We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience initially - but fixed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Ranked #57 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a second (longish) stay over Xmas. On first checking in we had some horrendous problems which I won't go into. The manager Joseph turned up at our door with compensation, fulsome apologies and gifts, even though he was not on duty, so we were impressed after the shock had worn off.
The rooms are (in our experience) variable in quality: some are in very good order, others definitely need a thorough overhaul. Even our apartment, a nice one, had a toilet that didn't flush properly and there were recurrent (minor) issues with the door cards in the lifts.
The room service people are very pleasant and most helpful. All in all, I'd recommend the Adina, especially as good-value deals are available.

Room Tip: Try to get an apt overlooking the pool area and don't hesitate to ask for an alternative if the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PRM038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear PRM038,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street. I am very pleased to read that you are a return guest to our hotel.
We do strive to maintain the upkeep and maintenance of the hotel, so I will pass on your comments regarding the varying level of room quality to our Maintenance team.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money and the team to be pleasant and helpful.
We would love the chance to welcome you to the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be much more enjoyable than the one described above.
If you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 967 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Have stayed many times for business over the years and have watched the apartments become a bit shabby and in need of minor repairs and a face-lift. My second stay while the hotel was having major lift issues - this time only one of the three working. Had problems with the air conditioner - new remote controls only allow cool to 20 degrees which was too hot on a Sydney 29 degree day. Shower door broken also. Front of house staff excellent and very helpful. Bills next door great for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frodo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear frodo99,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback, I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us. I apologise for the inconvenience caused whilst our lift was out of order. I have also passed on your concerns to our maintenance department. My team are pleased to hear that you found them helpful as this is the service we pride ourselves in.

Could I kindly ask you to contact me at the hotel direct as I would like to address your concerns personally ensuring that the issue you had are not repeated?

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St.

Many Thanks
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I felt very much at home during my 2-week stay and enjoyed the rapport with the reception staff, Andrea - who has a wicked sense of humour - Anna and Ina.
The swimming pool and outdoor jacuzzi were the star features.
There's a bit of noise from traffic at the front of the hotel, but earplugs helped out there.
The hotel is surrounded by pubs and restaurants and twenty minutes on the local bus got you down to Circular Quay.
I certainly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is best.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gumblespublications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Gumblespublications

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. As the hotel manager I read your review with much delight, you have mentioned three of our team members names. I am so pleased they have left such a lasting impression!

I do agree with the comment in regards to the swimming pool, spa and BBQ area. This area is like an oasis in the middle of the city. Sitting on a deck chair by the pool you would not think that you are in one of the busiest cities in the world!

On behalf of all the team we hope to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St soon!

Kind Regards
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We are regular visitors and we love the Adina. Thank you Joseph and all your wonderful staff. We honestly can't fault anything about the hotel and its cleanliness but most importantly you could not get better staff anywhere.
We will be staying here again on our next visit to Australia

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Tiffany,

We would like to thank you once again for staying with us; it is wonderful to see you keep coming back. We do hope that Adina is your “home away from home” when travelling to Australia. Thank you for your positive feedback all the departments in the hotel much appreciate it.
We hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas and maybe next year you can have a hot Christmas “Australian style” around the Adina pool and BBQ area!

Warm Regards

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice service, great rooms. Lots of room, and kept well. Great connection to Bills below. Big apartments and friendly staff. Really lovely views of the city. However, they charge extra for anything they can.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Adam F,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide your feedback. The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our guests do enjoy that they can order room service from the iconic “bills”. I am glad you got to experience the views from our apartments as they do capture the splendour of Sydney at night beautifully.
However I am concerned to read about your comment regarding the “extra charges”, please do feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss this further.
On behalf of all the team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bed room unit here for 8 days. The unit was comfortable, clean, bright, and quiet, even though it faced Crown Street. It had a kitchenette with everything we needed to prepare light meals. The beds were equally comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and quite modern. Best of all was the staff. They could not have been more helpful, responding to all our needs. They were cheerful, welcoming, and delightful, especially Nikhil. Thanks Nikhil!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear jnichols

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!
Myself and the team (especially Nikhil) are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St. We are all very glad that you not only mentioned that the facilities of the hotel were clean and modern but you had found our team to be “cheerful, welcoming and helpful”.
On your next trip to Australia we hope to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St.

Warm Regards,

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A good set of apartments. Very clean and a great base for us - a family going off to Coldplay then shopping and looking around. Comfy rooms, good service helping us get around by bus and train, a nice BBQ area which we used for a simple meal. Good location just pricey for a family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Anne R,
The team at Adina Apartment hotel Sydney, Crown Street are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and would like to thank you for sharing this feedback with us.
I am so pleased you found our location a great base and our rooms clean and comfortable.
We hope you will stay here again next time you are in Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills

Address: 359 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $152 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing