We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arts Hotel
Ranked #92 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Mum stayed at the hotel and we had dinner 2 nights in a row at the Arts Bar right next door, the food is fantastically priced for families and quality is outstanding, I had a steak one night and lamb shanks the next night, right up there with best I've ever had. Can be very busy Friday and Saturday nights, very small dining area, but the food is worth any kind of wait. The bar also does breakfast and lunch and you get a discount card if you stay at the Arts hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    172
    76
    18
    7
See reviews for
48
140
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The Arts Hotel was our base for only one night....sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. Picked Arts Hotel for absolute proximity to the SCG....a very easy walk. Particularly want to thank Mark who helped us with parking, helped my wife with her bag and managed a credit card 'stuff up' (all my fault) with real understanding and professionalism! Absolutely brilliant customer service...making us feel quite special! Room was comfortable....huge and comfortable bed (pillows were very nice as well). Inside courtyard room was very quiet and spotlessly clean. While our team got clobbered......we lucked out with our stay here. Will return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mont244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed har while my brother was having bypass surgery at st vincent private hospital, the rooms are very reasonably priced , clean and basic, car parking alone save us 25 dollars a day, 5 minute walk to hospital, safe are, the hotel staff couldnot have been more accommodating, 10 out of five stars, comfortable, not flash, just right , stayed for 6 night, pub next door great meals, all round winner

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times over the last 10 years for work as its a great spot when you are working at Victoria Barracks... the rooms have finally been upgraded a bit and the staff are pleasant... I don't know what people pay for the rooms as we get them on a government rate, but I'd probably be happy paying for this place as well.. There are sufficient eating places in both directions and enough coffee shops for breakfast in the morning. A short walk from places like the sporting grounds etc as well

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent location for St Vincent's hospital. I originally though I would be there a week and ended up there for nearly 3. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you, room small but very clean. Very safe area to walk to and from the hospital even at night. Buses at the door if you want to go into town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed at the Arts Hotel for a week in May, it really was a perfect stay. The staff were so friendly and would always go the extra mile to ensure their customers were happy. It's in a unique location which makes the hotel stand out from others, the area is full of small boutique shops which sell some lovely things!! It's a bit of a walk to Darling Harbour (probably about 45 mins walk) It's such a lovely walk and we didn't feel the need to get a taxi becuase it's so easy to walk around and see what else Sydney has to offer other than just the CBD and harbour area. The hotel has, FREE WIFI, FREE PARKING, FREE BIKE HIRE, FREE GYM & POOL ACCESS. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, tea, coffee making facilities, iron, hair dryer, flat screen TV, air con, safe. There's some nice bars and restaurants in this area too. Arts Hotel is good because you also recieve discount for the bar next door which do good pub food for really reasonable prices!!! This might not be the best hotel for people travelling to see Sydney in 1 or 2 nights but brilliant for anything longer as you get to see the Paddington area aswel as central Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were clean and tidy with a reasonable ensuite. The free wifi was great. The staff were very helpful giving us maps of the local area and Sydney. There is a bus from right outside to the center of Sydney which is great (it stops at Museum station if you are getting the train from the airport)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahm0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Vulcan Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Property: Arts Hotel
Address: 21 Oxford St | Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Paddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arts Hotel is a charming 3 star hotel offering personal service and a unique location in Paddington, Sydney's arts and fashion precinct. All rooms have ensuite, air conditioning, free Foxtel, safe, ironing facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer and clock radio. Garden rooms face onto the central courtyard and have complimentary wi-fi. Interconnecting rooms are available for families with children. There is free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel, free guest bicycles and free car parking (NB space is limited and cannot be reserved).Set amongst fashion boutiques, specialty shops, cinemas, late night bookshops, art galleries, pubs, cafes and restaurants, the hotel is also within walking distance of the city. Buses run directly to City shops, Circular Quay, Central Station, Bondi Beach and Watsons Bay. Paddington is a heritage conservation area with a village atmosphere. It is a delight to explore on foot with its narrow winding streets and restored Victorian terraces houses. There are over 280 boutiques in Paddington and on Saturdays you can visit Sydney's most popular street market.The Arts Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Sydney. We invite you to experience the charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Sullivans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing