We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply and sincerely charming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #3 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
308 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Simply and sincerely charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews of The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel, I booked a room with ensuite over a year in advance. It would be the second Sydney hotel we stayed at during our vacation and I wanted to try someplace unique and fun, without sacrificing cleanliness and comfort.

From some of the reviewers' photos, I wasn't quite sure what I'd find, but I was pleasantly surprised. The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel not only met my expectations regarding cleanliness and comfort, but I found the entire establishment and experience sincerely charming.

We stayed in Room 304 on the hotel's top floor. It was a corner room with a view of the city, including the Sydney Observatory, Sydney Tower and Darling Harbour. A skylight provided extra natural light and the decor was simple, but tasteful. As a bonus, there were convenient amenities, such as a minifridge, electric kettle, a selection of teas, in-room safe, fax machine, and an iron and ironing board. We found the room comfortably spacious for two people (and their luggage).

The bathroom was very clean and nice, with granite countertop, space for toiletries, and more natural light through a frosted window overlooking a courtyard (though the window latch needed fixing to stay latched). The tub/shower was very high-walled and raised, so one needs to be careful exiting -- it's quite an unexpected drop and I almost fell!

The complimentary breakfast, served in a designated area of the brasserie, is better than the average continental breakfast. While there is a limited menu of cereal, toast, fruit, juice, coffee and/or tea, guests may order (for a charge) a cooked breakfast. What makes even their complimentary breakfast better is that you have friendly table service for your fruit, your choice of toast and topping, and hot beverage order. Because of this extra attention, I got to try Vegemite (hey, I'm a tourist!) and a "flat white;" one of these was much better than the other... All told, the breakfast can be as filling or light as you choose.

What makes The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel unique and fun is the historic pub, of course! A smaller English-style pub, the bar is lively and oftentimes crowded, yet it closes at 11 p.m. so noise wasn't a problem during our stay. Our first night we snagged a table and enjoyed our meal so much that we dined there a total of four times during our three-night stay! (We highly recommend the beef pie and the steak sandwich.) Additionally, the bar brews their own beer, so you have your choice of five mainstays and one seasonal brew.

The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel wound up being the favorite of all the lodgings we experienced while in Australia. It exceeded expectations on every level, without a trace of pretention.

I will note, however, that this establishment is better suited for the independent traveller -- and one that can go up and down the stairs WITH their luggage since there is no lift/elevator. The bar is on the ground (1st) level, the brasserie is on the 1st (2nd) floor, reception is on the 2nd (3rd) floor and rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors (3rd and 4th). If you expect the Ritz, you will be disappointed. If it's comfort and charm in a convenient, yet quieter location in The Rocks, then The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel will fit the bill.

And speaking of the bill... a special note about their customer service. A couple of days after returning home, I noticed the charge posted to my credit card was charged for twice the amount authorized. I immediately emailed and phoned The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel. As it was Saturday there, the person who could help me was out of the office until Monday. On Monday, I received an email reply, requesting additional details about the charge; on their end it appeared the charge was accurate. The correspondence was friendly and within two days the overcharge was refunded. I appreciated how easily this one important snag was handled, without additional aggravation.

The next time I visit Sydney, I will DEFINTELY try to stay at The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to secure a room with ensuite (private bathroom).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kris_K_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    180
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
271
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this old hotel. Our room with ensuite was spacious enough and comfortable although it was not very well lit, another couple of lamps would have been good. Be aware you have to climb stairs to your room, we were on the third floor and so had 3 flights to go up and down.The bar was brilliant, always full of customers and the staff were pleasant. We had an evening meal at the bar, service and food was prompt. Great selection of beers.
The best location for accessing the CBD, 10 minutes stroll to Circular Quay. Food at the Rocks restaurant just across the street was fabulous and the little sandwich bar across the street was perfect for a quick lunch. Would stay here again and would recommend but would always get a room with ensuite.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has what you want, we asked for one with ensuite. Some rooms looked quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louieathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent five days here after a cruise around New Zealand. We were very pleased with the location to the central business district and bus line. The staff were very accomodating. We enjoyed a filling continental breakfast each morning, which was included in the room price. They have free internet, but the service is sporadic, especially in the evening. The English atmosphere was really appealing in the Pub, which was the first floor. We were there on St. Paddy's Day, but were not disturbed late at night by the partying. It was a great choice for our very first visit to Sydney.

Room Tip: There is no elevator (lift), so if stairs are an issue, request the second floor. You will only wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfmOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My partner and I chose to stay at the Lord Nelson as it was close to the Opera House where we were going to see a show. The hotel has two options on rooms, we opted for one with a bathroom. The room itself was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bar downstairs has great atmosphere and the beer is delicious. The complimentary breakfast was ok. I would recommend this hotel if you wanted something close to Circular Quay/The Rocks, otherwise it would be too much of a hike to the city centre. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expatozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

History and the stone work make this a worthwhile visit-and the beer is nice and cold as well. W also dinned which was above average.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lord Nelson for three days in late February, 2012, and we really enjoyed our stay there. Our room was an en suite, and it was large and clean. Employees were courteous and friendly, and the continental breakfast which was included with our room stay was large and more than adequate. Having a brewpub on the ground floor was more of a bonus than a detriment, as well;) We would stay again and would recommend it to anyone else interested in staying in a pleasant hotel within easy walking distance from the bay, the opera house, city parks, museums, restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: There are only nine rooms available. We chose an en suite room, as we are not comfortable sharing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob2335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hotel is well located just a short walk to the Rocks on the opposite side of the Harbour Bridge. Location is just a 20 minute walk or so down Kent St to Darling Harbour. Good restaurant inside the hotel or just down the block or many within a 10 minute walk to the Rocks! Continental breakfast was nice with coffee/tea, cereals, yogurt, fruit plate, toast & jams. Our room was Very Small. I mean Very Small. Apparently there's 2 rooms with shared ensuite (that wasn't a problem) but we had the smallest room of the 2 rooms without an ensuite. Realistically, our room is not meant for a couple adults. So, I would recommend choosing a room with an ensuite. The room was quiet as the bar closes at 11pm. Lot's of taxis come past so no need to call for one. Close to Circular Quay, Opera House, downtown and the ferries. We did manage to get free wifi. Overall, a good experience except for our "shoebox" size room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Property: The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing