We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect place in "The Rocks"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #2 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect place in "The Rocks"”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel proved to be an ideal place for us to spend Dec. 23rd and Christmas Eve. 2011. It is located in the historic "Rocks" of Sydney, AU., and is within walking distance of Circular Quay, Darling Harbor, Chinatown, and most of the CBD. Registration takes place on the second floor where the restaurant is also located. The rooms are up yet another two levels.
Our four bags were generously toted up the stairs (there is no lift) by two very willing young lads. We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfasts both mornings. A cooked breakfast was available for purchase as well. On Christmas morning we were offered a complimentary glass of champagne, but since we were facing a long flight to Los Angeles, we declined.
Our second story room was charming and comfortable, with exposed rock walls and shuttered windows that looked out over the street. There was a small refrigerator to keep our wine cool. We thoroughly enjoyed the pub on the street level, all though it was difficult to have a private conversation due to the volume of the general conversations of the wall to wall crowd of patrons. The staff in general was very friendly and most accommodating. We were a bit surprised at the price of two pints of their beer ($17.80 au), but it was conveniently added to our hotel bill. Since the Lord Nelson is located in a residential area, the pub closes around 11 pm. so getting to sleep in the rooms is not a problem.
We would highly recommend the Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel as a good alternative to the high priced high rise hotels in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200's are most desirable. Be prepared to share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacksandedd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    187
    43
    8
    3
See reviews for
59
281
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights in total. Good location, 10 minutes walk to circular quay. As someone else said, if you dont like stairs dont stay here as the en suite rooms are on the 3rd floor. Breakfast is basic but filling, and all you need - cooked breakfast available if you wish.
Pub downstairs always busy day and night, but closes around 10.30/11 so no issue with noise, and the pub is located in a residential area.
Small things could improve it, like putting some bottled water in the rooms.
Ordering food/drink had to be paid for at the bar, whether you were a hotel guest or not.
Also was quite windy when we were there and as it is an older building the windows tended to rattle and be quite noisy at night, also the wooden blinds work to a point, but still expect the sun to wake you bright and early in the morning - for those who like to lie in.
Staff friendly and helpful when asked.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroAsiaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I wanted to stay near or in the Rocks without staying at a traditional high rise hotel and this was the perfect answer. I reserved two rooms for four nights at the start of what is their summer holiday. The pub was packed every night, had a great atmosphere and a wonderful staff. We ate two dinners there - one night was $7 pie night and was the best meal for the price we had in Sydney. It was simply fun to watch all the locals and listen to the banter.

It is not a traditional hotel or B&B so don't expect it. The women who checked us in was wonderful and made us feel very welcome. While there are no lifts, they had a young man run all our bags up the stairs and he even made us feel like he was happy to do it. The wait staff that served the breakfast the first morning we were there was sweet but the last two days it was a different person and she was a grump. I felt like she was put out to serve us.

By way of rooms, I would suggest asking for a room in the 200's. The rooms we had was on the second floor was gorgeous. It was huge, had three big windows that looked out onto the street and had classic exposed stone walls. The other room was small, on the top floor, in the back, had low sloped ceilings, no exposed stone and a tiny window that let in almost no light. It was well decorated and had a great bed but it missed the comfort and charm I was hoping for.

I would highly recommend the Lord Nelson. It was simply a fun place to stay, a GREAT location and in an expensive city a very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Don't choose this hotel if you don't like stairs, as there is no lift. However, on all other counts, I'd highly recommend it. The location is excellent, in walking distance of ferries at Central Quay and all the restaurants and bars at Darling Harbour.The room is small but comfortable, with much more character than chain hotels and the breakfast is good. Staff are friendly and helpful. We were worried about noise from the bar, but didn't hear it at all. We didn't eat in the restaurant on the first floor, but it looked good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centipede100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We thought this historic hotel was as much fun as anything we did on our entire trip. First, the "not so good": our room was very small and up three flights of stairs with no "lift". Everything else was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful in the office, the pub and the breakfast area. Location could not have been much more convenient to Sydney harbor.

Room Tip: Stairs get very steep by the end of your stay so lower floors are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Lets start by saying this is not an Hotel but a Pub that does Bed & Breakfast. non the less it operates to a high standard, the price including breakfast was less than any hotel I looked at in the area. The stairs to our room on the top floor got steeper each time i went up!!. We were able to leave our bags well before check in time and again after check out till we were ready to go to the Airport late afternoon. Our room was clean and well presented with a nice ensuite. The aircon that other reviewers mention was audible but not an issue. Breakfast was sufficent and well presented.A place of uique and real charm unlike chain hotels. It is in the heart of The Rocks district close to the Harbour Bridge. 15 mins walk in either direction will take you to Darling Harbour or Circular Quay and the ferries or train. A Bus leaves from accross the road that will take you to Circular Quay or Central Station and the CBD. The only down point is that at the end of a day of sightseeing and an evening of partying its uphill whichever way you approach, and then the stairs again!! so its neccesary to stop in the bar for a rest before that last climb.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel mainly from the Lonely Planet and TripAdvisor reviews, and also because we are huge beer fans. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a lovely B&B with small, cozy but comfortable rooms. The included breakfast was fantastic. The lovely young waitresses and the knowledgeable staff and bartenders were charming and friendly. And did I mention the beer? Fantastic! Would have loved to stay here for a few more days. If you're worried about any noise from the pub, it's not a concern. The bar closes promptly at 11pm (or earlier if the crowd has left), and there are two floors separating the bar and the hotel rooms.

Those with mobility issues -- or lots of baggage -- should be aware that this hotel is a walk-up, and some rooms are located on the third floor (for Americans, that means the fourth floor).

We highly recommend the Lord Nelson and would definitely come back here next time we are in Sydney!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoCrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Property: The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing