We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Ranked #32 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Stayed at the Jolly for 6 days in March, a pretty nice hostel with a nice crew and kitchen facilities. Our room (a private double) was very clean as were the communal bathroom/showers.
Only issue is the location. Kings Cross itself isn't the best of areas, but at night I don't recommend women be out by themselves.
That said, the Swagman itself was a great stay in Sydney!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ducay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 356 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

Helpful and friendly, typical of Australians it seems! Could have used more vacuuming, and maybe wash the blankets sometime?

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kerkyrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

I stayed in Jolly Swagman hostel for one night in Jan 2008. It was full of fun and the kitchen is very functional. It is close to the center of King Cross and there are almost everything that a tourist needs. 5 min to Coles supermarket. 2 min to post office. There's a particularly good fruit shop beside the post office.

My double room was located in 2nd floor. It was a bit noizy in the night as the volume of 1st floor's TV is a bit high and the window of the first floor are opened. The room is a bit hot because the fridge inside the room is a bit powerful. We can only sleep until we switch it off.

The male toilet of my floor is not as clean as I expect and the kitchen in ground floor is not really clean also. We would need to pick a *almost* clean knife and fork and wash it carefully before use. Ppl do not always clean utensil after usage and the basin is usually stacked with un-washed utensils. There's no air-con in the room.

Another possible drawback for some ppl is that it is a bit far from the city center. To travel to city center, a train or bus is usually required if u don't hire a car. Nevertheless it is close to the Botanic Garden and Sydney Harbour view is available overthere.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dddolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Best hostel I have stayed at! The moment I walked into the hostel I knew I made the right choice!!! I was greeted by friendly, cheerful and very helpful staff. They have an activity for every day of the week (my favorites are beer and pizza night and poker night!!!) I enjoyed my stay so much that I have told everyone I have met that when they get to Sydney they must stay at the Jolly Swagmans! I will be going back again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank -3savangel3-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
blackpool, england
13
Reviewed July 9, 2006

i thought it was a fantastic hostel - the staff we great and could answer any question i had for them. unlike the review above, i found the cleaning schedule very strict - infact i would have liked them to clean LESS, they kept having to apologise for waking me to get the room cleaned for new arrivals. breakfast good, and free airport shuttle (with a crazy russian guy) a plus. i would recomend the area and the hostel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

nice location on a quiet side street in kings cross. rooms however are only cleaned monday, wednesday & friday - i arrived on a sunday and the room was filthy. showers and kitchen facilities ok. staff friendly & helpful.

Stayed: February 2006
2  Thank sunstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#20 of 149 in Sydney
238 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#26 of 149 in Sydney
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Star Backpackers
#83 of 149 in Sydney
81 reviews
Surry Hills
Hyde Park Backpackers
Hyde Park Backpackers
#18 of 149 in Sydney
142 reviews
Zing Backpackers
#38 of 149 in Sydney
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Swagman Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Address: 27 Orwell St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $30 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jolly Swagman Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering FREE Internet, FREE Breakfast and FREE airport pickup (conditions apply) and located in the heart of Sydney's Backpacker Mecca - Kings Cross - the Jolly Swagman Backpackers Hostel is open 24 hours and it has been the heart and soul of the Australian Backpacker world for over 15 years. We have become famous for giving backpackers the time of their lives. On our doorstep are breathtaking, scenic views of the city skyline, the spectacular Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, all just minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jolly Swagman Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Swagman Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing