We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of Luxury in Surry Hills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Ranked #56 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit of Luxury in Surry Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed at the Adina on Crowne St in Surry Hills in Novemeber of 2011 with my Partner. It was a trip primarily for business. The apartment hotel was so comfortable, modern, clean and well furnished. The staff were very nice and extremely helpful. This was a bit of a higher end price hotel apartment but if you feel like a treat it was worth every penny. The place is in a great location not far from everything you'd need, great surrounding restaurants and cool shops. It felt very easy to get used to and locate. For its location it was very quiet. I'd go back there any day!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Fiye

Thank you for taking the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St. The team and myself are pleased to hear you and your partner enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding our helpful and friendly team were read with much delight and the team are very grateful for your recognition. Our location is somewhat unique, Surry Hills especially Crown St has evolved into one of the most desired addresses in Sydney. Crown St has a number of Sydney’s best restaurants, cafes, boutique shops and bars, we are glad you got to venture out experience these venues.
We all look forward to welcoming you once again to Adina Apartment Hotel, Crown St soon.

Many thanks once again

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    355
    110
    36
    25
See reviews for
278
137
37
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is convenient for the following:
-Attention to detail; the rooms have all the basic essentials with excellent appliances (TV, stereo, white goods etc)
-Cleanliness
-Decor; furniture, design
-Staff; prompt check in and check out, answering the phone
-Food; Bills restaurant is the best!
-Price; very reasonable considering you're a few mins walk to the heart of Sydney

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Alex A

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. The team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It gives us great pleasure to read you found our team to be attentive as this is the service they aim so hard to achieve.
We all look forward to welcoming you once again to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St.

Many thanks once again

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

My family & I stayed at the Adina Apartment hotel last April 10-16 and were so happy that we chose to stay here over a regular hotel in the CBD area as we have done before. Sydney accommodations have become so expensive over these past few years & they normally take only 2 to a room so Adina was truly good value for our money as we got a spacious 2BR apartment that sleeps 5 for the price of 2 lower priced hotel rooms. The apartment had 2 bathrooms ( a rarity in Australia ), 3 TVs, a spacious open living & dining space, a good sized kitchen with everything basic needed for cooking & dining in ( including a dishwasher ), a washing machine, an iron complete with board, etc. Adina also appealed to us aesthetically as it's interiors & furnishings are very modern, with clean lines.
Service was quite good also as they would clean the apartment daily & even do the few remaining dishes we left sometimes! Towels were changed daily if you so wish. We had a little bit of a problem with the room safe ( it wouldn't open up on our 6th day ) & their Maintenance couldn't get it to open up as well after several tries. That gave us a bit of a worry as we were on our way out for the day and were leaving very early the next day for our flight back home (our passports, cash & jewelry were in the safe). The Adina reception staff promptly assured us that they would call in their safe 'expert' to come in on a Sunday & that they would have someone supervise the opening of our safe so as to safeguard our valuables. Sure enough, when we got home late that evening, we found a note in our apartment with the new combination # and all our valuables intact!
Lastly, a big added plus is its Crown St address. We have 2 daughters studying in Sydney uni & they highly recommended this Surry Hills location as it has a LOT of quaint shops that sell vintage clothing, art galleries, artsy bookstores, great pubs & restos.. very New Yorky Soho feel.
I got a great vintage buy here ( am not telling what! ) that totally made my trip worth it. So, if you want to experience a little bit more of the regular 'Sydney lifestyle' as per the touristy 'Sydney' hotel experience, then book the Adina!

Room Tip: Book a higher floor room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marga_philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear marga_philippines,

Thank you for the time you have taken to you review your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St. My self and the team are delighted to read you and your family enjoyed your time with us.
Travelling with a family can be expensive especially in the case were you have to book two hotel rooms. At Adina our two bedroom apartments are great value as it gives the space and facilities a family needs, without having to separate the family holiday across two separate rooms. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience our Adina concept providing our guest’s a “Home Away From Home” still giving the feel you are staying in a stylish hotel.
It was great to read you got to experience our location Surry Hills; it is very unique. Many of our overseas travelers depart saying that staying in Surry Hills is a better option than staying right in the heart of the city because of the amount of restaurants , shops, cafes and galleries we have, but yet a short walk to the CBD.
The team was pleased to hear you found them friendly and helpful. We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Crown St, Surry Hills soon!

Many thanks once again!

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Crown St, Surry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed there last weekend and had a blast. We had a two bedroom apartment which was spacious and comfortable. It had a lovely view of downtown Sydney and the pool. We each had our own balcony and bathrooms. I really like the area as well. Lots of nice cafes and resturants and pubs. Everything is within walking distance. We parked the car in a secured garage and didnt take it out until departure. We were able to walk to the rugby game and we were able to walk to central station easily as well. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Marcus R

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. Reading your review brings much delight to me and the team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St. We are all pleased to hear you and your friend enjoyed your stay and the inclusions of your two bedroom apartment. Our city view apartments do have a lovely outlook of the city, you able to enjoy the views whilst sitting on the balconies. The city of Sydney at night is spectacular we are glad you had the opportunity to experience this whilst staying with us.
Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St soon.

Warm Regards,

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom (w 2 bathrooms) apartment and it was very good value for 4 people to split the cost. The apartment was spacious and clean and didn't feel stale or too 'business-y', as many such apartments do. The location is great; not far from Central train station, a walk to some good parks and a quick/cheap cab ride to most places. The best thing for us was that good food was so close! Bill's Restaurant is on the ground floor - amazing for breakfast (or anything), Luke Nguyen's Red Lantern is a few mins' walk down the road and the excellent Berta restaurant is about a 10min walk away. Our room was pretty high up, overlooking the (very nice, big) pool and lush gardens and the Sydney skyline. I probably wouldn't want to be on a very low level floor or face onto Crown St as it's a super-busy road.

Room Tip: high up, facing the pool direction would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Netski66,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. Myself and the team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The Adina concept aims to provide our guests with a “home away from”, still giving the feeling you are staying in a stylish hotel and providing all the services a hotel offers; judging from your feedback you and your group experienced this.
The hotel is surrounded by Sydney’s most renowned restaurants and bars we are happy you had the opportunity to venture out and explore these venues. Next time you stay don’t forget you can order room service from “Bills” so you don’t even have to take the lift down to the ground level.
Many thanks once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Crown St soon!

Warm Regards

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Crown St, Surry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Location is everything - Crown St Surry Hills is just a 10 min walk via Oxford St to Hyde Park and 15 Min Bus (301) to Circulr Quay
Good choice of restaurants within walking distance and the very good Bills (Grainger) downstairs for breakfast, lunch & dinner.
Request a room not overlooking Crown St - a bit quieter, but not a huge problem.
Comfortable, clean - maybe a little dated but very acceptable at the price.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Not overlooking Crown St
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear MelbourneGazza

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. My self and the team at Adina Crown St are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and well positioned.
Adina Crown St does have one of the most desired addresses in Sydney, with Surry Hills famous restaurants and bars and stone’s throw away, yet just a short walk or bus ride to the city.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St.

Kind Regards

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Booked the Adina for 3 nights for our family of 2 adults and 3 kids. The apartment itself was fine, well equipped and a good size for us all with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, tv's in all rooms which is great when you have kids.Location was good easy enough to walk into the city. Now to the negatives, the room was not clean, my duvet cover had blood on it, it was dealt with on request but really not good, there was no hot water again dealt with on request but not what you need after we had been on a flight for over 24 hours having to wait a couple of hours for hot water and a handyman in and out. The toilet seat had the remains of the person before!! I had at this point had enough of contacting reception so washed it off myself. Everything in the apartment felt grubby, not what I expected at all. The pool was freezing and looked dirty. The place needs cleaning and maintaining more thoroughly or more people will be leaving negative feedback.

Room Tip: Request a city view room much quieter, the rooms on Crown street must have been noisy as it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank workinmum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Workinmum66,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. I am glad to hear you found the room to be well equipped and spacious. I sincerely apologise that you had a negative experience with the housekeeping provided during your stay. I can assure that I have followed this up directly with our housekeeping manager and it is not the typical service at Adina on Crown St. I’m pleased to hear the shortfalls in service were dealt with in a prompt fashion.
Please contact me directly to discuss any of your concerns in detail. I would like to personally apologise and have the opportunity to welcome you back to Adina; assuring your next stay with us you experience the true Adina service.

Warm Regards,

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Crown St, Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Address: 359 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing