We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
Ranked #111 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location, short walk to all the pubs and nightlife of the Oxford St area. Room was big, had 2 bathrooms, comfy bed & lounge. Setup nicely, slept perfect. Couldn't complain about anything. It is so much more enjoyable and interesting staying in a place like this rather than the big chain hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantisalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    85
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
14
96
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

After almost two months are travelling around the world staying in a variety of accommodation you appreciate a good value for money establishment. And this really is worth considering if your staying in Sydney.
$45 taxi ride from the airport, close to central Quay in the city centre. The hotel has a good feel from moment you arrive. Rooms are large well furnished and a decent bathroom and shower that gave almost instant hot water. Bed was a good Kingsize and the sleep quality was first class.
Free wifi in all rooms, the celebrity lounge apart from having free tea and coffee has a huge TV comfortable chairs and a computer should you need one. If you ask you can get fresh milk for that important cup of tea.
Breakfast was ok however standard of cleaning, facilities makes this a very good boutique hotel.i
If you stay here get a multi day transport ticket available in shops by bus stops , gives you unlimited travel on buses, trains and ferries $44 for a week. Bus stop into town is few hundred yards from hotel buses into the centre run every few minutes.
Value for money in a city this will take some beating .

Room Tip: We had a king room room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

It's all about expectations, and our feeling is this is much more B&B than we were expecting.

Certainly it has character, is well located and the staff are well meaning. But it's right on a main road, our rooms were very small, the decor / presentation is a little tired and breakfast is basic. Noise was an issue in our stay.

Some guests might enjoy this; it's probably about expectations and price, but we are still surprised how well this place gets reviewed. For us, it's doubtful we would return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigmalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Manor House is the sort of place that makes you feel you shouldn’t enter unless your invited.

I say this as a compliment because there is something about its presentation that suggests more private “stately home” than “boutique accommodation”.

As a Sydney native I’ve often travelled along Flinders Street and glanced over at the Manor House with its discreet street frontage and elegantly antique exterior and wondered what it was like inside. A city function (and need to stay in town) gave me that opportunity.

Part boutique hotel, part residence it’s a little bit of historic indulgence. Having served its current function for many years it appears to have been frequented by a diverse range of high profile lodgers ranging from musicians, pop stars, actors and other significant people of international repute. This is evidenced by a drawing room virtually plastered with framed photos of these people (often with the extremely ‘un-shy” host/proprietor). There is assorted memorabilia and a distinct feeling that you are in the private lounge of an entertainment manager or mogul.

Apart from the drawing room (where you can take a port and sit in relaxed surroundings) there is also a breakfast conservatory consisting of a small number of tables arranged around a plunge pool. It looks smaller in real life than it does in the promo photos but does, nonetheless, add a quaint quirkiness to breakfast time. I saw nobody using the pool.

Upstairs you will find the rooms. Ours was a Manor King suite. I cant speak for the other rooms but ours was indulgently large and beautiful. Thick curtains, tassels, antique furnishings (solid and real, not faux). The bathroom (with spa) was clean and compact. The bed was comfortable. Doors opened onto a wrought iron balcony with a small setting for two. The balcony overlooked a small courtyard and was quiet in spite of its proximity to bustling Flinders Street.

The entire experience comes together – just. It is clear, both in the rooms and the public areas, that the property will, inevitably, require some updating but this may also explain why it feels more like a home than a boutique hotel. I wouldn’t say this is a deterrent.

The service from front desk is outstanding. Nothing is a problem and the genuine assistance we received added to our experience.

One small criticism (and in fairness this is not down to the management) is the fact that parking within close proximity is hit and miss. As Flinders Street is a main thoroughfare channeling traffic into the city from the eastern suburbs it does get busy. We parked in an adjoining street after failing to secure one of only a handful of reserved car spaces within the properties grounds. If you arrive by taxi, this isn’t a problem.

Many of Surry Hills/Darlinghurst’s attractions are within walking distance one way, with the Fox Studio precinct and sporting attractions (ie. SCG) a similar walk in the opposite direction. In short, it’s a great location and surprisingly quiet inside in spite of this.

It was a lovely overnight stay and I was disappointed to have to leave. My disappointment was, however, diminished upon realising that I hadn’t received an overnight parking ticket on my car in the adjoining street.

Would be a good bet for a local couple looking to "cocoon" in their home city, go out to dinner and then return to a warm and romantic environment for a bit of "us" time away from the day to day grind.

Room Tip: King rooms are large and offer a spa which does add to the decadent feel. Pay a little extra and op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a cheaper alternative boutique hotel than the larger chain hotels that has considerable colonial like character.

It is a bit further away from the centre of the city where the more expensive places are located. This hotel though is close to Oxford St, a fairly lively part of the city with lots of restaurants nearby. Oxford St is one of the gay friendly parts of Sydney. It is also close to an arts university (COFA) so you will see some art students around.

Breakfast was a basic continental breakfast included in room rate with breads, packaged cheese and jams and honey, crumpets, cereal, muffins, gourmet teas, coffee, juice.

Good points:
Lovely heritage and history to the building
Nice bathroom (gold taps) with large shower but no bathtub in the Deluxe Queen room
Relatively close to Central railway station (20mins down hill walk to station, 30+ mins steep uphill though) if you are a walker. If not then catch a bus or cab.
Indoor facing patio with chairs and table
A nice communal lounge area to relax and watch cable TV.
Flat screen TV in Deluxe queen room (not sure about other rooms)
Happy to store our luggage when we arrived early. Answered all our questions without any problems.
Not so good:
public toilets were dirty, maybe they hadn't been cleaned for the day however hairs were evident on the walls etc. Our rooms were spotless however.
Peeling/bubbling paint in places where there must have been water leaks from the old roof (its an old house that has been renovated however the paint bubbles shouldn't happen).
Plunge pool is small but also in a very public area next to meal area so no one was seen to be using it.
Queen sized bed. You will need to pay more if you want a King sized bed
There was an awkward friendliness about this place, hard to describe. Friendly when approached but not overly welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms close to very busy road would be noisy so choose a room towards the back. However the rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izramSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a change from the usual hotel option. Quaint and welcoming. Large room with a comfy bed and adequate bathroom.

Short walk (700m) to some great restaurants in surry hills. Had organised to meet someone so missed the breaky - so cant comment on it.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassie_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
263 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Sir Henry Parkes King Room at Manor House Boutique Hotel for 4 nights while holidaying in Sydney. We received a friendly and informative greeting. Our room's decor befitted this elegantly restored 1850's terraced mansion...as did the communal lounge and hallways. The eating area adjacent to a small swimming pool under a glass roofed courtyard was a bright and pleasant place to have a continental breakfast included in the room tariff. Our room was quiet. In fact, the entire establishment was quiet, despite being off a busy road. It was also conveniently close to an abundance of restaurants and cafes. Far enough from the CBD to be away from the hussle and bustle, but close enough to walk. And on the right side of the city for the airport. We loved Manor House and will be using it as our base whenever we return to Sydney in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#105 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#95 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vulcan Hotel
#79 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#36 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,025 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#146 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney

Property: Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
Address: 86 Flinders St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#87 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Boutique Sydney
Manor Boutique Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing