We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to what we wanted”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #55 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here because we were doing a ghost tour in the Rocks.

Parking was convenient as it was just next door and only cost $25 for the night.

We payed $289 for a room with en-suite. It was expensive for what it was which I'd rate as a three star hotel. Our room was on George street and was very noisy. The double glazed window removed some of the noise but it didn't take much away.

There was no bar fridge in the room, so if you want to take some drinks to have and keep them cool, take some ice and an esky with you.

A continental breakfast was provided what was OK, for $289 a night you's want something back from it.

Staff were very friendly but its just the price which got me.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face onto George street of you want some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 954 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at The Russell for two nights,and just returned home from Sydney. You couldn't ask for a better location ,on George Street in The Rocks. We walked everywhere from there. The Russell is like a B&B, small rooms, but perfectly adequate. The friendly staff helped with our luggage since the Hotel was up a short incline. The Wine Bar & Restaurant was excellent for our purposes, not dinner, but dinner appetiz\ers,and delicious at that. And a very "in" place with very few tourists. After being on a Cruise for 27 days, we didn't want big meals.

We walked to the Town Hall on George for the "Free" City walking tour (3 hours) which was excellent, the fabulous Market on Saturday,not cheap, but no junk. We walked on our own to the Botanic Gardens -- gorgeous.



The price was very reasonable for the area,and included a very good breakfast.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have a shared bath. We preferred a smaller room, but our own bath. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachaelsmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great hotel in a brilliant location. Within esay walking distance of Circular Quay and all the wonderful things that it has to offer. Rooms very clean but lots of twisty corridors and steps may make it difficult for less able travellers. Breakfast is fairly basic, but plentiful and served downstairs in the winebar. Great to have Australia's oldest pub next door!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasmine025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent two nights with my wife and two daughters, ages 7 and 12. The Russell is a wonderful heritage hotel in a perfect location in the Rocks. Walk out the door onto George street. Obviously, an older building, but clean and amenities all top notch. Breakfast pleasant and
generous in the Wine Bar downstairs. Special thanks to Idan (?) who made me a double espresso and the girls hot chocolate as we were running late. All staff willing to assist with trip details and needs. One caution is the band noise from the Fortune of War bar a few doors down. Probably worst on weekends, and something the Russell has no control over, but might be an issue for some patrons...We would stay again in any case....

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right over the pub next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ognolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We chose this for the convenient location. We knew there would be lots of steps, although there is a lift, but you can't avoid steps even with that. It is an old rabbit-warren, comfortably done up.
We paid for a Queen size bed and ensuite and being on the inner part of the hotel, it was lovely and quiet. If you were on the street side it might be a bit noisy. Continental breakfast was included and my husband thought it the best choice he'd had. We could walk everywhere we wanted to from there.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. Each room is different and differently decorated. We enjoyed Room 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

You can't beat the location of the Russell -- in the Rocks and right across the street from Circular Quay.

The hotel is definitely average. It's a historic property, and would be equivalent to staying at your grandparents place... Aging, quant, and comfortable, but nothing to write home about.

The breakfast is basically toast or cereal with horrifically bad coffee. Mine was included but I ended up across the street at starbucks each morning to get my jolt instead.

An average hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Pomacentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and despite the shared bathroom situation really enjoyed our stay. The room was small but beautifully furnished and decorated to a high standard. The location is really perfect for an easy stroll to Circular Quay. There is a roof garden with a view of the bridge (just!). The staff are helpful and friendly. Most minor imperfections can be spirited away by being in such a perfect spot. There is a carpark next door which costs $25 per day to hotel guests. Breakfast is a Continental style buffet served in the wine bar downstairs. Overall a real gem of a place if you want to be in the thick of the harbour culture at a fraction of the cost! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetMinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#46 of 186 in Sydney
2,538 reviews
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 186 in Sydney
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $128 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Russell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing