We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in historic Rocks area.”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #38 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
600 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Great location in historic Rocks area.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

As others have mentioned the Russell Hotel is a refurbished building first built in the 1800s and located in the historic Rocks area.
We specifically chose this hotel based upon positive TA reviews and the great location directly opposite the Museum of Contemporary Art, about 300m from Circular Quay and for us - very close to the Bridge Climb as we had an early evening climb scheduled.

Check-in/out friendly and efficient. The hotel has a lift connecting the floors which is very handy. Some of the rooms (ours No.27) are a fair way from the centrally located lift down and around some corridors.
If you have mobility concerns opt for a room on the lower level as some of the connecting corridors have a series of steps.
Our en suite (some rooms have shared conveniences) room had a separate sitting lounge area. The bathroom was modern with very good water pressure and toiletries provided.
Room was clean, bed was firm (we prefer) and provided with 4 pillows which we also prefer, usually - having to search for additional pillows or approach housekeeping.
The room faced the street and has a system of double glazing to mask the street noise. Foolishly, we decided to leave the window open during the night to gain some fresh air (winter) and were woken to the sounds of sirens due to a police car chase. There was an oil-filled heater in the room. (as well as an air-conditioner – which we didn’t use).
To agree with some other reviewers, there were a few chips of paint off the walls – perhaps a bit of TLC is overdue.

One anomaly; we had originally booked for the previous weekend - had to re-schedule to the following weekend due to some time constraints. Upon changing the booking to this weekend - we were charged an additional $AUD 10.00 - " because of school holidays" - which doesn't seem to make any sense apart from apparent profiteering.

Breakfast was standard continental fare, cereals, toast, juice, hardboiled egg, tea and coffee.
We enjoyed our one night at The Russell – surrounded by restaurants and the ambience of The Rocks – if you are searching for a Hilton experience – this isn’t for you – but if you like the idea of soaking up some of Sydney’s history – would recommend.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the rear of the hotel - otherwise use the double glazing option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    395
    113
    33
    21
See reviews for
135
449
101
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nerang
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

this place is a must, it has so much character and warmth, i fell in love with this place, 3 generations of us had a night at the russell, we were made feel very welcome and they kindly let us check in early, as we had flown down from the goldcoast. we had arvo drinks on the rooftop courtyard and our rooms were gorgeous and very clean, as was our shared bathroom with lovely molton brown bath products. breakfast was perfect something for everyone, the staff were wonderful and friendly, i would like to keep this place my secret, but would reccomend this place for singles, lovers, or family,s,,,,,, its perfect, the only downside was we had to leave,,,,,. be sure to visit their sitting room, with lots of books to read on comfy lounges, great location for everything

Room Tip: all the rooms have different decor, some have ensuite, or you can share bathroom,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barefoottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My final day in Australia post cruise was in Sydney so I decided to stay at the Rocks area. This Hotel is everything you can hope for: location, great price and great service. And the rooms are quite nice! They gave me advise on what to see with the very little time I had. I even booked the airport transfer through them. Book it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcfialho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Quaint and Quirky. The Russell is an old refurbished hotel and is very clean and the location is perfect if you are visiting The Rocks in Sydney. Breakfast was very good. Staff were friendly.
Minor complaints were:
(1) Our room did not have a bar fridge (not sure if other rooms were without a fridge).
(2) The water in the shower (which was over the bath) was difficult to adjust to the required temperature, but when achieved was good.
(3) The shower leaked continuously but could not be heard from the bed so did not interrupt sleep.
(4) Room 26 (where we stayed) was directly under the rooftop "garden" area and the footsteps of the people could be heard and sounded very loud. (this area was closed off at 10 pm so it didn't go on late into the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DenisWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

The Russell is in an old building located in the Rocks area of Sydney. The rooms are modern and the size depends on how much you pay. The decor is simple and tasteful. The location is one of the best in Sydney. It is next to the harbor within easy walking distance of most of what is going on in Sydney, including the opera house. Did I mention I love this city.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I found th Russell quite by accident, and what a find it was a an old building refurbed to a quaint hotel, very friendly staff, clean rooms, tiny beds!!! lovely breakfast room and location right in The Rocks, so easy walking to all the sights, great cafes, pubs and restaurants abound, as well as galleries

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Its ideally located for exploring the old part of Sydney.
Of course, it is on George Street. the oldest street in Australia.

Room Tip: Use the Russel to see the many historic sights in the Rocks, plus the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,343 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing