We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel great, Wifi awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Ranked #58 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Hotel great, Wifi awful!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We are regulars here. The staff at Bill's know our coffee and breakfast orders without having to ask. Love the location, the staff and the swimming pool.

I recommend staying here, but make sure you never ever use the wifi! It costs around $20/day, is incredibly slow, constantly drops out, and some days it doesn't work at all. The worst thing is that when you try to contact Rooms On Line they never answer the call. They tell you to leave a message, which you do. They never call back. You still have to pay. Basically you buy a service which they don't go on to provide, then you can't even call them to threaten them with the ACCC.

I know it's easy for Adina to deflect the blame on the third party, Rooms On Line, but I think they need to show more regard for their guests by getting rid of this crappy system and replacing it with something that actually works.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Kate N,
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us again and we appreciate your loyalty to the Adina Brand.
I have passed your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    363
    117
    37
    27
See reviews for
288
145
37
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great stay. Staff could not have been more friendly, efficient and courteous.
The 2 bedroom apartment was perfect for 2 couples – a good sized bathroom each and great sized kitchen. TV handset wouldn’t work but was fixed as soon as reported.
Air-con units in each room easy to use plus balcony’s off each bedroom and lounge as well. Parking easy to access and flat – perfect for bikes. The restaurants and shops around are first-rate. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Kate C,
Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your fantastic comments.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience in our Self-Contained Apartments. The extra space certainly ensures a convenient and more comfortable stay for all of our guests.
The team & I are delighted to read that we will be able to welcome you and your friends back to Adina soon.
On behalf of the team, thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

On the whole I had a sub standard experience.
Movie options were not available, even after I requested they be fixed, no movies could be accessed.
The plastic entry cards were worn out, and I had to get 1 of them reprogrammed 3 times before I could rely on it to get me into my room and up and down the lifts. Even then it did not work fully.
Finally I had to cut my visit short from 3 days to 2, due to a family situation, but I was still charged 3 days, which seemed grossly unfair given that the room could have easily been cleaned and filled as I was leaving at 130pm.
I have visited Adina a few times in the past, but now I will never return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Ja O,
Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
I have had a look into your reservation and it appears that you booked an advance purchase rate which clearly states that it is non-changeable or non-cancellable which offers you a discount on our usual rates.
We do offer a range of options to provide the best available rate for our guests. Specially discounted rates are available; however, the terms and conditions of each rate are clearly stated at the time of booking. We certainly do offer flexible cancellation policies on our everyday, non-reduced rates, allowing our guests to amend or cancel the booking up until 2pm day before arrival.
Our check out time is at 10am, which is also clearly stated on your confirmation letter. Check out times after this are available and do incur a fee. Any check out after 1pm incurs a full nights charge.
With regards to in room movies the hotel uses a third party provider therefore I will follow up with them the issues you have experienced during your stay.
We always appreciate guest feedback and I will share yours with our team.
I hope you enjoyed your trip to Sydney.
Kind Regards
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

this hotel was very disappointing. after a 30 hour flight and all settled into our room we had water problems. there was five people to move, plus all the outfits and dresses for a wedding.
we moved to the next room, no iron or board, safe broken, door locks to the outside broken.
cleaning average. no checking after each guest if everything is working and ok for the next guest
with all the accommodation in sydney i would not advise this place.
great location but needs refreshing. the internet access in non existing. in todays world you should not have to pay:

Room Tip: cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 709anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear 709anne,
Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, however am disappointed to hear that the remainder of your experience did not meet your expectations and would like to apologise.
We offer very competitive rates for our rooms and our internet pricing is also in line with the other hotels in this area. Lower costs for internet usage is something in Australia we are trying to battle and seem to fall behind as a country compared to others. We hope this will change in the future so we can offer the kind of internet service our international guests are use too.
I do urge our guests to provide feedback during their stay so that we are able to rectify any issues immediately.
We apologise for failing to provide you with a fully enjoyable and memorable experience. We do value your constructive feedback as it allows us to improve the service which we deliver to our valued guests.
I hope you enjoyed your trip to Sydney.
Kind Regards
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Adina on Crown is a lovely hotel in a great spot in the heart of Surry hills. The rooms are big, well appointed, very clean. We were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment which was great, two bathrooms, full size kitchen, laundry, balcony, king size bed, three TVs, and very spacious. it is a perfect place to stay to explore the city with everything in walking distance, and then return to relax in a very comfortable setting. Although we didn't use it, the hotel has a nice sized pool. Next time we visit Sydney we will stay at the Adina on crown.

Room Tip: Rooms off Crown are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzroytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Fitzroytraveller,
The team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location to explore Sydney.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Adina on Crown & found it to be one of the best places I have ever stayed in Sydney. The 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious with a huge balcony with great city views Everything was very clean & in good working order. Two large bathrooms were very nice also.
This is a great area to stay interesting shops & great cafés & restaurants on Crown St. The famous Bill's is right downstairs! The staff were very helpful with Eitan & Rebecca being extra helpful - nothing was a problem & there was always a friendly greeting when going through Reception.
Arthur in reservations was also extremely helpful ensuring I got the apartment I required - thanks!
Only negative was the lack of free wi fi in the rooms - which is pretty standard worldwide now. I used the Surry hills library just one block away on Crown St. The hallways could also do with some lightening up - they are quite dark.
Otherwise - perfect!!

Room Tip: Apartments with city views are best on a higher floor = better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Dorothea D,
The team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
It is wonderful to hear that our team and location to local restaurants made your stay in Sydney extra special.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with this wonderful feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, this is all about location, location as we stayed here 4 years ago for that main reason. But, 4 years later the same (but now very tired and used) decor and fittings remain! The whole place needs updating not just the name!

Also at a loss why in this world where you get free wifi everywhere (even Mcdonalds!) they charge $25 per day for a connection that is slower than a sloth!

House keeping is shocking too, one night returned home and had a shower to discover they had left no towels!!

They need to do better!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Colin B,
Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
Wifi access is certainly something many travellers have commented on and from this feedback we introduced the free 30 minute lobby wifi option for our guests recently, which has provided a complimentary option unfortunately with regards to internet prices the hotel uses a third party provider therefore our pricing is driven by the costs we are charged.
I am sorry that the housekeeping team missed your towels - this is something very basic that simply should not occur. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours and I would encourage all our guests to phone them with any issues this way we can address it immediately and ensure that you can go on to enjoy your stay with us.
We always appreciate guest feedback and I will share yours with our team.
I hope you enjoyed your trip to Sydney.
Kind Regards
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Address: 359 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing