous hotel! This is the best placed we have stayed in Sydney & we have stayed at a lot of 4 & 5 stars. The staff were second to none, the room was so comfortable & clean & the attention to detail is superb. A hidden treasure that we will be returning to again & again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JAS4465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in Room 304 over the Australia Day long weekend and really enjoyed being in this historic hotel. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated with a good king-sized bed. Old buildings always have quirks, in this case, the TV was placed rather nonsensically, and as others have mentioned, there's no lift so the hike up the stairs at the end of the day was a bit of a struggle for tired legs! The bathroom was nicely appointed with a huge bath but, be warned ladies, no hairdryer! At breakfast I noticed a couple of other girls with wet hair like mine, so I wasn't the only one caught out. A bonus was having breakfast included in the room price. It was simple and good: cereal, toast, fruit, coffee and juice. We also ate downstairs in the bar a couple of times and found the food to be well priced, fresh and tasty, and of course, there's a great range of beers to taste. It's best to remember that this isn't a Hyatt or Hilton, so you wont find the usual dedicated reception and guest services you might expect from a large hotel. That said, all of the staff we encountered were absolutely friendly and helpful so it really didn't matter. Overall, this is a great place to stay to experience the unique atmosphere of The Rocks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#48 of 181 in Sydney
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
1,333 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $100 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing