We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Russell Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$215
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$245
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$144
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveler rating
367
426
116
39
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
426
116
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomrooftop gardencircular quayhard boiled eggsopera houseceiling fanmuseum of contemporary artsitting roomgreat locationrocks arearabbit warrencontinental breakfastcruise terminalbar downstairsno air conditioninggeorge streetyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
641 - 646 of 972 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Quirky old hotel with the best staff (especially Maxine) Creaky floor boards and a ghost but very clean and very comfy. loved the little "sleep" quotes on the pillow ever night plus a chocolate. Had to change rooms as the shower/ toilet and issues but so quick and effortless to change. Parts of it were a bit more shabby then chic but loved it overall. Excellent location for buses, trains and ferries. The Opera House and Bridge are literally on the doorstep. Free bus down George Street to every type of shopping experience from designer to high street, paddy's market to Westfield Mall. Nice that breakfast was included in the price- loved the fruit bread!

Room Tip: Third floor was quieter than the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bluffie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Highly professional, and very polite service. The room was excellent, very clean and cozy. If you are looking for a hotel with a difference, this is an extremely comfortable hotel, in an excellent position. Next time I'm in Sydney, this is definitely the one I'm coming back to!

Room Tip: Front rooms have an excellent view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A last-minute one night stay in the city was made particularly enjoyable with our stay at the Russell. I was a bit wary of other reviewers' comments about noise in some parts of the hotel, but my request for a quiet room was met and the room overlooking the inner courtyard was very quiet. The bed was also comfortable - something that even more highly rated Hotels don't always get right. We liked the quirkiness of the hotel and it's intriguing floor plan and it's location was perfect - cafes, bars and restaurants close by. The staff were friendly and obliging and it was a nice bonus to find our overnight carparking at the neighbouring Wilsons Carpark was subsidised. To have a simple but nice quality buffet breakfast included in the price made the Russell exceptionally good value. This hotel certainly beats the 'big box' tourist factories in the Rocks area and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Russell was the perfect location for me in Sydney. I could walk to my top sights to see - the Opera House, Botanical Garden, Sydney Theatre Company and Circle Quay ferries to Manly Beach, etc. The continental breakfast was just right for starting the day. It was also nice having the two pubs right downstairs. After a day trip to the Blue Mountains on Oz Tours, which I also highly recommend, some fellow travelers came back to the Man Of War pub for dinner and a few beers. It was a Saturday night and they had live music. The staff at the Russell were always super helpful, and the good night chocolates with little cards and quotes were a really nice touch. The only complaint I had was with the internet connection. The signal varied in my room which made it troublesome to talk to my family over wifi, but it was always strong in the room we used for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the building that runs along Nurses Walk. They are quitter than those with windows in the front above the pubs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mosweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal, Canada
21
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Just spend a few days at the Russel Hotel. The location is just perfect, next to the Opera, the bridge and Circular Quay. You can't be more central than that! Be advise though, this is an old building and the rooms are not really sound proof (you can hear the street, the pub and people in the corridor). But I manage to sleep well nonetheless. Some may find the shared bathrooms an inconvinient, but never was a problem the time I was there. For the location, definitely a place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews