We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
Review of Sydney Central YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sydney Central YHA
Ranked #11 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed twice in May 2013. We've stayed before so know what to expect. We usually get a private ensuite with double bed and bathroom which works very well for us. The beds aren't very comfortable but the rooms are always clean and tidy. Showers are very good. Staff is always wonderful, friendly and helpful. Only issue is lack of air movement in the rooms. I now always carry a small battery operated fan which helps a great deal.
The location couldn't be better for the cost. We were able to walk everywhere yet bus stop in less than a block away if needed. It's a perfect location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing George St. side seem a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary_Oregon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 723 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at this YHA many times. It is amazing. Has everything a major backpackers stay needs,local info,good,clean room. Rooms range from dorm. to doubles,to single with shared bathroom,single with shard bathroom. Keyed access. Pool,lockers.Travel guides,info galore.It is bang in the middlle of Sydney.Trains next door(can't hear them),families,single,groups.China-town 2 minutes away.Buses,and tour buss on-call.Friendly, helpful staff,lockers available.Buss to and rom Airport on the hour. Buses to and from major sites. TV lounge,restaurant/coffee shop. TV,theatre. Bars next door,and all around. The best in-city accomodation available. I stay frequently when in Sydney. My next trip, I will do The Bridge Climb(Syd.Harbour Bridge),have been wanting to for ages.Get back to me if I am wrong!

Room Tip: I am a solo,female traveler, so prefer single room, with bathroom. But have staye with single room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel was of good quality but nothing special stood out for me. Overall, I think I was much more than looking to go out and visit then returning to the hotel. I gave the rating very good because the staff were friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good:

- Location, opposite train station which is 10-15min from the airport ($16)
- Great kitchen, good size lounge room
- swimming pool (tiny but still)
- sauna

Bad
- I stayed in 4 bed dorm for 5 nights and there were more than 4 people staying in the room every night. One night I came and the guy was sleeping on my bed!! Cleaners seems to ignore this fact and i changed the bed after first night as there was a couple sleeping on the top bunk bed (not really safe!!)
- Cards dont work all the time

Room Tip: - Good size rooms - Great location opposite Central station - Balcony - swimming pool is note re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarolaVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Central YHA, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi KarolaVicky. Thanks for your review of Sydney Central YHA. We are sorry that you had some issues with the visit - in particular the extra person brought into the room by another guest, which is very inconsiderate. This hostel has a 24 hour reception, so we really urge people to always come and report when this happens. The management will then take prompt action. Housekeeping can not always assess if there are extra people trying to stay in a room but the manager is discussing this incident with them.
Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon at another YHA hostel in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Location is good. 5-10 mins walk away from Chinatown and Paddy's Market. But other than that, I wouldn't recommend. Even though the entrance of the building is secured at night and you'll need access card to enter, outsiders not staying in the property still managed to enter at night. There's a bar at the corner of the building in the basement, so the crowd might get a little rowdy at night. I stayed at level 6 and can still heard the music coming from below late at night. Attitude of staff wasn't really good. No place for groups to keep their luggages before check out. You'll just have to leave it in the room and go get it after breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ang_ningsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Location of the YHA Sydney Central is good, closely located to the Central Railwaystation it is easy to get around the city. Furthermore it is on walking distance from Paddy's Market, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Busses drive to Town Hall & Cirqular Quay. So in terms of getting around a decent place to be at. The bar named Scubar located underneath the hostel is getting loose pretty hard! People get smashed and it's a typical backpackersbar - probably the biggest in Sydney!

Service is good, but beds & rooms are very standard. Price is reasonbly high, but I guess that is Sydney. Average quality for a high price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

location is good, very close to transport and bars. the room are not as modern as some other yha's. there were enough plugs in the room for everybody. it has a good socialising area and a pool up stairs. the water in the pool was dirty though and a friend came out in a rash after using it.
myself and friend found some of the staff very unfriendly and quiet rude esp the night guy. i know it cannot be fun dealing with tipsy travelers all night, but if u dont like your job dont do it, there is no need to be rude.

Room Tip: the yha sydney harbour is better and cleaner, with nicer staff . go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesskatebrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Sydney Central YHA, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Jesskatebrum
Thanks for your review of Sydney Central YHA. You'll be glad to hear that since you stayed in February, our pool has had a complete revamp - it looks completely new! Pools are one of those things that have to be completely overhauled, and as you noticed it was definitely time!
We are sorry that you had some issues with staff - we take customer service very seriously and the hostel manager will be addressing your concerns with the hostel staff.
YHA hopes you enjoy the rest of your visit to Australia and we hope to see you again at another YHA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#1 of 145 in Sydney
1,095 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 145 in Sydney
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 145 in Sydney
1,425 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 145 in Sydney
301 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 145 in Sydney
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Central YHA

Address: 11 Rawson Pl | Cnr Pitt St & Rawson Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $35 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Central YHA hostel is Sydney's hostel with everything and the best value choice in the centre of the city. It is housed in a heritage-listed building opposite Central Station. It has panoramic views of Sydney from the rooftop and outdoor area, heated pool, sauna. Sydney Central facilities include kitchens, laundries, games/TV rooms, locker hire, limited parking, group accommodation/meeting rooms, disabled access, 24 hour security access, YHA Travel desk, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), bistro, convenience store. There is even an in-house cinema with free movies a day! Regular activities include pub crawls, sporting events, market tours and BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sydney Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central Yha Hotel Sydney
Central Sydney Yha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing