We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast”
Review of Hotel 59

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 59
Ranked #7 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location - 5 bus lines going to CBD - I was usually able to get on a bus in less than 5 minutes. I got 10 bus rides card in the convenience store on the corner and I was ready to go. Very good breakfast starting at 7 AM. If you leave late you can store your luggage inside after hours. Nice and quiet. Only minus - wifi strength weak in the rooms further in the back due to the location of the router.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear kkseattle

We are happy to read that you found our great location so convenient to get around from.
And thank you for commenting on our breakfasts it is good to see that they got you off on a good start every day.

All the Best
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 338 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at Hotel 59 for 4 nights. The room was pretty basic but has everything you need--a tv, refrigerator, wardrobe to hang your clothes, free wifi and a great hot shower. The hotel is in Kings Cross, which is a 15-20 minute walk to downtown. It is on a quiet street and as a single woman traveler, I felt safe and was 5 mintues walking distance of plenty of restaurants and cafes.

I spent 4 weeks in Australia traveling to many cities but the breakfast at Hotel 59 was by far the best! Included in the price, it is a huge savings considering how expensive food is there.

I would stay here again if I was in Sydney.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sumank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Sumank

We appreciate your valued input, we are pleased to read that hotel 59 met all your needs [price, location, safety].
Our complimentary breakfasts are much talked about it is good to see that after 4 weeks travelling they were still the best.

Wishing you all the best
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel 59 was a pretty good base for our four days in Sydney. It's just ten minutes on the frequent bus to Circular Quay and others head along the coast to Bondi. It took us about forty minutes to walk to the Quay through the park and by the harbour side.

Our room was large and quiet. Breakfasts were generous and varied - you choose from the menu in the cafe George and his father run on the ground floor.

George is an entertaining and well-informed host whose advice on Sydney was spot on. Others, especially older Sydneysiders raised their eyebrows a little when hearing we were staying in Kings Cross, but things have changed and, anyway, Hotel 59 is well away from the lively bars though close enough if you want to throw yourself into that aspect of youth culture. At 63 we gave it a miss and were very happy with Hotel 59 and with George. 

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenksBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear JenksBrighton

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that hotel 59 met all your needs during your visit in Sydney. It was our pleasure to host you and look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Kind Regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel 59 is on the edge of the Knight's Cross area, considered by some to be the Sydney equivalent of a Red Light District. It does exhibit some of that, no worse than San Francisco. There is no significant noise from the party streets, the hotel is about a kilometer away. Everything is very relaxed in this area.

Bus stops are within 200 meters. Bus tickets can be purchased in the fast shop across the street. The buses take you anywhere in the city, plenty of maps available.
You will get an excellent slice of Sydney life in this hotel.

The hotel is well run, George, the main man, is very personable. Rooms clean, etc. Xlnt value!

If you can, take the bus to the Circular Quay (30 min). That is the departure point for almost everywhere Sydney, train, bus or ferry. The Opera House is 200 meters away. It is crowded also with street performers. Lotsa fun. If it's running, take the evening dinner sailing cruise (@US$100), beautiful harbor views, and for an extra coin you can climb to the crow's nest.

Room Tip: one floor of rooms, all the same, check if you can sleep with the refrigerator (on).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elfeoguapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Elfeoguapo

It is very pleasing to read you had a pleasent stay at hotel 59 thank you for leaving your valuable comments and passing on the good word it is really appreciated, our central location is a very convenient base to explore sydney from great to see you also found our location to your liking.

We wish you all the best
Till next time
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here during our 3 week tour in Australia and we wish we had stayed longer! Given the prices not only in Sydney but in the rest of Australia, Hotel 59 was a real bargain for it includes a real, great breakfast and it is well located. Some critics said the neighborhood was not great, I must say that the street was pretty safe and the bus stop close and convenient to go to the beach or downtown. There are lots of restaurants in the area, most of them exotic. We also walked down the hill once to go downtown and I can tell you that those are bad neighborhoods, and not the one where the hotel is located.
Hotel 59 is a small hotel located in a small building, very characteristic, you can not miss it if you have seen any of the pics published here. There are stairs to access the reception desk then again to go to the rooms if you are not sleeping at the first floor. We had a heavy baggage and it was nothing terrible for us, also we were well aware of it since it is said everywhere! There is a laundromat next door, it was quite helpful for us because we had planned to wash our clothes in Sydney.
Our room faced the street, had plenty of space and lots of character, with some kind of small living room on one side. It had a huge flat screen tv, which reminded a review I had read here that complained about old tv sets... well, not anymore (that said, the super modern tv kind of felt out of place in the room and we couldn't help but wonder why would anyone need a tv in Sydney??). Our bathroom had a shower and looked like it had been recently renovated.
Breakfast is included in the price and it is fantastic. You have to go to the café located at street level in the same building. The café is open to everyone and many people from the neighborhood (including a number of garbage collectors in the early morning) stop there to have their breakfast or a coffee. There is a blackboard with a dozen options for cooked breakfast, you can choose the one you prefer plus coffee or juice. Those were the best cooked breakfasts we had in Australia, their French toast was delicious, so was their bacon!
George, the owner/manager proved to be most helpful with his recommendations for visits and help with the bus system.
We loved Sydney even if weather was terrible, I am sure that staying at Hotel 59, a hotel with lots of charm and different from those aseptic chain hotels, had something to do with it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Arale N

It brings us great joy to read that your stay at hotel 59 was such a great experience.Thank you for putting your possitive point of view on some negative comments, it is always helpful to have another point of view.
Your a real gem thank you unreservedly.
Your friends at hotel 59

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are adequate even though arguably outdated. The family run B&B is very friendly with great breakfast. Even though noone is on site after 2-3pm, there is a contact number. There are plently of restaurants around (awesome Thai next door), but the area does have a lot of red light activity later in the night. We e.joyed our stay

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortlandRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear PortlandRoss

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest on the 2 seperate occasions this month, we are pleased you found us good value coupled with friendly service we try our best to make all our guest's stay a memorable one. Nice to to read you enjoyed the local restaurants there are plenty to choose from. Kingscross is vibrant but in no way unsafe, 2 blocks up the strreet from us are located bars, top quality restaurants and nightclubs, no bars or nightclubs are located in our section of the street. Hotel 59's location is in a residential street surrounded by apartment buildings and a large retirement village.

Kind Regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This tiny family-run budget lodging in Sydney exceeded expectations, even with all the other good reviews. the deluxe double was bigger than I expected and had a work desk, which proved helpful, along with a kitchenette (no microwave or cooktop) that allowed us to collect leftovers and grocery items in the fridge and enjoy them when we didn't feel like going out. The cooked breakfasts allowed for variety and were beautifully prepared. I enjoyed the best capuccino I've had in any country. The room and large bath were very clean and the provided tea bags of good quality. We heard no noise other than that made by a couple of fellow guests who had not learned to stay quiet in hotel corridors. Regarding the location, we avoided Darlinghurst Road and its "adult" orientation, and easily found our way to the metro entrance on Victoria Rd. We always felt safe and would not hesitate to stay again. Much of Sydney is walkable from the hotel if you don't feel like using the excellent local transport system.

Room Tip: The deluxe costs only a little more than the regular double, so go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineArizona_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear CarolineArizona_11

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable comments, we are pleased and honoured to read hotel 59 exceeded your expectations we work very hard to offer an affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in sydney, we are very proud of the breakfasts and coffee we offer our guests it is all prepared fresh for you and of top quality, no breakfast buffets or instant coffee here.
Good to hear you always felt safe, but you really had nothing to fear in the first place we are a safe city and location.

All the best for your future travels.
We will be waiting for you on your next visit to sydney
Your friends at hotel 59

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,389 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Maisonette
#3 of 57 in Sydney
517 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,415 reviews
The Merton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rozelle
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 59

Address: 59 Bayswater Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $78 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 59 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique family owned hotel located in a great convenient spot to explore different parts of our beautiful city, public transport is very close so no need for a car. We are less than 2 kilometers from city centre and harbour. We have a great variety of local restaurants close by, supermarkets, laundries are all also close to us. The accommodation is a great inexpensive option for Sydney, if you wish to dine in our café a great value breakfast and lunch is offered if you wish, Free internet is offered. We look forward to meeting you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 59 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing