We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a great choice for a budget traveller:)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alishan International Guest House
Ranked #29 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
1 review
“Definitely a great choice for a budget traveller:)”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent 3 weeks there.

Rooms and stuff were fine and adequate as we spent most of our time out. Staff were kind and attentive. One employee Vince was polite and kindly offered some recommendations. It's always nice to chat with a local staff.

Especially loved the balcony! Just grab snacks and a drink to chat with frds on the balcony on a breezy evening. Equally lovely with breakfast and the warm sun glistening over the street.

Location is definitely awesome! Short walk to U Syd or shopping mall. Bus stop nearby and short ride to CBD. Loved lazing around nearby occasionally - diversity of food options and cafes on that very street! If you look closely, there are very good deals - like for delicious and fresh turkish bread lol

Also, there was a Saturday market at the school on glebe point rd. We didnt have to go far at all for that local experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l-e-a-hhhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    10
    13
    20
See reviews for
21
28
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I went to Sydney last year for a short exchange and lived in Alishan International Guest House for three weeks. I love this guest house so much coz it gave me a home like feeling. The balcony on the 2nd floor is a good place for friends to have a nice chat=D Also, around Glebe Point Rd., there are quite a lot of interesting cafe, bar and second hand goods shops, that primary school next to the guest house even has Saturday market! It is very near to the University of Sydney as well. Broadway shopping mall is very close too.

The best thing in this guest house is that the housekeeper and manager are willing to chat and make friends with customers. I was quite curious why a guest house located in Sydney got a name of 'Alishan" (which is a place in Taiwan). So, they told me that the owner of this guesthouse actually has a Taiwanese wife, that's y he named his business wif the hometown of his wife, this is romantic=D

Tho the furniture and facility may be quite simple here, the service is very considerate and the price is reasonable. I invite u guys consider this guest house next time when u visit sydney=D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstelleLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

restaurants, supermarkets, chemists, laundry and all shops necessary foe daily living are at walkable distance from the guess house. The bus stop to downtown is right opposite to the guest house and the whole journey takes about 5 to 10 minutes only.

Although most of the rooms needs to share accomodation, they are all very neat and clean with individual fridges in each room. come on, what can one ask for at such reasonable price!

the securties are good and the housekeeper is a very kind and helpful person who left me a wonderful impression!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Alishan many times over the past year or so, in some instances for a month or more at a time. The quaint property's entrance is framed by frangipanis and a beautiful garden and inside you'll find everything you might need on your stay. Common areas house a gas kitchen, laundry facilities (extra cost) and wifi (extra cost). I had my own internet and did my own laundry so I can't comment on those services but the kitchen is fantastic for all your meals (no oven though) there are two large fridges to share with other guests (in addition to the little one in your room). Rooms are basic and are cleaned weekly or in between stays. I have always found the place to be clean and tidy and if I felt like I needed anything the manager (Shiban) was very helpful during my many stays. I would not hesitate to recommend the Guesthouse to anyone looking for decent basic accommodation. Glebe is a wonderfully vibrant community very close to the CBD and handy to the Uni and full of restaurants and cafes. There is also a great market on Saturdays a short walk down Glebe Point Road. Broadway is also a short walk with a great fresh food market downstairs from Coles. Worth the stay for the location alone. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGirl303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent the last 2 nights here. Bed was comfortable, clean room and ensuite. Linen in good order. Good price. Close to bus stop and plenty of places to eat or you can self cater which is great. Have booked again later in the year. Thanks for your hospitality. The street was noisy Saturday night but that is easily fixed with a pair of ear plugs. One of those things you can't control.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Convenient location for Sydney central and regular bus services up and down Glebe Point Road. However, the rooms at the Alishan are not cleaned well or regularly and there are often cockroaches in the bathrooms and kitchen. Fridges in bedrooms need to be cleaned properly otherwise they smell. The tatami room leaves a lot to be desired, the matting is ragged and worn, the mattresses on the floor are old and stained and one is pushed right up against an electrical socket which I think does not conform with health and safety. The kitchen cupboards are not cleaned thoroughly and there is very old food hanging around in the 'free food' cupboard.

Dogs out the back bark through the night, and there is a children's play centre next door which starts up early.

Manager can be helpful when asked.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a window if you need to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

with having to get up at 4am to go to work we didn't appreciated the noise of other guests all night in and out the back door and in the carpark. The linen was very old the quilts quite stained, this is more of a backpacker hotel and as Aussies staying there overnight for work we felt unwelcome and not terribly safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LingaLongafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Lodge Sydney
#23 of 59 in Sydney
241 reviews
Surry Hills
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#22 of 59 in Sydney
44 reviews
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#13 of 59 in Sydney
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Springfield Lodge
#11 of 59 in Sydney
722 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 59 in Sydney
477 reviews
Surry Hills
Central Private Hotel
Central Private Hotel
#46 of 59 in Sydney
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alishan International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alishan International Guest House

Property: Alishan International Guest House
Address: 100 Glebe Point Rd | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alishan International Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alishan International Guest House offers hotel accommodation in a renovated 110 year old Victorian Mansion. The Guesthouse has a friendly, charming and relaxed atmosphere, and is perfect for the discerning traveller who wants something more than just a place to sleep. We are located in the historic inner-city suburb of Glebe, close to sidewalk cafes, coffee shops, pubs, art galleries, book shops, library, cinemas and Saturday markets.The centre of Sydney is only a 10 minute bus ride away or a leisurely 25 minute walk via Sydney's fish markets and the Darling Harbour complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alishan International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alishan International Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing