We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #2 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Out of respect to my husband, I am only giving this wonderful hotel and pub 4 stars. He chastised me for booking a hotel where he had to lug 50 pound suitcases up 4 flights of stairs - he is not enough of a beer drinker for The Lord's offerings to ameliorate his pain. I am chastened.
That said, the room was smallish but quite comfortable. And quiet. The breakfast was serviceable and served in the bistro restaurant located on the second floor. The highlight of the stay was coming down to the pub itself, it is so very attractive and the beers are excellent.
If you are going on or coming off a 2 week cruise, and have a couple of 50 lb. bags, don't book this hotel. Or have a husband who likes a really, really good weightlifting workout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    190
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
284
40
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a stopover on the way to PNG. The location of the hotel is excellent and within walking distance of the harbour. The staff were very helpful, the room was adequate for what I needed and also included breakfast. I shared a bathroom, the room was small but great for a solo traveller. If you stay at this hotel make sure you do not have to leave too early or you miss breakfast and there is no one available after the bar closes. The bar was fabulous and the fish and chips at the bar some of the best I have ever had. I would recommend this hotel and if ever back in Sydney would definitely come back for the fish and chips!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel, good breakfasts, great room, awesome location. We arrived on Australia day, I was a little concerned about the noise from the bar. Our room was on the top floor and we couldn't hear anything from it, just the street outside. We did try some of the home brew, definitly worth a try. That's all I think I need to say. No elevator in hotel, just in case you have lots of luggage, or aren't too good at climbing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZTour2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately for us we only got to stay one night at this fabulous hotel! This is the best placed we have stayed in Sydney & we have stayed at a lot of 4 & 5 stars. The staff were second to none, the room was so comfortable & clean & the attention to detail is superb. A hidden treasure that we will be returning to again & again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAS4465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in Room 304 over the Australia Day long weekend and really enjoyed being in this historic hotel. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated with a good king-sized bed. Old buildings always have quirks, in this case, the TV was placed rather nonsensically, and as others have mentioned, there's no lift so the hike up the stairs at the end of the day was a bit of a struggle for tired legs! The bathroom was nicely appointed with a huge bath but, be warned ladies, no hairdryer! At breakfast I noticed a couple of other girls with wet hair like mine, so I wasn't the only one caught out. A bonus was having breakfast included in the room price. It was simple and good: cereal, toast, fruit, coffee and juice. We also ate downstairs in the bar a couple of times and found the food to be well priced, fresh and tasty, and of course, there's a great range of beers to taste. It's best to remember that this isn't a Hyatt or Hilton, so you wont find the usual dedicated reception and guest services you might expect from a large hotel. That said, all of the staff we encountered were absolutely friendly and helpful so it really didn't matter. Overall, this is a great place to stay to experience the unique atmosphere of The Rocks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed 1 hight in a room with en suite bath. Room was large and spacious with a table. The pub downstairs was great fun and breakfast in the morning was delicious. Location was perfect for walking around the Rocks, the Quay and the Habour Bridge. Also, if you are going out on a cruise from Bangaroo Docks you are walking distance. (One caveat...you will need to go down a flight of outdoor public stairs and walk about the equivalent of 4 U.S.A. size city blocks. If you travel light and are in decent physical shape then you shouldn't have any problems.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a fun hotel in a fun city. As you can tell from the reviews, rooms vary in size, design and location away from noise and activity. I believe we stayed in 302 (on the 4th floor) which was large, lovely and quiet. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was very clean, shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. Breakfasts were served in a sun filled dining area with current newspapers. Pub is lively with good food and an excellent selection of beers - a pleasant place to end the day. Great location with easy and pleasant walks to most major attractions. We stayed two nights in December.

Room Tip: The 4th floor was quiet and had interesting if smaller windows but lacked the rough stone walls of t...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jetmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 179 in Sydney
2,363 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 179 in Sydney
908 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Property: The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing