We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regents Court Sydney
Ranked #13 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great little home away from home”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at Regents Court on the weekend and it was perfect. It's in the heart of the Cross and I could happily have moved into my room and stayed. Reception was really helpful - phone call ahead of stay to explain closed hours, and a reminder ahead of closing when I needed to pick up luggage on departure.

This was a quick trip to Sydney, but I'm looking forward to spending more time at Regents Court in the future. Gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Lisa R,
We were so glad to read that you found the staff at Regents Court informative and helpful. We pride ourselves on service at Regents Court, so it’s fantastic to read that this is being appreciated.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Kind regards,
The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    96
    29
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
80
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Travelled to Syd to do the City2Surf and took my wife and young daughter. Driving towards Potts Point we were impressed with the feel of the area. Pulled up to Regents Court and were very happy with the location. 30 min walk to Opera House through Botanical Gardens. 5 mins to Kings Cross Station. Surrounded by great cafes, bars, restaurants. We were upgraded to the top floor with a few to the city - we enjoyed watching the sunset. Room was big and nicely presented, felt like modern Art Deco style. I loved the old lift with the sort of sliding doors you see in movies. You could smell the old building as you travel up and down. We ate at a fantastic Vietnamese restaurant directly across from the hotel - the food was great and well priced. Down the street you have a gourmet supermarket, which if you're from Melbourne is like a mini Leo's. They call the street Regents Court is on "little Manhattan" and my American wife agreed - it felt like New York. Even after the TV lost reception mysteriously we had local revellers to entertain us!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JustinFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear JustinFly,
Thank you for your recent review on Regents Court. We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us!
We definitely are blessed to be on a very picturesque street, in the lively and trendy suburb of Potts Point. It may interest you to know that our street was used for a TV series shoot only yesterday, intending to look like it was filmed on the streets of New York! It’s ironic that you also mentioned it!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Regents Court in the near future!
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had a wonderful stay here for business in June 2013. Got a fantastic deal. The room was top class. The Art Deco styling was lovely. Very comfortable space, all amenities perfectly placed and functional. A commanding view of the city, absolutely superb position in Kings Cross (not too close to the bustle so reasonably quiet but close enough to access everything you want/need). A real gem. Would suit a short stay for business (the wifi actually works and is included - crucial) or stay for pleasure (not so much for young families though; the Cross isn't really family orientated, the building is renovated but the layout is old, the car park is close but not on site). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved it and would stay here again every time if on my own or with another adult and I could get a similar deal.

Room Tip: I went for the top of the range room as it had the best deal. Top floor looking towards the city. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Gavin L,
Thank you for your informative review of Regents Court. I’m sure future guests will appreciate your insight!
We are glad you enjoyed our location and some of the facilities we offer at Regents Court. It may interest you to know that we also offer for our guests is free access to the local Fitness First Gym, located only 250 meters away from our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you next time!
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was good decision for us to stay here. Initially I booked for Meriton but my wife disagreed because it's too expensive.

Our room was deluxe twin studio apartment and we stayed for 4 nights. The room was a bit dated but we understand that it's undergoing refurbishment. The room was well equipped and we cooked proper meals everyday. The simple setup made we felt homey. During our stay the TV was changed to new flat screen.

We like the most the roof top garden.

Even though Regents Court located at Potts Point, it was not too far to the Royal Botanic Garden. I walked to the Garden twice from Regent Court. And taxi was easily available at Darlinghurst Rd.

The staffs were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzwanShahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello IzwanShahmin,
Thank you for your review of Regents Court.
We are glad that you found out property to be well priced as well as practice. We are also glad you got the chance to use the rooftop garden. We are very proud of it and think it’s the perfect urban getaway!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Regents Court. The position was wonderful, easy walk to the city, Opera House and areas like 'eat street' Crown Street.
Front facing rooms have a wonderful view of the city. Roof garden eclectic and very useable.
Kings Cross close but not in your face.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Anna F,
Thank you for your review of Regents Court. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your time at Regents Court as well as your time in Sydney. We also enjoyed having you stay.
We look forward to seeing you next time!
Best,
The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is terrific - a brief stroll to wonderful coffee and food (Bourke Street Bakery, Fratelli Fresh, Apollo & Maggies are old favourites), and for some staples for longer stays (Harris Farm Market, Woolworth or the depressing Coles if you must). The hotel has a deal with Fitness First at the Cross - a great gym.

I arrived earlier than anticipated and was looked after beautifully by the terrific front of house staff. My room was in need of a freshening of the decor, but was very spacious and comfortable. For a regular traveller decent wifi, a comfortable bed & good linens, plus an iron that works efficiently are essentials and they were on hand.

A good spot if you're staying longer than a quick overnighter..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Duncan,
Thank you for your review of Regents Court. You can tell you are an experienced writer and I am sure our future guests will appreciate your suggestions.
Another great eatery/cafe is DOV, located about 20 meters from Regents Court. If you haven’t tried it before we definitely suggest it.
We looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Kind regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have stayed at Regents Court many times over the years and the new management team have certainly not let the standard drop. Rooms are spacious in a comfortable designer way, the rooftop garden is a must go to and enjoy experience and with the convenience of Macleay street dining there is hardly a better location. Catch the airport train to Kings Cross and a 500 meter walk and you are there.
Add to that great welcoming staff and overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Gerry,
We were so delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay! We also enjoyed having you and welcome you back anytime!!
Also, Thank you for your review. I’m sure other reader will appreciate your feedback.
We will see you next time!
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,723 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 179 in Sydney
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,232 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 179 in Sydney
522 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regents Court Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regents Court Sydney

Property: Regents Court Sydney
Address: 18 Springfield Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Regents Court - by 8Hotels)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regents Court Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regents Court Sydney is located in an original 1920s Art Deco building in the heart of Potts Point and just a stone's throw away from the CBD. Enjoy the perfect privacy of an oversized studio apartment in a building that has retained and enhanced the original features reminiscent of New York brownstones. More than just a hotel, Regents Court evokes all the charm and soul of a personalized inner-city pad. A fusion of old and new, each studio has abundant space, muted colours, classic modern furniture and contemporary artworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regents Court Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regents Court - By 8 Hotel Sydney
Regents Hotel Court
Regents Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing