We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
Ranked #112 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
221 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in October 2013. Very well located, is 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. The hotel is quiet, nice and clean. Staff very welcoming and friendly.
However, it could be a little cheaper, and the cooked breakfast could be better with more options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfnalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    86
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
14
97
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I searched for accommodation near where my daughter lives in Surrey Hills so we could spend as much time together as possible. The location of the Manor House was ideal and easy for catching Taxi's and transport. The Hotel itself is cute and very homely. I felt very safe and comfortable which is important as a solo female traveler. The security is excellent. I stayed in a room on the first floor toward the back of the hotel. It was ideal, quiet and comfy. The location of the Hotel is fantastic. I walked to Paddington and spent a wonderful day of shopping and spa treatment. Fabulous restaurants were also close by which made my experience with my daughter extremely pleasant. I really enjoyed my 2 day stay and felt it was very good value for money. The only problem I did have was the wifi signal was very weak and consequently I could not connect to the internet and I could not receive or send emails. Also the Hotel restaurant was very average.
Based on the whole experience, I will definitely be staying here again! I'll leave my laptop at home next time. Thank you :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on the first floor. it is quieter and the rooms seem more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 10am after two very long flights from the UK. The staff could not have been more helpful. They offered to look after our suitcases and suggested we went to a cafe up a side street and come back in about an hour when our room would be ready at no extra cost. We got our room around 11am. After showering, the reception staff were really helpful again, giving us directions, with aid of a local map, of where to buy a day bus ticket and which bus to get on to take us to the harbour where all the siteseeing trips go from. We found the bed comfortable and room quiet but quite honestly nothing would have woken us up after the long flight! The bathroom was a bit dated but it had all the facilities, was clean and everything worked. We stayed two nights. If you like Victorian buildings then this one is for you. I agree with others that the breakfast is ok but could be better. Not overly keen on plastic cheese and tin fruit, no facilities for cooked breakfast, but there was a toaster. Interestingly, in the public lounge there are lots of photos of famous people who had stayed at the hotel, some dating back to the 1960's. Noticed that lots of them looked very young, no recent photos of any celebreties though!

Room Tip: Good sized double L-shaped room called "Edward Barton" on the first floor recommended. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for one night, as an alternative to the normal Novotel, or Vibe option I usually go with when staying in Sydney for work. It was fantastic! Very homely, friendly service, and really made you feel like you were in a home rather then a hotel. Would absolutely recommend, and will be back again soon! Love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOOSHNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was Ok, best thing about hotel was the position. It is a very tired looking hotel and is in need of an upgrade.....Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a king suite and on the ground floor. You could hear a lot of noise from the room above.... Not a bad hotel and a lot better than most, but in need of some sprucing up.

Room Tip: Stay up stairs as it might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

When i book a twin room, and the hotel accepts my booking, I expect a twin room.

I don't expect to be called a half an hour before check in to say that they've double booked and yadda yadda yadda. There is NO excuse for doing this. It's NOT brain surgery to mark off the room as booked so as to avoid double-booking.

When either my wife or I have to sleep on the floor because of the messed up booking, AND we have to pay for the privilege, it's NOT acceptable. Add to that the fact that the apologetic staff said that they would discount the room, and then FAILED to do so is just poor management.

The breakfast is poor to middling. The cheese offered is that "plastic" bright orange cheese slices that are probably the genesis of the next mutant race of humans that will dominate the earth. The help yourself coffee is that filtered "stuff" that was typical decades ago.
Cereal choice is poor. No eggs etc.

For nearly $200 a night I'd like the bed I reserve, and at least a decent coffee! Pod machines are cheap enough to invest in.

The staff is very pleasant, but failure on the critical stuff = failure to satisfy the customer.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is very cute , like a little manor , very British .
There is a nice lounge were you can rest, watch TV , drink free coffee or tea .
The only thing the room is quite small not so much place to open your suitcase but charming with old furniture where they even hide the mini bar ....
The breakfast is included but nothing fancy , not even eggs .
A good choice of restaurant not far and many clubs for gay people , we didn't knew that when we booked .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#104 of 178 in Sydney
30 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
1,581 reviews
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#95 of 178 in Sydney
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#105 of 178 in Sydney
136 reviews
Hughenden Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Woollahra
291 reviews
Darlinghurst
Medusa
Medusa
#85 of 178 in Sydney
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney

Property: Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
Address: 86 Flinders St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#87 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Boutique Sydney
Manor Boutique Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing