We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
Ranked #105 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Viterbo, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

awesome, old style hotel.good staff but a poor breakfast.
nice clean room, a little bit small. Short distance from Sydney CBD, maybe good for business travellers. Bus stop in 5 minutes walking. free wifi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco84s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    83
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
14
90
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

An original building from the Victorian period - not a fake - so some things are a little worn. Our bedroom was chockablock full of furniture to the point of discomfort. Nice bathoom though. Staff very friendly. Breakfast generous for a "continental" breakfast. Near a choice of eating and drinking places. Easy access for transport. By international standards a bit on the expensive side for what you get, but by Sydney standards correct.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PartrickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location suited us perfectly as we were visiting friends and places in the eastern suburbs. I picked this hotel as I wanted something different and it was reasonably priced. The hotel is filled with photos and furnishings linking it to a very different time. The breakfast was standard and there was a nice selection of fruit and cereals to choose from and the atrium was a beautiful setting to enjoy it in. The Staff were friendly and helpful making it an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The atmosphere and charm are authentic, and it is nice to come “home” at this old hotel building – feels quite British. Our room including bathroom was very nice, and there are lots of good, common rooms: a lounge with tea, coffee, fruit and PC are, the big breakfast room in the center, and covered balcony above and a nice balcony towards the street which is good for a sundowner (despite traffic noise).

The included breakfast is good, and the wifi is free.

The traffic in front is quite massive and noisy, and the two rooms facing the street might be noisy (I guess).

The service was outstanding at our visit.

Room Tip: Avoid the two rooms facing the street. And one room has window towards the breakfast restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed for one night in a standard queen room (room 20) for a concert at the Hifi Bar (Entertainment Quarter at Fox Studios).


The Good:

- Old-world charm! The hotel is a converted grand old mansion in Darlinghurst, so the rooms and corridors have interesting period architecture and fittings. It's certainly a big change from the usual identical modern hotel chains.

- Handy location. To get to the hotel from Central Station was a pleasant 20-minute walk through Surry Hills, while the Moore Park precinct (SCG, Allianz Stadium, Fox Studios) was 15-20 minutes walk. The hotel is located on a busy road with plenty of people about, so I felt quite safe walking back there after midnight.

- Friendly staff. Check in/out was smooth and efficient, with staff kindly offering to take my bags to my room on arrival, and arrange for a taxi on my departure.

- Cleanliness. Although the building is old, and has some maintenance issues (eg broken brass latches on windows, some water damage to the ceiling) my room was very clean. The bathroom was modern and spotless, linen freshly laundered, and carpet clean.

- Good choice of pillows



The Bad:

- Water pressure in the shower was quite low

- No elevator. Although it was no problem for me to take the stairs up to my room on the first floor, if you have mobility problems request a room on the ground floor.

- Reception closes at 10pm



Overall, I would happily stay here again for the right price. Although it doesn't have all the mod cons (eg 24 hour reception, room service, lifts), this is a clean, secure, comfortable and very unique hotel in a handy spot in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyTheNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff were friendly,helpful and welcoming. The room (King Suite) had all the items nessarsary to make our stay enjoyable without having to take them. The hotel is on a main road and at times was a little noisy with the traffic. The rooms were clean and well laid out. The inclusive continental breakfast had a ample selection, but it thought that the ability to offer a choice of a cooked breakfast would of been nice to set you up for the day. On a main bus route and with taxi's plentiful so easy to get to the CBD and the quays, taxi ranged from $13.00 - $16.00's, Oxford road is only a short walk away with a wide range and choice of restaurants to choose from. Ideally situated to Shows, Concerts, Moore Park, SCG, and Allianze Stadium etc. We would definitely stay again and definitely take the same room if available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have often walked past this small boutiquie hotel on Flinders street Sydney but had never ventured inside to look around, so we decided to give it a try and booked in last weekend as we dining close by and thought to make a romantic weekend of it. We booked a manor king room which we found to be delightful. The staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel was to coin a phrase "quaint". We enjoyed our stay and will definitly go back. The only negative was the Continental breakfast which did not measure up to what I would have expected had we actually been breakfasting in Europe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Hughenden Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Woollahra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Darlinghurst
Medusa
Medusa
#83 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#95 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#74 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney

Property: Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney
Address: 86 Flinders St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#85 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manor House Boutique Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Boutique Sydney
Manor Boutique Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing