We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the value conscious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arts Hotel
Ranked #92 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect for the value conscious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is a rare find - accommodation that represents true value for money.

Situated at the top end of Oxford Street, past Taylor Square it's in a quiet location, but still within easy walk of all the colourful culture offered by Oxford Street, plenty of restaurants, bars, shops and nightclubs. In addition it's only a few doors from both a movie cinema and a petrol station.

The hotel has free parking, free Foxtel and even free WI-FI. Each room has individual heating/cooling.

The staff are always friendly, going so far as to remember both myself and my partner after just a few stays.

However, there are a few items to note.

The decor of the hotel is dated, so you should manage your expectations, however the rooms have always been acceptably clean and comfortable.

Parking is limited so ring ahead to confirm there are spots available, if not, there is parking available in surrounding streets.

There is some noise from hallways, and adjoining rooms, but rarely enough to disrupt a moderately deep sleeper.

All in all, a very decent hotel if you are looking for a central base for exploits on Oxford St and surrounds.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't have an adjoining room door, this will negate a good deal of noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsHotel, General Manager at Arts Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Nicholas

Thanks for taking time to review the Arts Hotel and for your kind comments.

We are pleased to announce that a room refurbishment programme is underway and we hope to have all of our rooms finished by the end of the year. The public areas of the hotel are also being given a makeover using a more contemporary colour palette. We feel sure all of our guests, particularly those stay with us on a regular basis, will notice and appreciate the changes.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Mark Foster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    172
    76
    18
    7
See reviews for
48
140
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights earlier this week. Mark on reception was very helpful - thanks so much to him. Room was fine - everything I needed including coffee-making facilities to help with the jet-lag. I had a room overlooking the pool and it was very quiet. Excellent cafe in a bookshop across the road for breakfast and coffee. Perfect location for the nearby places I needed to get to, and walkable from Central station. Cab to the airport was 30 dollars from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachlovinAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Mum stayed at the hotel and we had dinner 2 nights in a row at the Arts Bar right next door, the food is fantastically priced for families and quality is outstanding, I had a steak one night and lamb shanks the next night, right up there with best I've ever had. Can be very busy Friday and Saturday nights, very small dining area, but the food is worth any kind of wait. The bar also does breakfast and lunch and you get a discount card if you stay at the Arts hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The Arts Hotel was our base for only one night....sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. Picked Arts Hotel for absolute proximity to the SCG....a very easy walk. Particularly want to thank Mark who helped us with parking, helped my wife with her bag and managed a credit card 'stuff up' (all my fault) with real understanding and professionalism! Absolutely brilliant customer service...making us feel quite special! Room was comfortable....huge and comfortable bed (pillows were very nice as well). Inside courtyard room was very quiet and spotlessly clean. While our team got clobbered......we lucked out with our stay here. Will return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mont244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed har while my brother was having bypass surgery at st vincent private hospital, the rooms are very reasonably priced , clean and basic, car parking alone save us 25 dollars a day, 5 minute walk to hospital, safe are, the hotel staff couldnot have been more accommodating, 10 out of five stars, comfortable, not flash, just right , stayed for 6 night, pub next door great meals, all round winner

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times over the last 10 years for work as its a great spot when you are working at Victoria Barracks... the rooms have finally been upgraded a bit and the staff are pleasant... I don't know what people pay for the rooms as we get them on a government rate, but I'd probably be happy paying for this place as well.. There are sufficient eating places in both directions and enough coffee shops for breakfast in the morning. A short walk from places like the sporting grounds etc as well

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent location for St Vincent's hospital. I originally though I would be there a week and ended up there for nearly 3. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you, room small but very clean. Very safe area to walk to and from the hospital even at night. Buses at the door if you want to go into town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Vulcan Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Property: Arts Hotel
Address: 21 Oxford St | Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Paddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arts Hotel is a charming 3 star hotel offering personal service and a unique location in Paddington, Sydney's arts and fashion precinct. All rooms have ensuite, air conditioning, free Foxtel, safe, ironing facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer and clock radio. Garden rooms face onto the central courtyard and have complimentary wi-fi. Interconnecting rooms are available for families with children. There is free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel, free guest bicycles and free car parking (NB space is limited and cannot be reserved).Set amongst fashion boutiques, specialty shops, cinemas, late night bookshops, art galleries, pubs, cafes and restaurants, the hotel is also within walking distance of the city. Buses run directly to City shops, Circular Quay, Central Station, Bondi Beach and Watsons Bay. Paddington is a heritage conservation area with a village atmosphere. It is a delight to explore on foot with its narrow winding streets and restored Victorian terraces houses. There are over 280 boutiques in Paddington and on Saturdays you can visit Sydney's most popular street market.The Arts Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Sydney. We invite you to experience the charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Sullivans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing