We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street
Ranked #60 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

A good set of apartments. Very clean and a great base for us - a family going off to Coldplay then shopping and looking around. Comfy rooms, good service helping us get around by bus and train, a nice BBQ area which we used for a simple meal. Good location just pricey for a family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Anne R,
The team at Adina Apartment hotel Sydney, Crown Street are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and would like to thank you for sharing this feedback with us.
I am so pleased you found our location a great base and our rooms clean and comfortable.
We hope you will stay here again next time you are in Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    325
    104
    32
    23
See reviews for
248
127
35
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Griffith
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Motel is in a brilliant location, stayed there to attend a Concert at Moore Park and it is walking distance to Moore park and the City. The cafes and restuarants around are delicious. Our room was extremely clean and the staff could not have been any more friendly or helpful, accomodating to all our needs. The Manager of the motels Jospeh is wonderful and I would definelty stay here again!!!!
: )
Tennille.

Room Tip: we had a 2bedroom 2 bathroom room which was beautifully decorated. all newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Tennille C,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Adina Apartment hotel Sydney, Crown Street, we really appreciate it.
It was great to read you loved our brilliant location and the friendly staff. I will make sure this is passed onto our team.
We hope you will choose to stay here again next time you are in Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Adina was the perfect base for a week away in Sydney on business - great rooms that were tidy, airy, clean and well thought out! Very nicely decorated too. The service was friendly but not overzealous which is just the way I like it. They were there if you needed them, but stayed out of your way otherwise. Good pool and gym facilities. Room service from Bills was excellent! Bills food is amazing, definitely try it, although the service in store could be better. My room was off Crown Street but still close by nd had no noise issues
Perfect location to try the many bars and restaruants in Surrey Hill

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Ashley F,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
I am pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be perfect and our rooms to be tidy, clean and nicely decorated. Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina in the future.
Kind Regards
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Located on Crown Street and close to Oxford Street, the Adina offers the convenience of an apartment with kitchen and laundry facilities, together with a living/dining area and separate bedroom. Although Crown street is busy, I didn;t find it too noisy, although I did not use the small balcony off my third floor bedroom.

Downstairs are three excellent and well regarded restaurants: bill's (available as room service), Marque and Billy Kwong's (with Kylie Kwong's innovative Chinese cuisine). There are lots of other restaurants and cafes within an easy walk.with cuisine ranging from Vietnamese to Mexican and all points in between!

Cabs are readily available on Crown Street, as well as bus services to the CBD which is also in easy walking distance, It is also very convenient for Randwick Racecourse or the Eastern suburbs and beaches. Access is also easy from the airport

There's also a small complimentary gym and a pool.

I will certainly stay here again as it is clean, reasonably priced, well located and not as confined as normal hotel room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morewindOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear morewindOZ,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be a handy location and hope you had the chance to experience some of the great restaurants we have in such close proximity to the hotel.
The team and I are so pleased we will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.
Kind Regards
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Adina is perfectly located on Crown street amongst great pubs and restaurants and is an easy walk into town or Paddington. Having Bill's restaurant downstairs is a bonus as its a great place to have brunch or for a meal with friends. Our room was a bit tired with a few niggles but generally ok. We did feel a lack of warmth or hospitality, it seemed like unless you were handing over money there was no connection with staff, no smiles, no acknowledgement on entry etc. We don't necessarily go looking for this but it was noticeably absent in this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NFitzdelfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear NFitzdelfini,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Adina Apartment hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel with all the great pubs and restaurants close by, however I am disappointed to hear the service you received during your encounter with the front desk did not meet your expectations and would like to apologise. We do take pride in our guest service so I was surprised to read we were not up to standards on your stay.
I want to thank you again for your feedback. We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit is up to the Adina standard we pride ourselves on.
Please contact me directly on 02 8302 1000 if you wish to discuss you stay in more detail.
Kind Regards
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Close to lots of great dining options, spacious modern apartments, city view available.

Must eat at Bills downstairs for relaxed modern australian food.

Close to walk into city or jump in a taxi to waterfront or bondi (both 5-10 mins away). Lots of cafes, shops etc nearby and not too "touristy!"

Only place we stay in sydney now!

Park across the road too if you have kids with you and an out door pool area. If taking little ones to sydney hire a car with car seats as taxis will not pick you up!

Room Tip: Some city view rooms have a huge outdoor terrace... try and get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Becowens,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment hotel Sydney, Crown Street. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write it.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location to explore Sydney.
The team & I are delighted to read that we will be able to welcome you and your family back to Adina soon.
Kind Regards
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stay here regularly and I am always impressed with the service and cleanliness. If ever I need anything the staff are quick to respond and are always friendly. Neat hotel and good location. With Bills Restaurant linked, the room service is fantastic and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Alex A,
The team at Adina Apartment hotel Sydney, Crown Street are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and loved our location.
I am very pleased to read that you are a return guest to our hotel and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with this positive feedback
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina in the near future.
Kind Regards
Diana Quinones
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street
Address: 359 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing