We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Home away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 59

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 59
Ranked #9 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place was a real find. George went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. The room was clean, bright and came with free Wi Fi - a real plus. Breakfast in the Cafe was delicious. Everything was made to order, even the coffee. The hotel is located only a block away from the bus line. Once on the bus you can be downtown Sydney in about 20 minutes. George helped us plan our visit with many helpful suggestions. We too had a pizza from the corner cafe and it was very good. We would definitely return to Hotel 59. If you're looking for a friendly atmosphere and good value and you don't mind a set of stairs, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We had the room in the front on the second floor. Lots of windows made it very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear AudreyRichardson

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are delighted to read that you had such a great time staying at hotel 59. We really appreciate all your possitive comments, reading them has given us great joy.
We wish you all the best.

Regards
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    124
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
157
78
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

George was very helpful and knowledgeable about Sydney and helped us with our planning. Breakfast in his restaurant on the street level was made to order and excellent. Room was clean and comfortable. Internet was fast and reliable. There are stairs to all rooms but we knew this in advance and this was no problem. Buses and trains are walking distance. Quiet location 2 blocks from noisy Kings Cross. Excellent value, nice Italian Pizza cafe on corner of block. Completely satisfied will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear WBrent

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests during your recent visit to Sydney, i am happy that we were able to make your stay at hotel 59 a memorable one.
I enjoyed our morning chats and look forward to welcoming back again in the future.

Kind Regards
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
400 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at Hotel 59 for 3 nights. The room was well equipped with fridge, hairdryer,toiletries and a great bed with good quality linen. The family owned hotel does a great breakfast too, with enough choices to suit everyone. The location is super in a quiet street 2 blocks away from the dubious Kings Cross area, with some nice cafe's nearby. We could walk everywhere and did! George and company are doing a great job, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was quiet and meant we didn't have to carry our luggage up many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear spark41

Thank you for your very appreciative comments.
With our low rates we are very pleased to read that you found everything you needed at hotel 59.
We are extremely pleased to see your high score and will continue to work hard to offer all guests a great value alternative to the big chain hotels.

Warm Regards
Your friends at hotel 59
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good family-run quiet small hotel. Owners are friendly and helpful. Great central location. Rooms are small, but comfortable. The only downside was the constant flow of cold air coming from under the bathroom door, but I just closed the door and put my suitcase there ) Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anatoly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Anatoly K

Thank you for choosing hotel 59 for your recent visit to sydney, we appreciate that you took the time to leave your possitive comments, we agree with you that for the rates we charge we are good value for money. Its unfortunate that you did not notice window in bathroom slightly open which caused the flow of cold air into room, i,m glad however that you did find a solution by closing the door.
All the best for your future travels
Regards
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Don't go here when you expect more!
If you want it cheaper, go to a dorm or outside the city.
To make a long story short, we stayed here for 4 nights in Mar.12
and we came here to see Sydney.
In 5 min. walking distance you can reach public transportation, shops and bars.
To go down town, which you also can walk in aprox. 20 min., George can give you all the information needed.
In general, George and his team are great. Our room as well as the bathroom were always clean.
The breakfast was more than sufficent and tasty. The coffee was very good.
The next time we are going to Sydney, we will come back here.
The room was well equiped, water boiler, instant tee and coffee and a fridge.
Even towles and soap were supplied. What do you want more for this price in a world hotspot?
We were very satisfied. Once again, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank INKA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear INKA97

Thank you for your wonderful and truthful description of your stay at hotel 59, it gives us great pleasure to read that we played a small part in making your visit to Sydney a memorable one.
We appreciate all your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel 59 is a very comfortable and budget priced, family-run hotel very close to the CBD area of Sydney. The rooms are basic but very clean with towels and linen provided. I stayed in a single room, room had a fridge, kettle, TV, running hot water. They also offer free breakfast (vegetarian options on the breakfast menu are limited) and free wifi (signal strength can be a little weak depending on the room location but good enough for checking emails and basic surfing). The rooms are serviced every day. The hotel is at a reasonable walking distance (2-3 km) from the botanical gardens, opera house and the harbour. It is very well connected by public transport, bus stop is about 100m away and Kings Cross train station is about 0.5 km away. To/from airport you can take bus 400 from/to Mascot train station and then Kings Cross, this way you can avoid the $12 airport train station access fee. If you plan to be in Sydney for 6-7 days, the MyMulti weekly pass is a great value. The hotel can be booked directly over email and they reply with clear instructions. For a family-run hotel, George, his father and sister do an excellent job of making the stay comfortable. Overall an excellent value accommodation in Sydney!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank srir0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Srir002

We are all delighted to read you had such a great stay at hotel 59.

We work reall hard to offer great value accommodation in a great innercity location so reading all your possitive comments pleases us no end.
We will continue to work hard to make all guests stay at hotel 59 as pleasant as yours.
We look forward to meeting you again in the future.


Kind Regards
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed several nights at Hotel 59. The method of getting the keys to your room works well, just follow the instructions given before your stay.

Pros
- Reasonable rates for Sydney for a place so close.
- Area is OK, close to Kings Cross Train and nearby restaurants
- Rooms was OK, good shower and TV
- Free cooked breakfast with a good choice (try the Maple Syrup and Bacon option)
- Friendly Owner George who is glad to help out

Cons - A level of noise from being in central Sydney in the street outside with vehicles/people/birds at different times of the night. We had a front room facing the street. Potentially other rooms are quieter.
- no lift so you have 2 sets of stairs to get up to the rooms
- parking for non-residents is difficult because this is central Sydney. Hint - If you need to park overnight try New Beach Road which has free parking from approx 6pm(2 hour limit) to 8am.

The local map from George (owner) is helpful and it is indeed possible to walk from the Hotel to the Sydney Opera House fairly easily ~2km in a straight line. We went via Darlinghurst Road then onto Victoria Street(to end), left down McElhone Stairs(great view),left around Woolloomooloo bay then right down to Lady Macquarie's Chair(more great views) and then finally around the bay edge to the Opera House. We were stopping often and were not following a straight route so that took a few hours.

If we were ever to stay in Sydney I would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms which are not at the front or back are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splodge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Splodge_8

Thank you for taking the time to leave your detailed review, we are pleased to read you found our accommodation good and location convenient, we feel our rates considering our convenient location and our proximety to the harbour great value.
The French toast with maple syrup and bacon is only 1 of the many choices you can have for breakfast.
The 2 front rooms are the superior double rooms they are the larger rooms suitable for a family, being in a central urban enviroment there is going to be a level of noise, it should also be appreciated noise is a subjective thing some people are affected others not.
On our website and in our reply email we clearly mention that we do not have a lift, this is explained before to avoid any problems when guests arrive. Due to the heritage of the building we can not install a lift.
I definetly can not agree with your tip on parking on New beach road this is a 2km walk back to hotel and if you do find free parking it is only for 2 hrs and still you will have to move it by 8am following morning, it certainly is not convenient, My tip to all guests is avoid hiring a car in Sydney most sights can be reached by walking or public transport.
If you need a car for a day trip on returning at night park at the under ground parking at number 33 bayswater rd, we will stamp your ticket to receive discount, approx cost is $AUD16 then arrange to return car in the morning to hire car offices on William street sydney, they are located not too far from hotel.
I am pleased you did follow the route i showed you on the map it is a superb walk and the views are amazing.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
George













To avoid any problems we mention that we do not have a lift on our website and on the confirmation email this gives guest the option of not booking if walking up steps is a problem, as we explain due to the heritage of the building we can not install a lift

have an after hours entry system system for leaving ke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,201 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Challis
#6 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#10 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 59

Property: Hotel 59
Address: 59 Bayswater Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 59 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique family owned hotel located in a great convenient spot to explore different parts of our beautiful city, public transport is very close so no need for a car. We are less than 2 kilometers from city centre and harbour. We have a great variety of local restaurants close by, supermarkets, laundries are all also close to us. The accommodation is a great inexpensive option for Sydney, if you wish to dine in our café a great value breakfast and lunch is offered if you wish, Free internet is offered. We look forward to meeting you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 59 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing