We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$214
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$127
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$143
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$152
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$257
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$138
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$146
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$221
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$193
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
41
91
34
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
91
34
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastsurry hillssigned photoslovely comfy bedcommunal loungebusy roadoxford sthotel has a great locationwalkable distancestayed here for one nightwatch tvwould stay againcafes and restaurantshandy locationbit datedwi fipublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 187 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location suited us perfectly as we were visiting friends and places in the eastern suburbs. I picked this hotel as I wanted something different and it was reasonably priced. The hotel is filled with photos and furnishings linking it to a very different time. The breakfast was standard and there was a nice selection of fruit and cereals to choose from and the atrium was a beautiful setting to enjoy it in. The Staff were friendly and helpful making it an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The atmosphere and charm are authentic, and it is nice to come “home” at this old hotel building – feels quite British. Our room including bathroom was very nice, and there are lots of good, common rooms: a lounge with tea, coffee, fruit and PC are, the big breakfast room in the center, and covered balcony above and a nice balcony towards the street which is good for a sundowner (despite traffic noise).

The included breakfast is good, and the wifi is free.

The traffic in front is quite massive and noisy, and the two rooms facing the street might be noisy (I guess).

The service was outstanding at our visit.

Room Tip: Avoid the two rooms facing the street. And one room has window towards the breakfast restaurant.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed for one night in a standard queen room (room 20) for a concert at the Hifi Bar (Entertainment Quarter at Fox Studios).


The Good:

- Old-world charm! The hotel is a converted grand old mansion in Darlinghurst, so the rooms and corridors have interesting period architecture and fittings. It's certainly a big change from the usual identical modern hotel chains.

- Handy location. To get to the hotel from Central Station was a pleasant 20-minute walk through Surry Hills, while the Moore Park precinct (SCG, Allianz Stadium, Fox Studios) was 15-20 minutes walk. The hotel is located on a busy road with plenty of people about, so I felt quite safe walking back there after midnight.

- Friendly staff. Check in/out was smooth and efficient, with staff kindly offering to take my bags to my room on arrival, and arrange for a taxi on my departure.

- Cleanliness. Although the building is old, and has some maintenance issues (eg broken brass latches on windows, some water damage to the ceiling) my room was very clean. The bathroom was modern and spotless, linen freshly laundered, and carpet clean.

- Good choice of pillows



The Bad:

- Water pressure in the shower was quite low

- No elevator. Although it was no problem for me to take the stairs up to my room on the first floor, if you have mobility problems request a room on the ground floor.

- Reception closes at 10pm



Overall, I would happily stay here again for the right price. Although it doesn't have all the mod cons (eg 24 hour reception, room service, lifts), this is a clean, secure, comfortable and very unique hotel in a handy spot in Sydney.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyTheNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff were friendly,helpful and welcoming. The room (King Suite) had all the items nessarsary to make our stay enjoyable without having to take them. The hotel is on a main road and at times was a little noisy with the traffic. The rooms were clean and well laid out. The inclusive continental breakfast had a ample selection, but it thought that the ability to offer a choice of a cooked breakfast would of been nice to set you up for the day. On a main bus route and with taxi's plentiful so easy to get to the CBD and the quays, taxi ranged from $13.00 - $16.00's, Oxford road is only a short walk away with a wide range and choice of restaurants to choose from. Ideally situated to Shows, Concerts, Moore Park, SCG, and Allianze Stadium etc. We would definitely stay again and definitely take the same room if available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have often walked past this small boutiquie hotel on Flinders street Sydney but had never ventured inside to look around, so we decided to give it a try and booked in last weekend as we dining close by and thought to make a romantic weekend of it. We booked a manor king room which we found to be delightful. The staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel was to coin a phrase "quaint". We enjoyed our stay and will definitly go back. The only negative was the Continental breakfast which did not measure up to what I would have expected had we actually been breakfasting in Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shane747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews