We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Sidney”
Review of Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arts Hotel
Ranked #96 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent stay in a great hotel very well located close to Paddington, with a direct access to downtown and Bondi beach with a bus
Great desk as well, providing plenty of services and advises on where to go in town and how
Plus, they all speak French

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdeclet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Arts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my daughter.
Very convenient location for us as we had business in the Surry Hills area. Could easily walk to everywhere we needed to go, and for further afield trips the buses were close and plentiful.
Comfy, clean room, although perhaps a little small, but was certainly adequate for our needs. Clean and fresh with recently renovated bathroom (now isn't that always a bonus?)
Reception staff could not have been nicer, always friendly and helpful.
Noise was not a problem at night, even though we were on a main road (perhaps being at the back was the reason we found it quiet).
Did not try the breakfast, as we always prefer to go out and try different local eateries, so can't give an opinion on the food.
The price offered very good value for money.
Would stay there again, and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

hotel easy to find comfortable rooms good value rooms clean an tidy traffic noise from oxford street not heard at all with doors closed staff very helpful with providing information about Sydney and suggestions as to easiest route to attractions complimentary muffins each morning nice touch for guests

Room Tip: Room facing oxford street with balcony best not a lot of noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonportYeppoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights to attend a course. I was upgraded to a courtyard room, which meant it was very quiet. Free wi-fi, breakfast for $12 when prepaid, a pub next door with great discounted meals and very friendly reception staff. It was ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

As the saying goes location location location, that's what this hotel has. While technically in Paddington it is on the fringe off Darlinghurst so it's an easy stroll to either. Surrounded by heaps of good restaurants bars and pubs and a short walk to the ritzy shopping of Paddington central plus a short bus ride to the city you have it all at your fingertips.
Don't expect the Ritz, you're not paying enough for that. The rooms are SMALL for a couple and can be noisy if your neighbour is a bit rambunctious, the room we had had a door to convert it to adjoining and we could hear everything the man in there did, a bit too much info at times. But it has the value for money thing going and I would stay here again just for the sheer convenience. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cleaners do a good job.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Give_Me_Latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great location, superb and friendly ,helpful staff. As we were in Sydney to watch the AFL footy this hotel was an ideal spot to stay,it's location to the ground and the city and it's attractions was just great.A lovely little pub just a few steps out of the front door was also a huge plus because the weather gods weren't to kind to us and we didn't get soaked going to dinner and having drinks. The rooms were fine, a little cramped but clean and comfortable bedding made sleeping a breeze. Overall would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights recently and, as a single female, found everything extremely good. Location , size of room, cleanliness, comfort of room and double bed, amenities in the room : overall they were excellent. Surprisingly quiet rooms,too. I booked by phone directly by phone and they matched the online price, I was especially impressed by the staff I met, they were all so helpful at any hour of the day or night. They had good ideas of where to go if visiting Sydney. And if you need to drive somewhere they printed out the instructions of how to get there. AND, as I had a beast of a car/almost- truck to park and not being crash-hot at parking it, one of the staff noticed that I was upset and saw my frustration so every time I came back in he came down and guided me in. That was over and above his line of duty and made my stay extra pleasant. I shall certainly return but with my own smaller car!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#99 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Hughenden Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Woollahra
302 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#79 of 178 in Sydney
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,271 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Hotel

Address: 21 Oxford St | Paddington, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Paddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $117 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arts Hotel is a charming 3 star hotel offering personal service and a unique location in Paddington, Sydney's arts and fashion precinct. All rooms have ensuite, air conditioning, free Foxtel, safe, ironing facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer and clock radio. Garden rooms face onto the central courtyard and have complimentary wi-fi. Interconnecting rooms are available for families with children. There is free wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel, free guest bicycles and free car parking (NB space is limited and cannot be reserved).Set amongst fashion boutiques, specialty shops, cinemas, late night bookshops, art galleries, pubs, cafes and restaurants, the hotel is also within walking distance of the city. Buses run directly to City shops, Circular Quay, Central Station, Bondi Beach and Watsons Bay. Paddington is a heritage conservation area with a village atmosphere. It is a delight to explore on foot with its narrow winding streets and restored Victorian terraces houses. There are over 280 boutiques in Paddington and on Saturdays you can visit Sydney's most popular street market.The Arts Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Sydney. We invite you to experience the charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Sullivans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing