We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gr8 value boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regents Court Sydney
Ranked #14 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“gr8 value boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I can recommend room 44 and catch a glimpse of the opera house. You can nip up the stairs to the roof deck, which has a Beefeater gas BBQ, check the postcard views of Sydneys cityscape, bridge, harbour glimpses and opera house peaks. A great place to sit with a bottle of pinot gris no matter the weather. There's a harris farm markets next door which has a wet bar seafood. Yes the dodgy cross is only 200 metres away but its not a worry

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello Mark B,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court.
It's nice to read that you enjoyed the views from your room, as well as our Rooftop Garden. Did you know that there are over 100 pot plants on our rooftop garden?
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    85
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
77
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We felt very welcome from the moment we stepped into the building. Reception staff were friendly and explained services and features clearly. Our room offered great views of Sydney and - most importantly - the hotel is right in the heart of Kings Cross, but just far enough down a side street to be quiet at night. The building and our room were well presented, clean and attractive with a historic feel. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room at the front for the best views and quietest sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello Warren R,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Did you know that we also have a lovely rooftop garden? This is open to guests during reception hours and we think this is the perfect spot to enjoy a hot drink over the coming cooler months.
We look forward to having you stay again soon!
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Excellent value, the best location, and very friendly staff!

This hotel beat all my expectations. First up, the price was fantastic - $140 for room 28, and the room was HUGE. Its an older style hotel, so don't expect swish modern fixtures, but its well maintained and very charming. It came with a kitchenette that was completly unexpected.

You can't beat the location, I LOVE Potts Point, and the staff were super friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TodayIWoreRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Amyvair,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Customer service is our priority at Regents Court and it’s fantastic to read that you've appreciated this.
Regents Court offers very affordable rates and it’s in a great location for getting around Sydney. The in-room kitchenette's also accomodate for those who have a longer intended stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our very first visit to Sydney, and I can say that the young staff was always very helpful with all of your inquiries. Nearby you will find a good supermarket, lovely bars and cafes for breakfast, and the subway station to get you to the city. We announced our late arrival beforehand and were given instructions to obtain our room keys at a nearby hotel reception. Everything was very well organized. On the first day we actually walked to the harbor, and it took us roughly 40 minutes (which was absolutely worth it to explore Sydney's neighborhoods).

Our room and all its facilities were clean. King's Cross appears to be a clubbing area well suited for young adults, but not very much for families. The small rooftop garden is accessible until 8pm.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonpalatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello mhageman,
Thank you for your review of Regents Court. We’re sure readers will appreciate your insight.
The Potts Point area is fantastic for supermarkets, café’s, restaurants and bars. The train station also allows guests to easily access Sydney’s public transport system.
Did you know that guests also receive complimentary access to the local Anytime Fitness Gym, located only 200 meters away?
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel in an apartment. The apartment is wel equipped and close to Harris Farm Market (a real asset!) and a german coffeeshop (with very good cappucinos). It is in the Kings Cross area but we had no troubles. The hospitality is very good: our fan in apt 42 started making noise but it was immediatedly repaired! Also it was no trouble printing our boarding passes for our next flight. The view from the rooftop is excellent: on al clear day you can see part of Harbour Bridge.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Levensgenietster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Levensgenietstet,
Thank you for leaving a review of Regents Court. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed you stay. We were even very pleased to read that our team were very attentive and were able to help you with any requests you had, during your stay. We pride ourselves on service at Regents Court and it is fantastic to hear that this is being appreciated.
We were also glad to read that you enjoyed some of the features of the hotel, as well as the area. Potts Point is home to many of Sydney’s best café’s and bars; we are spoilt for choice!
Did you know that our guests can access the local Anytime Fitness centre? This is a complimentary benefit of staying at Regents Court.
We hope to have you stay again in the near future!
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

First of all, I will say that I was mostly happy with my stay at Regents Court. The studio room was quite large and featured a separate kitchen / breakfast area. As the building is historic, not everything is modern, such as the elevator as mentioned in some reviews. I did not find this a problem whatsoever.

The downsides to the hotel include:

1) It is not full-service. The information found on Orbitz did NOT indicate that rooms were not cleaned daily. For our four night stay, they were only made up one time.

2) The hotel was without bathmats for two days -- we had to ask for extra hand towels to be used instead.

3) A light in the room burned out one day during our stay tripping a circuit breaker. As we discovered this after the front desk had closed, we realized the room had no phone to place a call to the sister property located about 10 minutes away by walking. Luckily, we found the circuit breaker and were able to reset it on our own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stljettaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear stljettabo,
Thank you kindly for leaving you review of Regents Court. We appreciate your feedback and I’m sure readers will do too.
We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay! Our rooms are quite spacious and come with everything you need to live like a local, while in Sydney.
Thank you for pointing out that our rooms are not serviced every day. We will be reviewing every online channel we are listed on, to ensure this is communicated clearly to future guests. We are also able to offer extra servicing upon request.
We must apologies for not leaving a bath mat every day. We have discussed this with housekeeping to ensure that they pay more attention to this. We would also like to apologies for the light bulb that burned out during your stay. It is unfortunate that this happened after receptions hours and we glad you were able to find the power circuit. The Diamant Hotel also provides any after hours assistance to guests staying Regents Court.
Once again, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
With best regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Used to be a great boutique hotel, run with care and hospitality. Although I was aware it had been sold, I didn't think it could get this bad. Both rooms were dirty, not just a little - a lot. Never again

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Matt P,
Thank you for your review of Regents Court. Although it’s not the score we usually strive for, we are glad you have brought your concerns to our attention so that we can work on them for future guests.
We are so sorry for not having met your cleaning expectations. Please send us an e-mail directly so we can investigate what went wrong and ensure all staff involved are completely trained to the standard that we expect of every room.
Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to rectify this concern and we look forward to speaking with you further.
Kind Regards,
The Regents Court Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Quest Potts Point
#71 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regents Court Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regents Court Sydney

Property: Regents Court Sydney
Address: 18 Springfield Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Regents Court - by 8Hotels)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regents Court Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regents Court Sydney is located in an original 1920s Art Deco building in the heart of Potts Point and just a stone's throw away from the CBD. Enjoy the perfect privacy of an oversized studio apartment in a building that has retained and enhanced the original features reminiscent of New York brownstones. More than just a hotel, Regents Court evokes all the charm and soul of a personalized inner-city pad. A fusion of old and new, each studio has abundant space, muted colours, classic modern furniture and contemporary artworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regents Court Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regents Court - By 8 Hotel Sydney
Regents Hotel Court
Regents Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing