We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, quaint, historic, with wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #35 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Cozy, quaint, historic, with wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed here on two occasions, the first being in April 2008, when I stayed in two different rooms on different floors (intentional - from double room to single room). The most recent stay was in September 2012. First let me say this is a wonderful location - right in the historic Rocks where Sydney got started. A lovely view of the opera house is just a stroll away (and viewing it up close is just a nice walk to the other side of the harbor). I picked this hotel because it is historic - which is what I love. I did not mind sharing a bathroom, which I did every time - it was never a problem, and it was always clean (3 different bathrooms - 2 tiny, old fashioned & quaint, 1 large & modern). The decor in the hotel is warm and charming - and the rooms are comfy & clean. When I first came in 2008, you came in the front door and had to schlep your bags up an expansive old flight of stairs (probably the equivalent of two floors), but that has all been changed. Now those stairs are blocked, and the main floor, which used to be just the breakfast area (like an old-time saloon), is now a wine bar. Entry is now at the back of the building, and there's an elevator for those who need it. On this latest stay, my room was large, big windows, high ceiling (as in every room), and directly above the wine bar... It was a Saturday night... Needless to say, I got out some ear plugs. I was glad the next night was not a repeat (I think it was closed). This wine bar area is still where they serve breakfast - which was OK. Nothing special. (And I found they don't start breakfast early enough, as I had to leave shortly after 7 a.m.) There was an issue in my room with the circuit breaker going out whenever I turned on the heater. Old cords & such did seem a bit worrisome. But overall, for the historic experience and the ideal location, I would happily stay here again! (Oh, one other thing, for having a shared bathroom, the price did seem rather steep.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    392
    111
    31
    21
See reviews for
133
440
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed four nights in this charming hotel, which we chose for price and location as we wanted to stay in The Rocks and were attending a wedding nearby. A continental breakfast is included, served in the wine bar downstairs, which was also a welcome sight after settling into our room on the first day. The location was excellent, and we were able to catch the train from the airport and it was an easy five minute walk to the hotel from Circular Quay station. From the front door, there was access to public transport and many attractions are within walking distance.

The room itself was quite small, which was not a problem for us but it may disappoint some who are expecting the size of a more modern hotel room. However, nothing was lacking and it was a welcome haven each evening after visting the noisy tourist destinations. We were in room 19, next to the reception. Some sound carried but with the door closed, we could barely hear other guests or any noise from the wine bar downstairs.

Reception staff were always friendly and helpful and we were even able to borrow two umbrellas as we weren't quite prepared for the weather after travelling from sunny Perth. We were impressed by the extra touch of receiving two chocolates and a little card on our bed each evening.

Whilst you may pay more in the Rocks, we would definitely stay at The Russell again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room with ensuite, which had a shared courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is just a 5 min walk to the ferries & trains. It's an old hotel & the rooms are small. We had a standard room with an ensuite. However, standard rooms do not have ac. So, if you need ac go above the standard room. The staff was excellent & got us a fan. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

we stayed for a night prior to cruising on royal caribbean,and for the night before our return to n.z.
what a delightful hotel to stay in!our own home is aprox 150 yrs old so we felt very much at home.
we stayed in two diffrent standard rooms both with an ensuite.the 1st, next to the most beautifully decorated lounge was compact but very comfortable.the 2nd at the back,overlooking nurses walk was also lovely but we felt the bathroom could do with a tad refurbishing in the shower area..we must say that the staff are all just brilliant to deal with,nothing is a problem and even straight off a cruise ship at 7.10am are welcoming and were very happy to store our luggage till our room was ready(also early).the garden area was just a nice place to be,and we seemed to find like-minded guests all happy to be there.
the hotel is a very short 3minute walk to the overseas terminal,even with a truckload of luggage!we would without hesitation stay again,and the breakfast certainly was very good for what is classed "continental".the only negative comment we have is that we would very definately request a quieter room next time,even if it cost more as the noise from the local winebars and raucous friday and sunday night party-goers was un-bearable,till around 2.30am,when the bottle recycling trucks arrived!however we had a lovely time and as we said all the staff were just fabulous,thank you all. XX

Room Tip: ask politely and the staff will help with your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petals356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed one night at the Russell in mid-November 2012. I choose it for the location in the Rocks. You can walk to everything such as Harbor Bridge and the Opera House. It is also close enough to the train and ferries on Circular Quay if you like to walk. The breakfast was great, the common bathrooms on our floor had been remodeled and were lovely. The room was clean. Nice historical place to stay. No complaints

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neko100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We found this hotel from a D&K Top Ten Sydney book. We couldn't get in our original choice and took a chance with this as it was short notice in the middle of the New Year hols. It was a great decision as it turned out.

The rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished in period style as many doors were left open. The building is a warren inside and takes a bit of getting used to but is fun if you're a bit inquisitive. We had a large room at the front just under the roof terrace and it was lovely and spotlessly clean. There is a wine bar and the oldest pub in Sydney (apparently) downstairs which is handy and the roof terrace allows views of the harbour bridge at the end of the road.
Our bathroom door was a bit tough to shut completely and our air conditioner was adapted to vent through one of our windows but given the features of the historic building, were very minor issues. We live in a Victorian house ourselves so are quite used to period quirks.

Overall we were thrilled with our good fortune and extended our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This adorable old world boutique hotel with perfect staff was ideal for this solo traveler visiting Australia for the first time- or any time.. The Wine bar/ pub served excellent food. Location outstanding- doors away from the Four Seasons Hotel. I was there for five nights prior to catching cruise to New Zealand from circular qua across the road.. Not for everyone, but definitely to my taste and I am very particular.

Room Tip: Contact hotel directly after checking out the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing